We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wat Phra Singh

Wat Phra Singh
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.88*
and up
Private Tour: Chiang Mai Arts and Cultural Center with Trishaw Ride and Wat...
Ranked #5 of 247 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This temple was built in 1345 under King Phayu, the fifth king of the Mangrai dynasty.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wat Phra Singh is one of three temples in the Old City of Chiangmai that should not be missed. It is very easy to find as it was a huge complex and marked precisely in the city map.

The main temple was like an ordinary temple with a giant Buddha statue in the middle. There is a smaller temple with sleeping Buddha at the backyard. What I cannot forget is the toilet was very very clean, smell good unlike other public toilet that I found in Chiangmai. You have to pay 5 Baht for the toilet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthnainggolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    773
    174
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Dragon Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first stop upon arriving in Chiang Mai, a good introduction to wat exploring. Wat Phra Singh is a campus of several buildings and open spaces to explore. The Buddha statues are memorable. The buildings highlight Lanna style design. Make an ceremonial offering with assistance from the monks. An auspicious start to our Thai adventure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5329970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In Middle of Town and Convenient to Reach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This Wat is easier to reach. Getting there is no problem as locals do know this place easily. The school is next to it. The complex is huge, and further inside, you can find the Sleeping Buddha and there are lesser people visiting there.
Definitely a good place to go.
There are many replicas of past monks and the similarities of the replicas and the monks are astounding.
Tips: take your hats off when entering the Wat as a sign of respect. I saw many Westerners didn't do so, and it was quite disrespectful since it is a place of worship as well. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eriksoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“i like templeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Templeling is one of my favorite thing s to do in Thailand! Just change temples during the day! Wat Phra Singh is on my top 5. The end!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeremyFrane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Added bonus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Quite a large complex, with a school attached. It was an active day when we were visiting with a service/celebration ? With many monks and about three hundred people in attendance including many young monks. There was a booth available to speak with a monk and ask questions. Well worth the stop if you are in town!
Io

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phra Singh also viewed

 

Been to Wat Phra Singh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing