We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful temple”

Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.17*
and up
Chiang Mai Food Tour Including Breakfast and Authentic Local Thai Lunch
Ranked #3 of 251 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built about 600 years ago, this impressive temple once housed the precious Emerald Buddha.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about the temples in Chiang mai is that they are free. Wat chedi is huge. It underwent reconstruction in the 90s after an earthquake destroyed it and it towers above everything around it. Best times is early morning or the evening.

Helpful?
Thank scottplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,461
    1,926
    286
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice peaceful temple”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a beautiful temple day on my last visit at Chiang Mai. This temple is situated very central, easy to reach.
Very peaceful, had a bliss visiting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than bigger temples”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This quaint temple looks impressive with the little wooden entrance to look directly into Buddha inside the temple. It's round the corner from the Sunday walking street and U hotel where I stayed. Not too many tourists like in the bigger temples.
A large ruin situated right behind temple. Read the history of it on the board at the side. Even read how they bath the Buddha on top of the ruin. Impressive.
Donation boxes for dog located around the compound. Hope many worshipers who are animals lover like me will help the dogs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caryngsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice wat in old town, Chiang Mai”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited this temple on my segway gibbon tour. The Wat Chedi Luang is located in the centre of the old town. I did not spend much time here, but I will come back to do so my next time in Chiang Mai. It was a beautiful temple.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Temple Complex”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The ruins of this temple complex are amazing! Plan to spend at least an hour walking around this Wat. One of our favorite temples in Chiang Mai.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank indigo10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing