We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to visit only 1 temple in the city, it will be this one!”

Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.35*
and up
Chiang Mai Food Tour Including Breakfast and Authentic Local Thai Lunch
More Info
$38.61*
and up
Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour
More Info
$40.98*
and up
Half-Day City Temples Tour of Chiang Mai
Ranked #3 of 255 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built about 600 years ago, this impressive temple once housed the precious Emerald Buddha.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“If you want to visit only 1 temple in the city, it will be this one!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This ancient and prestigious temple is worth a visit. In the in-flight magazine I was reading, it was even used as the landmark to represent Chiang Mai.

Take time to walk around the huge compound, go round the chedi which had its summit destroyed by an earthquake, admire the beautiful main chapel and reclining Buddha.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,615
    2,017
    308
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
daveafcw
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impressive Temple But Beware of Scammers”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The temple and grounds are great but there are a number of individuals posing as friendly tourists who will attempt to get you to go to certain shops eg "government tailors etc" within the grounds. There are warning signs for this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank daveafcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Temple!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

There are many temples in Chiang Mai, this one is a must see! It is breathtaking! There are few other temples on this road that you can walk to after. I am really glad we saw this one.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great temple encounter!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We wondered around the neighborhood thinking it is just one of many temples that we've seen in Bangkok, but this one certainly brought us great joy just by looking from the distance. A mixed style of contemporary temple and an ancient architecture of the greatness of the God. It's a shame that people are not allowed to climb up to see the view from above, I suppose it was not suppose to be climbed by people.
We ended up staying there for a couple of hours just walking around admiring the over all atmosphere. This temple is so far my favorite one, don't miss this great one if you are in the neighborhood!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank upsetinplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing temple”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The only thing I would say is that : It's a place you have to visit when you are in Chiangmai. It's really amazing and brilliant temple.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank superwingheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing