We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Temple in Center of Old City”

Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.71*
and up
Chiang Mai Food Tour Including Breakfast and Authentic Local Thai Lunch
Ranked #3 of 248 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built about 600 years ago, this impressive temple once housed the precious Emerald Buddha.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Temple in Center of Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

It is a beautiful wat located on center of Old City Chiang Mai, you can see the reclining Buddha statue, and the Wat Chedi Luang itself,
It is free and you can take some photos with background of Old Temple of Chedi Luang,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaufiqR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,424
    1,904
    281
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Return to the Chedi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a beautiful ruined temple with magnificent elephant sculptures around it, halfway up. a very mystical place, with some huge Buddha sculptures at the back. would surely return

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This Wat was directly across from my hotel (3 Sis). I found it to be a treasure and an absolute delight to explore. My particular favorite part was the ruin with the hidden buddhas at each of the 4 directions. I found it a peaceful treasure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdigian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had not seen this tourist attraction since 2009 when I visited with my father. Still a lovely place & a "must see".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThaiFamilyExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

loved the feel of it,what we thought was a monk in deep meditation turned out to be a wax copy of a monk made by Tusauds, was so life like my friend tried to speak to him.
The little stalls outside the wat provided some excellent local art works

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing