We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything in the room was outdated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #285 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything in the room was outdated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Having seen their banner for 900 Bhats/night, I actually switched hotel from Pornping to Imm Hotel after staying at Pornping for the first two nights and spent three nights at Imm Hotel. Pornping was 1500 Bhat/night a room on the high floor with view.

The first night at Imm was uneventful and I liked the convenience of free wifi at the hotel which Pornping charges for a fee. Also Imm hotel is much newer than Pornping.

However, I agree with the noise factor, the hollow interior courtyard echoes every bit of door slamming. The breakfast was getting a little plain by the 3rd morning. But since food is so inexpensive in Chiang Mai, I wouldn't have any problem eating elsewhere if I had a longer stay. Pornping had better breakfast. Luckily, while we were there, there wasn't much of a crowd issue.

The hotel seems clean but we also had the sewage smell from the bathroom which is unpleasant.

Location wise, it is within close walking distance to Sunday market which I liked, but Pornping is closer to the night market and the restaurants by the river, so depends on where you frequent more, each has its own advantage.

The staff at Imm Hotel was much more helpful than at Pornping, and speak more or better English. Pornping seems to cater to group tours.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank etphonehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear etphonehm,
Thank you for your taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
I am sorry to read that you were unhappy at all. Your valued comments have been conveyed to all department concerns. Front and Reservation department took their training class to handle and resvation control and how to solve the problem. Our Executive Housekeeper went to her department,deeply spot check and make sure every room ready to guest to stay.
We are now moving forward to improve all hardware and software to meet guest satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    119
    119
    51
    57
See reviews for
55
112
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Location cannot be beat! It is only a few steps from a thai massage/foot massage parlor and night market. The river ping is a few blocks away and lots of little restaurants and shops along the way. The river is the center where you go for shopping. We were there on the lantern festival and the loi kathrong and the atmosphere was awesome. Balloons lighted up the sky and there was fireworks for 3 nights. The rooms were basic and clean. There were a lot of choices in the breakfast buffet. With the price of $59/night, it was a great deal!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank hapitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Hapitripper,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with the location which next to Nigt Bazaar, pool and friendly staff.Clean hotel and well-trained staff are our policy to meet guest satisfaction.
We are glad to announce that some changes with hardware and hotel facilities have been improved and ready to serve our valued customer and also Free Wi Fi available throughout hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower, Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here as part of a conference group so not sure of normal rates, but our rates were comparitively cheap. The hotel is conveniently located. Rooms are a little tired but comfortable.Breakfast OK. Good internet service in bar. Friendly and efficient staff. We experienced no problem with communication. Only negative was the disco. We could not hear the music but the bass (boom boom boom), especially around 2am, was annoying. Otherwise an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Traveller59,
Dear An Agoda Traveller,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with the location which next to Nigt Bazaar, pool and friendly staff.Clean hotel and well-trained staff are our policy to meet guest satisfaction.
We are glad to announce that some changes with hardware and hotel facilities have been improved and ready to serve our valued customer and also Free Wi Fi available throughout hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

If you base your holiday experiences mainly on your accommodation well maybe you better look else were. As other reviewers have said in it’s hey day this may have been top of its class. The foyer looks a million dollars but the rooms do have that tired look. But having said that, they were clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and plenty of it. All the facilities were good. They have 4 computers down stairs in the bar area which is good. Nice cold beer while e-mailing while friends back home.
It’s in a good location and we got it at a good rate. I stayed for a week in August and had a fantastic time in beautiful Chiang Mai.
So if you’re looking for a good hotel at reasonable rates in a good location then I recommend you stay here, but just don’t ask the staff for anything. They'ed fix the problem or answer my question but it was like “how dare you ask me”. It made you think twice the next time you needed their assistance. I don’t know if they were having a bad week or not but I felt I was intruding and they weren’t happy to see you there.
On a few occasions it was the hot topic at breakfast, as you do, you bump into other tourist at breakfast and more often then not people would comment on the attitude of the staff in the foyer.
As I said had a great time but the staff at this hotel didn’t add anything to it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear aussiSteve,
Dear An Agoda Traveller,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with the location which next to Nigt Bazaar, pool and friendly staff.Clean hotel and well-trained staff are our policy to meet guest satisfaction.
We are glad to announce that some changes with hardware and hotel facilities have been improved and ready to serve our valued customer and also Free Wi Fi available throughout hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#199 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#261 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#118 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#165 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Property: Pornping Tower Hotel
Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing