We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #285 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a few nights while travelling through Chiang Mai. While the individuals working at the hotel were incredibly helpful the rooms left a bit to be desired. The beds were nice - clean and fairly comfortable - but our air conditioner leaked and the bathroom was obviously quite worn/used. With the exception of the leaking air conditioner, our room was quite clean although dated. The staff were definitely what made this hotel worth our stay: they provided a driver for us that charged about half of what we expected to pay in taxis to take us to local attractions outside of the city, the women behind the desk helped us get our laundry sent out and returned in a timely fashion as well as wrote out addresses and directions to local restaurants in Thai so our tuk-tuk drivers would know exactly where to take us, and when our tour guide failed to show up to give us our pre-trip debriefing they called the tour company for us. While the hotel accommodations are quite average, the staff definitely made this stay worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear KristinL77,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
Hopefully all of you have completed your work during in Chiang Mai.It is great to read that you were happy with our service. Your compliment about staff services has converyed to all staff to encourage them. Our location which next to night market and overview to the mountain and the river always make our guests pleasant stay here. Your comment about air-conditioned and rest room were passed to Chief engineering and Exective Housekeeping to improve it. Our room improving plan has bee processing. We would like to say thank you again for your valued comments this encourage all staffs to let them exceed guest expectation "Wow Service"

Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    119
    119
    51
    57
See reviews for
55
112
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were guided here by a trusted local businessman friend of ours. We ordered two vodkas with coke which should have come to a total of 260bahts according to the tariff. We were overcharged by the unscrupulous barman for 1260 bahts instaed and not given a receipt. We cahllenged this immediately and the staff were very rude and aggressive, snatched our drinks away and asked us to leave! We refused and insisted on seeing a manager. I photgraphed his copy of the bill which stated 260 bahts, the price list and took a cople of photos of the rogue barman. He got very abusive at this and we were taken to another room where they denied their actions to their manager Nawin. A policeman was called. The issue was not resolved, we were given no apology nor refund and left. I plan to take this up with the touristpolice and visit the bar today to make a point. taking advantage of foreign tourists in this way is deceitful and will tarnish the reputation of Thai tourism.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tina391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tina391
Thank you for spending your night time in the bar and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!. Hopefully both of you have reached Phuket safely and enjoy your day. Thank you for came back to meet our general manager in the aftenoon as just left the bar early morning. Our general manager was pleased to meet both of you. We were sorry to hear that you were unpleasant during spend your time in the bar due to the payment. Mr.Nawin Night Manager took his action and immediately call touris police as you met and investigate concered Staffs. Hotel management call for a meeting to Bar Manager and thier staffs to deeply investigate too. We always strictly follow the policy that "Customer come first" whatever happened staff need to keep clam and no argue with the customer. To ensure to the best service of staff behavior the Staff training program will be arranged. Also CCTV program will be set up in the necessary point. If we have a good chance we will warn to our customer to notice what kind of banknotes was paid to the driver and waiter and to staff to announce that what kind of banknotee they recieve to guest.
We are deeply regretted that things happened and disturb your nigt in Chiang Mai.
Looking forward to welcome in your next visit

Best Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn
Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Best Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn
Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our friend in Thailand booked us in here for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The service was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was amazing - so much choice. Rooms were serviced every day. We paid an extra 800thb to stay there until 8 pm so we could relax before getting the overnight bus to Bangkok. Excellent views over the city and night bazaar just a couple hundred metres away.
The laundry was very expensive but just around the corner - 500metres maybe, was a little place that charged 20thb /kg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazcobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Chazcrobit,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our service. Your compliment about breakfast with vireties of food will conveyed to kitchen team also houskeeping for their service. Our location which next to night market and overview to the mountain and the river always make our guests pleasant stay here. We would like to say thank you again for your valued comments that make us never stopped improving our hotel
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Beware of staying at this hotel!!This is a copy of an email sent to Pornping Tower after my one night stay there.Please take the time to read it. It may save you from suffering the same unpleasant experience.


To whom it may concern,

As you are aware I recently spent one night in your hotel 7/6/2013. While I was checking in that afternoon my three bags were taken upstairs by your bellboy. Upon completing check in at reception I then took lift up to my room.
When I discovered that the room I had requested had 2 single beds I immediately called through to reception and requested a room change to one large bed. A first I was told sorry we dont have,fully booked. something I found very hard to believe in a hotel that size. After some discussion with them a new room was found to accommodate my request. My bags were then taken by same bellboy to the new room 1704. I tipped him 40 Bt for his efforts and he left.
I then took my small backpack and left hotel to go and change some Australian dollars into local currency. Upon arrival at Exchange shortly after I discovered that I was missing $1000 cash from my backpack. The only time that back pack ever left my person was when your thieving bellboy took my bags to the room in the lift alone.
This has never ever happened to me before in all my travels through out Thailand and Asia and while it will not totally ruin my vacation it really is most disappointing to me and now reflects badly on all Thai people. I love this country and up until now have had great faith and trust in Thailand and it beautiful friendly and ver gracious people.
The fact this also happened in Chiang Mai,a royal city that I have come to really enjoy and considered almost a second home is very disappointing and has tainted my feelings towards Chiang Mai.
I reported this theft to your reception but as expected no action was taken and I have heard nothing from you. I intend to write this incident up on Trip Advisor,Agoda,Booking.Com and who ever else will listen advising everyone to stay away from your hotel. The rooms are very average and badly in need of renovation. The cold tap in the bathroom ran red from rust in the pipes!! Also the very fact that you do not have a room safe suggests something to me also!!
So in regard to your survey you can be assured it will not be a complimentary one. Once again I am very disappointed to have stayed with you and will make sure that any of my friends and acquaintances going to Chiang Mai do not go anywhere near your establishment.
I would like and indeed expect a reply in english to this email but will not be holding my breath so to speak judging by the complete lack of care and concern that I experienced at your reception.

Yours sincerely. A very unhappy guest.

NB.. And as expected I did not receive any reply or acknowledgment whatsoever from PP Tower.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tony E,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you were unpleasant during staying at our hotel. We brought up your review to executive meeting and deeply investigation. Your reservation was made via booking.com on 07/07/2013 and arrival date 07/07/2013 not 07/06/2013 as your mention in review and departure date 08/07/2013 with Superior Double or Twin Room. It never specifying to Double Room. We regret to read that you found missing your $1000 cash from your backpack at Exchange shop and suspect that happened during the transportation of your all belongings in the lift from the first floor to your room 1704 as 17th fl by bell boy. By the investigation that the reception and front cashier were informed this case by you and your lady during checking out on 08/07/2103. Even it was the other day and all of you have gone we were asked by General manager for investion all front office associats, bell boy that no one never open your baggage and never known which one kept money. $1000 is quite large amount to call for a management and policeman to investigate suddenly. We are deeply regretted that things happened and disturb your holidays in Chiang Mai. Thai people always please to help and support to everyone with their hospitality to make all visitor always happiness during stay in Thailand
Looking forward to welcome in your next visit

Best Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn
Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My third stay here, the last a few years ago since which time the rooms have had a mainly cosmetic face lift with the walls and furniture being spray painted in the same very light colour to give the decent sized rooms a light and airy feel. Fixtures and fittings remain the same and the bathroom untouched and looking dated. My room overlooking the Night Market was quiet enough and beds were fine. A few issues to suggest that maintenance could be improved, sink which drained so slowly, bath plug that didn't fit properly, light bulbs not replaced etc. No tea or coffee making facilities except in the suites and no safe in room. Patio doors open directly onto what passes as a balcony the floor of which is a series of concrete struts through which a child could very easily fall. These should all be permanently locked. Breakfast is an unappetizing affair and if not included in the room tariff give it a miss. Paid 1300 baht a night including breakfast via the hotel group's website. Enjoyed my stay here and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Andrew B,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and especially it was your third visit and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! again. Our hotel has been forwarding to improve all of hotel hardware and software to meet the guest satisfaction. Your valued comments have been conveyed to department concerns to acknowledge and improve. Our Excutuve Housekeeping will bring this case to her department meeting to enuse all windows in room were locked and safe. Breakfast will be reviewed to match with ou mix guests by Executive Chef.Looking forward to welcome you again for your the 4th vist.

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good hotel right in the night market This hotel is located right in the night market of Chiang Mai, in which definitely worth a visit. Even some of the beautiful temples are still within walking distance to the old city center you can walk, but it is recommended that rather then a tuktuk. Everything was clean, quiet, comfortable rooms equipped with everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seiga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Seiga T,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our hotel location, hotel cleanliness,Overall of Hotel which is our policy to keep clean to exceed guest satisfaction. Chiang Mai consists of many interesting place which waiting for people visit.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price is cheap, breakfast is nice, room is okok, and it is very near to night market. Red taxi is available around this hotel. I think it can bring you to anywhere you want but we only ride it to the shopping mall nearby. It cost around 20 baht per person. Bathroom need a little renovation. There is no bellboy to help ur take the luggage to our room but i think it is ok because we can do it our own. Overall my family and I are satisfiede staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleStar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ellestar90,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our breakfast, location and cleanliness of overall of Hotel which is our policy to keep clean to exceed guest satisfaction. Chiang Mai consists of many interesting place which waiting for people visit. Thanks for your comment about bellboy I will bring up to front office meeting to improve this service.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#199 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#261 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#118 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#165 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Property: Pornping Tower Hotel
Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing