We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #253 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our friend in Thailand booked us in here for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The service was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was amazing - so much choice. Rooms were serviced every day. We paid an extra 800thb to stay there until 8 pm so we could relax before getting the overnight bus to Bangkok. Excellent views over the city and night bazaar just a couple hundred metres away.
The laundry was very expensive but just around the corner - 500metres maybe, was a little place that charged 20thb /kg.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazcobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Chazcrobit,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our service. Your compliment about breakfast with vireties of food will conveyed to kitchen team also houskeeping for their service. Our location which next to night market and overview to the mountain and the river always make our guests pleasant stay here. We would like to say thank you again for your valued comments that make us never stopped improving our hotel
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 433 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beware of staying at this hotel!!This is a copy of an email sent to Pornping Tower after my one night stay there.Please take the time to read it. It may save you from suffering the same unpleasant experience.


To whom it may concern,

As you are aware I recently spent one night in your hotel 7/6/2013. While I was checking in that afternoon my three bags were taken upstairs by your bellboy. Upon completing check in at reception I then took lift up to my room.
When I discovered that the room I had requested had 2 single beds I immediately called through to reception and requested a room change to one large bed. A first I was told sorry we dont have,fully booked. something I found very hard to believe in a hotel that size. After some discussion with them a new room was found to accommodate my request. My bags were then taken by same bellboy to the new room 1704. I tipped him 40 Bt for his efforts and he left.
I then took my small backpack and left hotel to go and change some Australian dollars into local currency. Upon arrival at Exchange shortly after I discovered that I was missing $1000 cash from my backpack. The only time that back pack ever left my person was when your thieving bellboy took my bags to the room in the lift alone.
This has never ever happened to me before in all my travels through out Thailand and Asia and while it will not totally ruin my vacation it really is most disappointing to me and now reflects badly on all Thai people. I love this country and up until now have had great faith and trust in Thailand and it beautiful friendly and ver gracious people.
The fact this also happened in Chiang Mai,a royal city that I have come to really enjoy and considered almost a second home is very disappointing and has tainted my feelings towards Chiang Mai.
I reported this theft to your reception but as expected no action was taken and I have heard nothing from you. I intend to write this incident up on Trip Advisor,Agoda,Booking.Com and who ever else will listen advising everyone to stay away from your hotel. The rooms are very average and badly in need of renovation. The cold tap in the bathroom ran red from rust in the pipes!! Also the very fact that you do not have a room safe suggests something to me also!!
So in regard to your survey you can be assured it will not be a complimentary one. Once again I am very disappointed to have stayed with you and will make sure that any of my friends and acquaintances going to Chiang Mai do not go anywhere near your establishment.
I would like and indeed expect a reply in english to this email but will not be holding my breath so to speak judging by the complete lack of care and concern that I experienced at your reception.

Yours sincerely. A very unhappy guest.

NB.. And as expected I did not receive any reply or acknowledgment whatsoever from PP Tower.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Tony E,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you were unpleasant during staying at our hotel. We brought up your review to executive meeting and deeply investigation. Your reservation was made via booking.com on 07/07/2013 and arrival date 07/07/2013 not 07/06/2013 as your mention in review and departure date 08/07/2013 with Superior Double or Twin Room. It never specifying to Double Room. We regret to read that you found missing your $1000 cash from your backpack at Exchange shop and suspect that happened during the transportation of your all belongings in the lift from the first floor to your room 1704 as 17th fl by bell boy. By the investigation that the reception and front cashier were informed this case by you and your lady during checking out on 08/07/2103. Even it was the other day and all of you have gone we were asked by General manager for investion all front office associats, bell boy that no one never open your baggage and never known which one kept money. $1000 is quite large amount to call for a management and policeman to investigate suddenly. We are deeply regretted that things happened and disturb your holidays in Chiang Mai. Thai people always please to help and support to everyone with their hospitality to make all visitor always happiness during stay in Thailand
Looking forward to welcome in your next visit

Best Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn
Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My third stay here, the last a few years ago since which time the rooms have had a mainly cosmetic face lift with the walls and furniture being spray painted in the same very light colour to give the decent sized rooms a light and airy feel. Fixtures and fittings remain the same and the bathroom untouched and looking dated. My room overlooking the Night Market was quiet enough and beds were fine. A few issues to suggest that maintenance could be improved, sink which drained so slowly, bath plug that didn't fit properly, light bulbs not replaced etc. No tea or coffee making facilities except in the suites and no safe in room. Patio doors open directly onto what passes as a balcony the floor of which is a series of concrete struts through which a child could very easily fall. These should all be permanently locked. Breakfast is an unappetizing affair and if not included in the room tariff give it a miss. Paid 1300 baht a night including breakfast via the hotel group's website. Enjoyed my stay here and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Andrew B,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and especially it was your third visit and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! again. Our hotel has been forwarding to improve all of hotel hardware and software to meet the guest satisfaction. Your valued comments have been conveyed to department concerns to acknowledge and improve. Our Excutuve Housekeeping will bring this case to her department meeting to enuse all windows in room were locked and safe. Breakfast will be reviewed to match with ou mix guests by Executive Chef.Looking forward to welcome you again for your the 4th vist.

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good hotel right in the night market This hotel is located right in the night market of Chiang Mai, in which definitely worth a visit. Even some of the beautiful temples are still within walking distance to the old city center you can walk, but it is recommended that rather then a tuktuk. Everything was clean, quiet, comfortable rooms equipped with everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seiga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach007, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Seiga T,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our hotel location, hotel cleanliness,Overall of Hotel which is our policy to keep clean to exceed guest satisfaction. Chiang Mai consists of many interesting place which waiting for people visit.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price is cheap, breakfast is nice, room is okok, and it is very near to night market. Red taxi is available around this hotel. I think it can bring you to anywhere you want but we only ride it to the shopping mall nearby. It cost around 20 baht per person. Bathroom need a little renovation. There is no bellboy to help ur take the luggage to our room but i think it is ok because we can do it our own. Overall my family and I are satisfiede staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleStar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Ellestar90,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our breakfast, location and cleanliness of overall of Hotel which is our policy to keep clean to exceed guest satisfaction. Chiang Mai consists of many interesting place which waiting for people visit. Thanks for your comment about bellboy I will bring up to front office meeting to improve this service.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel after doing a 5 day tour from Bangkok up to the north of Thailand. The hotel was nice, clean and very centrally located in Chiang Mai. Breakfast was lovely and dinner was also good. Spacious room and nice bathroom. They took us to the airport when we had to fly back to Bangkok. During our stay we visited the city of Chiang Mai, the temples and an elephant camp. A lovely stay in a lovely country. This trip was in january 2008 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and it was a present from my husband.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajeracantabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Viajeracantabra Malaga,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to gread that you were happy with our breakfast, location and cleanliness of overall of Hotel which is our policy to keep clean to exceed the standard. Chiang Mai consists of many interesting place which waiting for people visit. Also it is very pleasant to read the trip was a present from your beloved husband and Porn Ping Tower Hotel be a part of your happiness.
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next vist

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here 5/6 years ago and loved it then, so was looking forward to a return visit. I was looking for a 2 week stay here, so emailed Pornping to ask if a long stay rate was available. Upon receiving no reply, I decided I would book 1 night – then negotiate a better rate in person upon my arrival. Turns out not committing to a long stay was a blessing in disguise. One night was enough.

To be clear, I know this is not a modern hotel – and I am fine with that. But a hotel needs to be clean and in good repair. The carpet in our room was filthy. I think (but am not certain) there were toe nail clippings in it. There was an electrical plug socket hanging off the wall. Outside our window, there were 3 or 4 pigeons nested, and the window was covered in pigeon feces.

The bathroom had hair in it. The bath/shower combo had chipped enamel. The shower curtain had mould on it, and the ceiling had damp. The first thing I saw upon entering the bath room was a squashed mosquito on the wall.

Pornping boasts a number of restaurants – a buffet on one of the top floors and a Chinese restaurant on the ground floor. We were looking forward to revisiting these after our first trip. On the night we stayed, both these restaurants decided to close early (2 hours early in the case of the Chinese).

It is a shame, I have fond memories of this hotel from my first trip to Chiang Mai. However, at the moment it looks like they are struggling to get even the basics right.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Mossvector,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed staying at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Your valued comments were conveyed to all department concerns.Now we have been doing deeply spot check in every dapartment to improving. Our housekeeper was assigned to deeply inspect in each room and provide training class for her members. Food and Beverage outlet need to consider to accept booking and not over limit. If you plan to visit chiangmai again please let me know for your plan and be my guest!.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn - Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#215 of 393 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#76 of 393 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#141 of 393 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#208 of 393 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
159.6 mi away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#12 of 48 in Phitsanulok
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $32 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing