We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only positive thing is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pornping Tower Hotel
Ranked #283 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
296 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Only positive thing is the location”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is a dump, the rooms are of a poor standard and, they were not clean. The shower curtain had mould on it and smelt. There was a rat in the public toilet in reception

The breakfast was poor and very basic

On the positive side high rooms give you a good view over Chiang Mia and the location is fantastic, only minutes from the night market

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Tonlol,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It was pleasured to read that you were happy with our location which next to Night bazaar and everywhere in City. We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Pest Control company was called immediately for an invited animals. Our housekeeper was assigned to deeply inspect in each room and provide training class for her members.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hoel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    122
    124
    51
    58
See reviews for
58
115
87
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seremban
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I arrived here on a Sunday morning at 10.00 a.m as told by the front receptionist whom I had made a verbal booking yesterday as I need to find another hotel with some popular hotels fully booked by local Thai tourists. I could have stayed in another place or even a guesthouse but I have decided to choose Porn Ping for its extremely close locality to Masjid Ban Haw and the Muslim area in Charonpratet Soi 1. Check in was quick, the staff were polite and friendly and the bell boy attrnded to my bags. I was placed on the 8th floor which I can describe as the mountain view superior room with twin beds. The room is comfortable with very subdued lighting so it is not too glaring and I am not here to do any work or writing so it works fine for me. The wifi was very erratic so I went down to the lobby where it worked superbly. My superior room has a very soft but not too soft bedding in the sence that you do get a rest without any back aches later. Although room 804 faces the Night Bazaar area with a lot of activities going on from 6 pm until late in the early morning, the windows were thick enough and I was not bothered by any sounds from above. beyond or below me mindful of all the previous comments with regards to the music from both the Bubbles disco or the Showtime pub, located in this hotel. My Superior 8th floor room was quiet and yes, the furnitures are dated and the Tv channels are in need of a major change but the overall feeling for me that locality to the Muslim area is the BIG plus. The next morning, I saw the staff handing out mineral water and some light snacks for the guests checkin out at 6.00 a.m like me and I also saw the very impressive breakfast buffet which also consusts of vegetarian fares that Muslims can eat. My favourite dish like pancakes with maple syrup with butter plus fresh pineapple juice were also available but I have to skip brekkie this time due to my early flight but from what I have seen being prepared, it is very nice and worth staying in this hotel for. My transport by van to the airport was with one of the longest serving employee of this hotel who is Khun Nawin, a wonderful chap and is a gentleman who speaks well for the politeness of the Porn Ping's Tower I staff. I can say that I am pleased with my brief stay here and yes, I will be back again. My thanks to Khun Siwach, the wonderful gentleman who is also the Executive Assistant Manager whom I had spoken directly about the imminent changes this hotel will undergo eventually. I have decided to check out this hotel again as changes will come but we have to be patient. Recommended with an open mind.

Room Tip: Always stay in a room facing Doi Suthep or the mountain view with the 8th floor and above being very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norhisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Norhisham,
Thank you for your stay with us recently and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We thank you for the valued comments and glad to read your satisfactory in the hotel location nearby halal street and the Muslim area in Charonpratet Soi 1. Your admire will be conveyed to staff concerns. For the negative side it has been brough up into the meeting and led to improving plan soon. Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit in chiangmai

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked a night in this hotel and to be fair it was just about ok for the money, but when we checked out as we were off to PAI for two nights we asked if we could rebook the two rooms for our return and spend another night and leave our bags there. They checked and said that we couldnt have the same rooms but yes we could have opposite rooms on the same floor and leave our bags which we did. On our return from the tiring journey we were told sorry we left a message at your room to say they couldnt let us have the rooms but that was a complete lie as we only booked up as we checked out - so we were left without any accommodation on our return - do yourself a favour and book elsewhere - there are some great hotels in Chiang Mai unfortunately this isnt one of them. Enjoy your trip

Room Tip: to book a good room go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Delton,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Your valued comments have been brought to our human resource manager for staff training communication course.
Looking forward to welcome you again

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hoel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent, but the bathroom was filthy. If you end up in the wrong room it is also very noisy, due to to there being a bar on the first floor and a nightclub in the basement.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Linda S
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Thank you for the strength point about Location and your valued comments concerning about bathroom have been investigated and brought up to the meeting and led to improving plan. Looking forward to welcome you again
Warm Regards,
Siwach Nitiwaraporn / Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not a good hotel. First of all the staff aren't too friendly and are not welcoming. Next the elevators in the hotel are rundown and faulty. As I reached the floor in which my room was in, it smelled musty and it was quite dark and dingy. Then as we entered the hotel room, we were greeted by old and worn out furniture. To add, one of the lights in the bathroom was broken. So for a day we had to shower in partial darkness. The TV had only one english channel, Nat Geo. The beds were soft and too springy and at night the room was very poorly lit. The only thing that could save this hotel was its excellent location right next to the night bazaar. The breakfast wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinneverwalkalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Justinneverwalkalone,
Thank you for stay at our hotel and tak time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied in the room. Your valued comments were brought up to the our executive housekeeper and chief engineer to investigate and improve them. Improving plan of overall of Hotel has been set to run soonest.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the nearest future.
Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn / Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Pornping Tower and on both occasions I have been more than satisfied. On this occasion I stayed on the fifth floor in one of the cheapest choice of rooms . Nonetheless, the room was a good size, with a lounge area as well as a king size bed. The room also had a good size bathroom with marble floor, bathtub and shower.
The only minor complaint I'd have is that the cheapest rooms do not have full cable tv, just the basic channels. Even a 700 baht guest house can run to this service!
I would disagree with the comments about the breakfast. I travel extensively and found the breakfast at Pornping Tower amongst the best I have tried.
There is a great choice of both Asian and Western food, pastries and croissants, different types of bread, as well as all the normal things you'd expect. I also tried an omelette and mine was very tasty.
I will certainly be using the Pornping Tower as my first choice of hotel when visiting Ching Mai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Engle60,
Thank you for return to stay here as your second home and and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!. We are glad to read that you were satisfied on this visit again.
Thanks for the comment on King size bed, location,variety and taste of our Buffet Breakfast.Our variety of Breakfast is the benchmark consist of standard western items and add more signature of Local dish such as "Khao Soi"Chiang Mai egg noodles in chicken curry in the breakfast for who have no chance to eat Local food. Each day Thai and Chinese items will be rotated for variety.
Once again Thank you for valued comment. Looking forward to welcome you in your next visit

Warm regards,
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Plus side are Location, Price and Cleaniness.
Downside - Staff , Breakfast.
The menu for Breakfast is not changed for days and they keep on repeating the same Things.
When we asked to prepare a Omlette it was so bad in taste and the lady just could not make it properly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikasSGGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Vikas SGGN,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
Hope you reach home safely. We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed in breakfast time.
Our breakfast consist of standard western items such as such as sausage, potatoes, sauteed butter vegetables and egg station cook in front of guest's eye. We also have Local signature dishes as "Khao Soi" Egg noodles in chicken curry and noodles soup. The other Thai food items as curry, fried vegetables, Boiled rice with fish fillet etc. Bakey items are freshly from oven plus 3 kinds of seasonal fresh fruits, fresh milk and cornflakes. Western items mostly standard. Other Thai & Local specialties are rotation. Once again Thank you for comment in plus side as location, cleanliness and price.
Looking forward to welcome you in your next visit

Warm regards,
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#185 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#260 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#114 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#166 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Property: Pornping Tower Hotel
Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing