We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was even worse than the reviews predicted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #114 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It was even worse than the reviews predicted”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had little choice of hotel. Not much available for a last minute business trip. But the Star fell below even the appalling standard reflected in other reviews.Not only was my shower putrid with mould and grunge... but the hot water didn't work.

After a very blunt discussion with reception the next morning there was a feeble attempt at removing mould - but still no hot water. A shouting match at reception at midnight resulted in a staff member - with wet hands - jiggling the circuit breakers in the closet to get the hot water system to work.

The rooms are grimy, shabby, and carelessly maintained. Many look at the blank wall of the building next door. Ancient CRT TVs offer a fuzzy picture. The hotel charges for the instant coffee in the room,and around $US10 for 24hours of WiFi. As others have noted - the website images look like they were taken of another hotel.

The location is convenient - the bed comfortable enough - but everything else is woeful.... and worst of all .... just plain dirty.

Room Tip: Insist on viewing the room first. If it is not clean demand another. Do not prepay this hotel - give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Ianfly

Thank you for spending your time to give us straight comments. I see it as an opportunity to improve ourserve.

We sincerely apologize that the hot water did not work properly during your stay. During that time, trying to fix the machine was the only way we could do because we were fully-booked on that time. It's very sad that you has to be in a shouting match with our staff. I have a serious discussion with my front office team and I can ensure that it will not happen again.

We hope you will give us another chance to convince you with a better service.

We truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    139
    100
    31
    24
See reviews for
37
90
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Quite a different experience during high season. Housekeeping services were no longer above average. The grout in the shower was dis-colored by mildew. No soap was originally provided. At check in we weren't offered the code for the free wifi. The free breakfast was adequate but no longer above average. My apologies to anyone who acted on my previous review.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodjack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Foodjack 45

Thank you for spending time to review us on your recent stay.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priorities. Please accept our apologizes for the housekeeping issue that you experienced during your stay. We have discussed with our housekeeping as well as food&beverage team concerning our services standard improvement and how to maintain such standard on the high season period.

We certainly would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again with a better service.

We truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was grossly overpriced as a lure to the discount deals on Agoda. It is not worth $2--300 dollars per night. It is showing signs of age and the carpets and walls are stained and look well worn. The bed was comfortable, the room was basically clean, they charge for your coffee, and location was excellent for the night bazaar, but if you are expecting to see what is on the web, quite honestly expect to be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Derek D

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are truly apologize that we didn't provide you the services you're expected. our hotel is in contact with many online travel agents including agoda. various promotion will be lauched in different period of times. We hope you'll find a better deals with us next time.

Our hotel is schedule for a soft renovation in the upcoming months. We look forward to welcome you again in a future so we can provide you with a better service.

Your review is greatly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

However, the room wasn't that clean. The rugs were dirty and the bathroom had alot of muld.

We stayed at this hotel for 3 night in 2 different rooms. First one was awesome. The other let us to play with a cockroach for couple of hours before going to sleep.

The breakfast was nice and nothing more.

The hotel is in a very good location, near the night bazzar.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EnTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun EhTal

Thank you for expressed your comment on your recent stay with us.

Please accept our apology regarding to cleanliness of the rooms. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping and we ensure you that we'll be able to provide you with more impressive service next time.

Thanks again for your kind reviews, we truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I hastily booked this hotel directly on their website without checking reviews first. More fool me. It's absolutely nothing like the website & the staff actually chuckle when you bring this up. Even with the alleged 50% early booking discount this hotel is poor value for money. We were locked into a non refundable booking, as many others seem to be, so we stayed but never again
Everything seemed & felt dirty. We even had to tell the maids to change the bedding again on more than one occasion due to finding spurious stains on the 'clean' set
There is no safe in the room & lock boxes in reception can just about hold a families passports so don't get any ideas of everyone's iPads etc being left safely during the day
There are also minimal charging points available so everything had to be done in turn
Oh well lessons learnt & no actual harm done

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigglyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Niggly

Thank you for your reviews and we apologize that our hotel have failed to meet your expectations.

Our Hotel is schedule for rooms renovation within this upcoming months. The public area of the hotel will be getting a refresh as well. we will shared review to all staffs and improve to better.

We are looking forward to welcome you again by end of this year so we can provide you with a better service.

We truly appreciate
Chatanaptr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Chiang Mai is probably one of the most spectacular places to visit in Thailand...We enjoyed every bit of our stay.....This hotel hits most of the buttons but also misses quite a few e.g. the carpets need replacement....It's a small property but now they are counting on expansion ...Big Time! Wonderfully located hotel in the heart of Night Bazaar. The hotel had a very authentic feel to it and the service was good. The problem we had was that the "Premiere room" was clearly a regular sized room (which wasn't terribly large to begin with), in which a extra bed had been squeezed, thereby making the room even smaller....but again the location and service makes up for it....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arijit_guha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Arijit_Guha

Thank you so much for spending time to review us.

It's great to know that our hotel had satisfied you and made your stay enjoyable. Star Hotel is a limited service hotel, but we always look for a way to improve our quality.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

We truly appreciate
Chatanaptr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Read if you are a westerner

We stayed 5 nights in Star Hotel in Chiang Mai. It is located in a great location (although in a side alley) in walking distance to the Night Bazaars and Tha Pae Gate. This is affirmed with hotel chains such as Le Meridian and Centara nearby.

However, you need to be aware about the hotel:
> Its cleanliness: there is mould covering the bathroom walls (wear slippers in the shower), the carpets are dirty and stained, there were ants crawling in the room, my husband left with patches of red skin rashes similar to that of bed bugs
>Staff are pleasant but only speak basic English: you will have difficulty confirming with the terms/details of your stay.
>Don't get carried away by hotel booking websites or their website offering '50% off flash sales' if you book now. I changed from a nicer hotel for something special luxurious and boutique only to pay a lot more for the discounted rate a night (which was excessively overpriced compared to other hotels) and the actual rooms did not look anything like the pictures portrayed on their website.
> There is no safe in the room
> The door has a gap between floor: we had a lot of sleepless nights up until 3am as you can hear other guests personal conversations and their children from their rooms
> When showering be careful with your valuable jewellery: the wall has a hole in a corner with the grate on the floor. Once something small has flowed in the hole you cannot retrieve it.

If you have read this review after booking and are locked into a non-refundable clause like we were (and only read trip advisor reviews after booking):
> attempt to contact the hotel directly to confirm details that are per your inclusions eg wifi, parking that you value (they state the will respond within 24 hours but do not).
> We never got a response from the hotel directly after waiting a week, we took this to the hotel booking website we used. Get them to confirm the details in an email, print and bring it along as evidence.
> consider booking another hotel if you can afford forfeiting this cost.

It depends on what is important to you in accommodation, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank defrostedcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#191 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#69 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hotel, Chiang mai Little Paradise in the heart of Chiang Mai city in the famous Night Bazaar square only 3 minutes walking, only 6 Km from the airport ( 10 minutes drive) and 3 Km from the train station. The Star promises to offer quality service with confort and value, safety and efficient service.You will have everithing you need such as 32" LCD TV, universal plug,Wifi access, free bottled water, minibar and in room safe at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Star Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing