We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs to be cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #131 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Star Hotel has great staff and is in a great location; cleanliness is its' only drawback.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irises4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear customers,

We appreciate your comments and would like to apologies for this draw back as we had an overwhelming ocupancy and staff shortage.
We are in the process to allocate more housekeeping personnel with better qualification and will also improve our laundry quality in the next monthes.
We hope to serve you again with better criterias especialy as you enjoyed our location.
Kind Regards
Claude Scheffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Star Hotel Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 330 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hotel is situated very near the night bazaar and many good restaurants around the area. I've been there twice in both the superior and deluxe room and they are comfortable for the price you pay. The smaller room does not come with a safe though. I'd recommend you pay a bit more for the bigger room and you'll also have a better view.

The breakfast is just to fill my tummy sufficiently for the morning before I head out to the streets, where I did find some good street food along Chang Klan Rd.

Reading the reviewers comments on Internet connection, they have improved. Free wifi is available even in your room. Request for the wifi password from the reception counter.

They supply 2 free bottles of water every morning, with free coffee, juice and cookies at the lobby, but not late in the night though. Coffee and tea in the room is chargeable.

The only gripe I have was with the women staff of the hotel. They are rude and unsmiling and should not be in the hospitality industry. If your issue can wait, get it settled with the gentleman at the check-in counter. He is the sweetest.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maeghanlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments.
Please accept our apologies for the uncourteous manners of your front office staff.We are in the process to train them on this issue to understand the customers needs and the value of service to be more pleasant to our clientele. Also some additional new staff will help in improving the speed of service.
Thank you agin for your valuable comments as they help us to improve our service standards to our guest
Kind Regards
Claude Scheffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Only 2 nights for my trip I'm stay with Star Hotel. Have the opportunity to visit Chiang Mai. Star guests at the hotel. Near the Night Bazaar as a clean-room facilities have been renovated. This place is a little small. It is worth the price. I think it will come back to stay again if the opportunity.

Room Tip: Room on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear guests,

Nice to see that travellers from the United States appreciate our Chiang Mai hospitality. We have noted your intention to visit us again and please do not hesitate to send us an E-mail for any request of our packages available.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel is situated at a location near to the night buzzer but yet far from the noise. It is along a street which is not very clearly lighted. however there should not be any safety issue even if return late. We were assigned to a 3rd floor duplex room. my frd has ask for a change of room to higher floor as he understand that higher floor rooms are better for the Star Hotel as they have already been renovated. We were told we can ask for change every morning. But till end of the stay, we still did not manage to change the room. The bed were too soft where slight movement will disturb the person sleeping next to you. There is no temp toothbrush provided however the rest of the toiletry are provided. can also book for the tour from the hotel tour desk near to the door however, remember to ask for the best price.

Room Tip: There is a lady in charge of the tour counter in the hotel lobby is friendly. Talk to her on the ava...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear customer,

It is with enjoyement to see that you and your friends had a pleasant stay.
Regarding the disponible tooth brush or razor amenities they are not provided in all type of rooms.
For your information please just contact the front office and they will be delivered free of charge to your room.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to see you again in the near future.
Season Greetings
Kind Regards
Claude Scheffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is a reasonable inexpensive hotel with comfortable air-conditioned 'Superior' (twin beds) or Deluxe (large double bed). It is situated in a quiet side street about 2 minutes walk from the Night Market.

There is no pool or gym.

A recent upgrade means that you now have free wireless internet in the room, (but only one device can use the username & password at a time). Speed is about 1 Mbps,which is a big improvement on sitting at one of the previous two terminals in the foyer.

I negotiated a deal which did not include breakfast so cannot comment on the food. However the evening buffet looked quite good an well attended.

There is a coffee & tea making option in the rooms, however they charge Thb50/day to replenish the stock which is just enough for 1 coffee and 1 tea each if two people are using the room.

To offset this, free coffee/tea & cookies are available in the reception area (along with two Thai language national newspapers & 'The Nation' which is an English language national newspaper)!

There is no 'safe' in the room, but valuables can be stored safely in deposit boxes by reception.

There is a shower but no bath in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fizzysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are taking note of your observation such as ;
The internet quality was not up to your expectation and we are pleased to inform you that a 5Mbps speed will be installed early December.
Regarding the coffee facilities we have noted your remark and will improve the choice and quantity.
Also the safe facilities will be added in mid next year as they are only available at present in Deluxe and Junior Suite but all guest have the possibility to use a personnel save deposit box at the reception.
Regarding the pool and Health Club we are opening the next door wing in september next year which will be maned with these 2 services. Thank you for our constructive comments and we look forward to welcome you again at Star Hotel in the near future.
King regards
General manager
Claude Scheffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was booked for us as part of a tour we had arranged with Thai Focus to the Elephant Nature Park. Given the choice, we would probably have stayed in a guest house or somewhere with a little more character.

There's nothing wrong with this place, it's clean, the staff are helpful, breakfast is huge and varied, it's just a bog standard mid level hotel, and we'd rather stay somewhere a bit more characterful. Ideal place if you want a western style visit.

Very close to good restaurants and bars and the night bizaar.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angilinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Star is so much cheaper than comparable hotels, probably because most of the rooms do not enjoy a view. On the other hand, the price is great, and the rooms are really of a high standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your remarks.
We would like to mention that we have some rooms mountain view of Chiang Mai and we are looking forward to improve the service and quality of our rooms in the few month to come.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Claude Scheffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 388 in Chiang Mai
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#186 of 388 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#73 of 388 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $26 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hotel, Chiang mai Little Paradise in the heart of Chiang Mai city in the famous Night Bazaar square only 3 minutes walking, only 6 Km from the airport ( 10 minutes drive) and 3 Km from the train station. The Star promises to offer quality service with confort and value, safety and efficient service.You will have everithing you need such as 32" LCD TV, universal plug,Wifi access, free bottled water, minibar and in room safe at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing