We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near To Night Buzzer, Far From the Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #118 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Near To Night Buzzer, Far From the Noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel is situated at a location near to the night buzzer but yet far from the noise. It is along a street which is not very clearly lighted. however there should not be any safety issue even if return late. We were assigned to a 3rd floor duplex room. my frd has ask for a change of room to higher floor as he understand that higher floor rooms are better for the Star Hotel as they have already been renovated. We were told we can ask for change every morning. But till end of the stay, we still did not manage to change the room. The bed were too soft where slight movement will disturb the person sleeping next to you. There is no temp toothbrush provided however the rest of the toiletry are provided. can also book for the tour from the hotel tour desk near to the door however, remember to ask for the best price.

Room Tip: There is a lady in charge of the tour counter in the hotel lobby is friendly. Talk to her on the ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear customer,

It is with enjoyement to see that you and your friends had a pleasant stay.
Regarding the disponible tooth brush or razor amenities they are not provided in all type of rooms.
For your information please just contact the front office and they will be delivered free of charge to your room.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to see you again in the near future.
Season Greetings
Kind Regards
Claude Scheffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    138
    100
    31
    24
See reviews for
37
90
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is a reasonable inexpensive hotel with comfortable air-conditioned 'Superior' (twin beds) or Deluxe (large double bed). It is situated in a quiet side street about 2 minutes walk from the Night Market.

There is no pool or gym.

A recent upgrade means that you now have free wireless internet in the room, (but only one device can use the username & password at a time). Speed is about 1 Mbps,which is a big improvement on sitting at one of the previous two terminals in the foyer.

I negotiated a deal which did not include breakfast so cannot comment on the food. However the evening buffet looked quite good an well attended.

There is a coffee & tea making option in the rooms, however they charge Thb50/day to replenish the stock which is just enough for 1 coffee and 1 tea each if two people are using the room.

To offset this, free coffee/tea & cookies are available in the reception area (along with two Thai language national newspapers & 'The Nation' which is an English language national newspaper)!

There is no 'safe' in the room, but valuables can be stored safely in deposit boxes by reception.

There is a shower but no bath in the bathroom!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizzysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are taking note of your observation such as ;
The internet quality was not up to your expectation and we are pleased to inform you that a 5Mbps speed will be installed early December.
Regarding the coffee facilities we have noted your remark and will improve the choice and quantity.
Also the safe facilities will be added in mid next year as they are only available at present in Deluxe and Junior Suite but all guest have the possibility to use a personnel save deposit box at the reception.
Regarding the pool and Health Club we are opening the next door wing in september next year which will be maned with these 2 services. Thank you for our constructive comments and we look forward to welcome you again at Star Hotel in the near future.
King regards
General manager
Claude Scheffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was booked for us as part of a tour we had arranged with Thai Focus to the Elephant Nature Park. Given the choice, we would probably have stayed in a guest house or somewhere with a little more character.

There's nothing wrong with this place, it's clean, the staff are helpful, breakfast is huge and varied, it's just a bog standard mid level hotel, and we'd rather stay somewhere a bit more characterful. Ideal place if you want a western style visit.

Very close to good restaurants and bars and the night bizaar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angilinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Star is so much cheaper than comparable hotels, probably because most of the rooms do not enjoy a view. On the other hand, the price is great, and the rooms are really of a high standard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchiangmai, General Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your remarks.
We would like to mention that we have some rooms mountain view of Chiang Mai and we are looking forward to improve the service and quality of our rooms in the few month to come.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Claude Scheffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I spent just one night so I will be very concise: if you want to have a laugh with your friends and experience (for one night) what a bad hotel is like, go to the Star hotel! Where do I start? Decor: back to the 70's ugly ugly ugly! Cleanliness: the sheets in the bed were dirty (either badly washed or not changed). Bathroom would need update (and I'm being kind). Carpet on the floor is dirty and to top everything up, the room stank; at least we had a room with a view on the opposite wall. Reception staff unaware of whatever happens around them and generally unhelpful.  My friend and I were in the room laughing for about half hour because we couldn't believe something like that could still exist! Finally the breakfast with wonderful selection of: 1 type of egg, 1 cereal, coffee, sausage or wonderful hard like stone croissants! Probably the only good thing is the location (very close to the night Market) and the fact that I'll be leaving in half hour! What a joke!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdinando70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Yes the hotel is showing it's age but overall I found this hotel much cleaner than some of the older hotels I have stayed in this location and it was cheap. Stayed in Deluxe Room which was spacious and mainly clean apart from a few small niggly bits in the bathroom which would have not taken much to rectify. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was away from any traffic noise.
The street where the hotel is located in is not the best looking street to walk down but it is totally safe as is the rest of Chiang Mai is. The hotel is situated at the back of the Centara hotel and next to an unfinished hotel which was abandoned some time ago.
2 free internet computers in the Lobby
Negative points
Unfreindly staff at reception (except for one) which could be down to their command of English)
If you drink coffee in the room it has to be paid for, however coffee is free in the lobby during the day.
No swimming pool, but this does not bother me.
Breakfast is average and does not really cater for westerners
Will I stay here again. YES

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witty92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed in Star Hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival the receptionist lacked common manners and was quite rude and unhelpful. They could not find the confirmation of transfer that I had sent a few weeks earlier. The breakfast was of a good standard and rooms were clean quiet and comfortable. The same receptionist upon checkout was just as unhelpful no smile no manners a dissappointment in fact considering that all the other staff were great. Bad day or not if you work in the leisure industry you must deal with your guests politely and with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domhuahin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#199 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#72 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hotel, Chiang mai Little Paradise in the heart of Chiang Mai city in the famous Night Bazaar square only 3 minutes walking, only 6 Km from the airport ( 10 minutes drive) and 3 Km from the train station. The Star promises to offer quality service with confort and value, safety and efficient service.You will have everithing you need such as 32" LCD TV, universal plug,Wifi access, free bottled water, minibar and in room safe at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing