We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unusual, very beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Ranked #130 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed in this guesthouse as part of our tour of Thailand. I would agree with almost all of the reviews that have been written before mine. The little gardens with cats, and birds (some of them speak English too!), fish and frogs was beautiful, as was the library, you can't help but fall in love with it. The beds were a little hard alright, but not hard enough to affect my comfort.

The breakfast was the only bad point. The asian breakfasts were probably fine (our thai tour guide seemed to enjoy his spicy beef and rice breakfast) however the american and continental breakfasts are to be avoided. There were cornflakes on sale at reception so that could be another option.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nóinín
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2007

We have stayed at Suan Doi House 3 times now, once in 2001, once in 2005 and earlier this year, in January 2007.
We love this little hidden away oasis. It has beautiful tropical gardens, little hidden secret gardens, lovely places to sit and read, gorgeous kittie cats to cuddle. Yes, the beds are hard, but that adds to the charm, and anyway, a firm bed is good for your back.
The breakfast might be a bit boring, sure, it's toast and eggs and coffee and fruit. But the restaurant at night, turns into the most delicious Vietnamese restaurant on the planet, with the hugest menu selection we've ever seen. The food and the herbs are fresh and delicious every time. We have found the staff lovely and even though they don't speak much English, they make an effort to help you. Even though the rooms are not new, great care is taken in the decoration of the rooms and they are all unique and lovely.
It is hard to book - we have friends in Chiang Mai and they booked for us, because the website was down and they did not return faxes or calls. But all that aside, Suan Doi House is a place we look forward to every time we go to Thailand.
Oh, and the security man at the gate is the sweetest guy ever!
And a tip - if you can, ask for a room upstairs, because they sweep the garden at around 8 in the morning!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeetyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This hotel came highly recommended by a friend and once we stayed there, we were disappointed. They have beautiful idyllic looking gardens all around and adorable cats roaming the property. However, my praise sadly ends there.

The beds were rock hard, only slightly softer than sleeping on the floor. This was true of all the rooms. The staff had limited english skills and weren't able to handle many of our questions. The breakfast was horrible (wonder bread and butter, coffee mate creamer... suffice it to say, don't bother with the breakfast). The shower was wimpy and the room was generally a bit old and run down, although it was definitely clean. Our room was a little dark and not very big. It did not have a safe in the room.

The location was also sub-optimal. Most things required a taxi to get to, and within walking distance were some decent restaurants and a big "college" scene from the Chaing Mai University nearby. To get to the restaurants, you have to cross a very busy intersection which can take 5-10 minutes of standing in lots of pollution. The gardens are wonderful, but typically there people working in the garden, putting new brick down or doing gardening work, so if you want to lounge quietly in the garden, you are likely to be interrupted by the workers.

The one thing this hotel might be good for is business meetings where people all need to stay on site. They seem to have many little meeting spaces all over the property, the rooms are fairly inexpensive (about $40 a night) and if you have a big group, they might be much more accommodating than they were for a couple traveling alone.

Booking was nearly impossible as the hotel has no email, did not respond to my online contact attempts via their website, and required me to go through a local friend who booked it for me.

While in Chaing Mai, we also stayed at a guest house in town called House of Viciadio which is not listed on Trip Advisor. It was about 1/2 the price, more friendly, better food, a far better location and far more comfortable. If you really want to see Chaing Mai and get out of your hotel a lot, there are probably many better places to stay for a similar price or less.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Alissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2006

The suan doi house is a great little oasis in the city. The rooms are surrounded by a tropical garden and birds that speak thai. I always stay here when I come to chiang mai.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank worldtraveler791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Our stay here was fantastic. The staff is friendly, professional and ready to assist in every way possible. The food is fantastic and the "Thai Breakfast" is yummy. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The grounds all around make you feel like you are in paradise. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonCharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

I loved this quirky little hotel. It looked as if it was decorated by some wonderful little Thai grandmother. It's not far off a busy street, but it feels secluded. Maybe because of the garden in the middle. The garden is more like a jungle filled with flowers, frogs, trees, vines, lizards, hanging beads and hanging real and plastic flowers.

I realized only after I got home that the website has very close up photos. It's because if they took photos of the whole scene, you wouldn't be able to fathom it. When we first walked in the hotel's foyer/garden, my head about spun off, as there was so much to look at. Things hanging, animals moving, little decorations here and there.

To add to the randomness, the hotel's Vietnamese restaurant has quotes in English on the windows. I'm not a fan of Vietnamese food, so I can't objectively review it, but my husband enjoyed it. The breakfasts were good.

I discovered the 'Lana Library' overlooking the garden. I can't remember if the library actually had any books, but it's a great place to sit in the morning. The mats on the floor are suprisingly comfy.

When we first got there, I think we were in the cheapest room, and the bed was really hard. So we upgraded to the Executive Suite and it was good. It was only about $10 US more, and I would highly recommend the upgrade.

I recommend this place and hope to stay here again one day.

5  Thank bbdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ห้องที่ไกลจากฝั่งโรงแรมใหญ่ค่ะ เพราะเสียงดนตรีดังมากค่ะ
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jitsiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#189 of 388 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
9.7 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#172 of 388 in Chiang Mai
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
#228 of 388 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baan Din Ki
Baan Din Ki
#200 of 388 in Chiang Mai
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dome Residence
The Dome Residence
#146 of 388 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Pure Hotel Chiangmai
Le Pure Hotel Chiangmai
#110 of 388 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort

Address: 38 / 3 Soi Charntrasup, Huay Kaew Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $24 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suan Doi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing