We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #46 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Shanghai, China
1 review
“very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

the room and breakfast is great. near the night bazaar. I love the smell of the towel.its the special smell of Chiang Mai. I think the hotel opened for several years. but everything looks very well. If the wifi is free will be better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wenjie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Khun Wenji L,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, great room & breakfast and very good experience with us.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    513
    203
    70
    39
See reviews for
252
346
135
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Pros:

Great location. Right amongst the night bazaar and handy to restaurants, tour bookings, scooter hire etc.

Breakfast was good. A very large buffet selection.

Cons:

Wi-Fi connection constantly cut out and disconnected

There was an issue with the drain in our shower which was constantly blocked

There was only one lift on our side of the hotel which was EXTREMELY slow. It was also very dirty from tradesmen going in and out for renovations. There was an awkward moment where the lift stopped on a level which was being renovated and quite dangerous looking. When the lift took too long we went to take the stairs but were unable to due to being blocked by trade supplies.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahkc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Khun Sarahkc21,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our great hotel location and breakfast buffet. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Good location as night bazaar just infront of the hotel, 10 min walk to Ta Phae Gate & 15 min to Wororot Market. Surprise birthday cake on my belated birthday (1 day later). Hotel should provide airport transfer or at most charge a minimal fee. Poor WIFI

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laofoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Khun laofoye,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are glad you liked our good hotel location and our surprised birthday. I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had did not live up to your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done

With regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

I'm so glad we chose Suriwongse Hotel for our stay in Chiang Mai. From the moment we arrived, the service was outstanding! They even upgraded our room for us! The rooms were very clean and spacious and was equipped with updated lighting, AC and TV control panels. The location was equally amazing, being just a block away from the night market (but far enough from the noise). It's also only a 10 minute walk to the old city. The tour desk was also very helpful in booking activities and gave us great deals. Breakfast was also fantastic and there was a large selection of foods to choose from. The only downside was that there was no pool (which was a bit unclear from their website), but this was such a minor thing. I would definitely return on my next stay.

Room Tip: We were in Building B, which is more recently renovated, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Khun CDay89,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our amazing location, very clean & spacious room, fantastic breakfast and the service was outstanding which made fantastic everything.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel's location is my 1st reason to choose Suriwongse for the night of my company's event. It's very easy to get to famous tourism spots like Chiang Mai Night Bazar market and Upakut temple.

My check in - check out are fast and smooth. Front staffs are friendly and helpful. I'm impressed by their taking care of foreign and local guest equaly.

Room has all basic required equipments provided and standard hotel system installed. Me and mom stay comfortably enough on the night at Suriwongse.

Breakfast buffet line has various items served. It's fine teste and enjoyable.

Keep Suriwongse as your choice if you are planning to explore a night Chiang Mai Night Bazar.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Belle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Khun Belle S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our good location, fast with smooth check-in & check-out, various breakfast.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villarreal, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Friendly staff, vert good located, not old as other stated. Slightly confusing light control, no power socket near bed to charge mobile phone (you have to disconect lamp). WiFi con room cree. Overpriced tours, book outside hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 908Vila_real908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Khun 908Vila_real908,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our good location and friendly staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Its very located near the night market. Just three minutes walk from the back door. The room is big and clean although the bathroom is quite small. Yet the price is reasonable with the the nice staff and the nice room

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yanyanleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Khun yanyanleung,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our location, nice room, reasonable price and nice staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Property: Suriwongse Hotel
Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing