We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location fantastic staff”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #36 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

we stayed here in June for three nights. The room was very spacious bed comfortable and the staff attentive courteous and very polite. The buffet breakfast was great with a wide variety every morning. The hotel couldn't be in a better location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank justineandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Khun justineandray,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our great hotel location, great breakfast and polite & fantastic staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
There are newer reviews for Suriwongse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- Hotel is well located
- Nice spacious room
- Good variety for breakfast

Cons:
- Lighting in the room was a little bit dim
- Overall, stay was comfortable
- Confusing hotel layout

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Khun Shimal S ,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, nice & spacious room and friendly staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here with a friend in April of this year, and found a great change to the place. Firstly, it was renovated to be quite newish, but most importantly, the service has improved tremendously.
I stayed here about 2003 with a large group of friends. The rooms were rather dirty, and the service was rude and nasty., especially at the reception. This was also due to the fact that they could hardly speak English. I was accused of breaking a glass in the toilet, which we had not used at all, and apparently it had a crack. They insisted that I pay a ridiculous sum that would have bought another set of 6! Then, although we came down an hour earlier to check out of our 5 rooms, it took so long that we almost missed our plane.
However, I was delightfully surprised to see that the present reception staff, from the receptionists down to the lovely old man who helped with the lifts, were so sweet and polite, and most helpful, with directions to the places in Chiang Mai. All of them spoke perfect English.
The room was clean, especially the beds which were most comfortable. The food in the coffee house/restaurant had a variety of choices, which was most delicious. Location was ideal and central, with the night market practically round the corner, allowing the hotel to have it's privacy and peace.
I would definitely recommend people to stay here, as the price is reasonable and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeimeiOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Khun MeimeiOh,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, room clean and delightfully with helpful from our reception staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Location and service are great but suspect the bed sheets have bed bugs. Stayed for 5 nights. The counter staffs are always smiling and always ready to help. Overall, a good hotel to stay in while in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Khun Edwin K ,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our great hotel location and staffs always smiling with great service.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Value for money hotel. Next to the famous night market and friendly/helpful staffs. For now, hotel look rather old and run down, I was informed they are doing upgrading work part by part in the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing outside instead of airwell.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Calvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Khun Calvin L,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, value for money and friendly & helpful staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for one night only as transit to Angkhang. The room was spacious. However, the towels and the bed sheets are kind of so so. Breakfast was inclusive in the reasonable room rate. Staff are very friendly and would help whichever way possible. Hotel is accessible to night markets and a wide variety of pubs, food and message choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Khun Iris T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, spacious room and very friendly staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in Feb, my room rate included breakfast.

Check In/ concierge Staff are professional considering the abuse they were receiving from a group of Chinese people when I was there. In addition they all spoke excellent English.

The room was recently re-furbished, was well laid out and included FREE WiFi

Room was cleaned daily, to an excellent standard.

Breakfast Buffet is very good, it has several cooking stations which you can choose from or all if you so desire.

Hotel is well located in the heart of Chiang Mai, and you can walk everywhere from here.

Excellent stay and will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Khun Cameron S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you are satisfied with our hotel location, excellent clean room, good breakfast and professional staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 387 in Chiang Mai
496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $48 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing