We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #36 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location is really good, right in the middle of night bazaar and it's really easy to go anywhere because there're lots of public transportation in front of the hotel or you can ask someone to help you.
Although I think the building is kinda old but it's still clean and the room is big enough.
Shortly, I really recommend this hotel to all the travelers and it's not too expensive either

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiwa_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
There are newer reviews for Suriwongse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Suriwongse hotel provides a very excellent service for customers.
Hopefully the wi-fi system can upgrade to free access.
Also, by providing international adapter for every room is also important so that customer can easily to charge their handphones, camera etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RazerfanzJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service and staff.

The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I forgot an envelop in my hotel room in which there was about HK$ 4,000. The cleaning lady who was on duty brought the envelop to the front desk manager who contacted me through email and sent me back the money! I was really impressed by the service and the highly professionalism of the hotel staff! Will definitely stay at this hotel in my next visit to Chiangmai !

Room Tip: My room is not facing the main street, so it is really quiet at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service and staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel lobby staff was very friendly and helpful. They serve very good breakfast too. The best thing we like is the location of the hotel. The night market is just opp. I will definitely come back to stay int this hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank buasingyeojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Khun Buasingyeojenny,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service and staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai

Best regards,

Viani Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were there as a group renting three rooms. They had showed an associate a renovated deluxe room and that is why we decided to book with them. When we checked in we were given three old rooms with obvious mold problems.
The men at the front desk repeatedly lied to our group and associate.
I would not suggest staying at this hotel but their breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Khun J P,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

I was very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for some disappointing aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

I would be very happy to communicate further with you, should you wish to provide me with more details about your issues so I could look into this matter further and guide my team to provide our guests with a superior experience through our product and services.

The next time that you visit Chiang Mai, I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

As we knew the hotel is in renovation we contacted the hotel reception to make sure we would have renovated rooms, which was confirmed. When we entered the room and saw how it looked like we went to the reception to make sure these were renovated room. So either they lied to us or just leave as this is renovated room, can't even imagine how it is if not renovated!
Moreover deluxe rooms can't be with double bed which is just absurd! The manager only proposed us either to downgrade to superior room or to upgrade but we had to pay for the upgrade...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckylu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Khun Luckylu78

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

I was very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for some disappointing aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

I would be very happy to communicate further with you, should you wish to provide me with more details about your issues so I could look into this matter further and guide my team to provide our guests with a superior experience through our product and services.

The next time that you visit Chiang Mai, I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Suriwongse is an excellent staying option in Chiang Mai. We stayed for 4 nights in a superior double and it was a great experience. The salient features of this hotel are
1) Excellent location near the night market
2) Great eating options nearby
3) Exceptional service with smiling staff
4) Awesome breakfast spread.
5) Very good rooms

The only negatives were lack of Gym and swimming pool but they do provide vouchers for the swimming pool at a nearby hotel (although I did not use them).

All in all, an excellent staying option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Khun S K,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service and staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai

With best regards,

Viani Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#38 of 388 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $48 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing