We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good to report about the Suriwongse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #44 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
south africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only good to report about the Suriwongse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Suriwongse for the last five days of 2012. It was a positive experience in all ways, particularly distinguished by the exemplary response when we were ill. We were treated in a warm professional manner by all we had dealings with ( including the driver and the cleaning staff) and were taken particular care of by one member of staff, Khun Prachol Chaiyong.
The hotel is well located in the night market area, more or less equidistant from the old city and the Mai Ping river (which meant that we saw the fireworks from both sides as the New Year came in!). The orginal main section is under renovation at present although there was no work happening during our stay. This means that the entrance seems a bit odd on arrival, and in a side street not as one would have expected from the website photos. Clearly temporary.
When I had booked , I had requested quiet rooms on the top floor of the new wing and when we arrived they noted that this request was on their system, and these are the rooms we got . The rooms themselves are decent -sized, straightforward , clean...not artistic or especially Thai themed , they were fine.
When we arrived, we weren't feeling well and it became apparent that our older son needed to see a doctor in particular. Khun Chon ( nickname of Prachol) organised the hotel driver to take us to a hospital ( which was itself impressively efficient ), checked on our well being on our return, and sent toast and tea to our room so that medicine could be taken. All complimentary, and all repeated a couple of days later when our son was still ill and we needed to go back to the hospital. Other members of staff also asked me how he was doing, even someone we had not dealt with directly. What more could one ask for when sick away from home?
One last point we appreciated. There was an unobtrusive desk in a corner where information about tours was provided. We were at no point pressurised in any way to use this service, in contrast to what I have read about other hotels.
We would definitely stay at the Suriwongse again

Room Tip: Top floor, double glazed windows, new wing, all added up to quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LauraCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    507
    203
    69
    39
See reviews for
251
339
133
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedrooms family suite. The rooms are spacious and clean. Thought the hotel is still undergoing renovation, we were not affected at all.They rooms look exactly as they were promised in their website. Perhaps the most outstanding area was the service. We were greeted warmly by the staffs upon check-in and they were truly helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were very disappointed with the Suriwongse Hotel. Yes, the location was great, right in the middle of downtown, however, the hotel was terrible! On the website it showed pictures of beautifully remodeled rooms and hotel. I even called first to see if the remodeling would be an inconvenience and was told that it was completed! The rooms were old, dirty stained carpet and walls, dry rot on the doors, and loud inefficient air conditioning. We had a beautiful view of the roof top boilers!!! The food was marginal at best. Then when check out came, we were treated horribly by the young and foolish staff. They did not know how to charge an American Express card! Continually doing it wrong and the girl helping us was giggling, confused and unprofessional. Finally we had to use a Visa because she didn't know what else to do. We use AMEX for travel and because of this did not receive my points for a four night stay. I have written a letter to the hotel and I will discourage anyone thinking of staying there! Stay at the LeMeridian or the Princess Hotel, both are next door and are wonderful. Avoid the Suriwongse!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

I was very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for some disappointing aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

I would be very happy to communicate further with you, should you wish to provide me with more details about your issues so I could look into this matter further and guide my team to provide our guests with a superior experience through our product and services.

The next time that you visit Chiang Mai, I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was there in August for 2 nights, check out on 21st August 2012 with my wife for our 10 years anniversary. Reservation L90F301267

Thanks to Renu Duangjit for all the GREAT arrangement.

Room is clean and great, location is superb especially for shopper like me and myself.

p/s: Hotel staff greet me by the name.. How cool is that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxisjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were given an 'upgrade' to a deluxe room from a superior room which we declined right after seeing the rooms we were 'upgraded' to. Sure it was bigger, but the air conditioning vents were filled with dust and the room was very dark. Corridor to the room was also poorly lit. The rooms are in building C - avoid them at all costs. Room keys were in the form of a traditional key and had no other security features. No dead-bolts available.

We took our superior rooms in building B - the rooms and corridor was much better, but still it was not a pleasant experience. There was only one lift in the building and it was constantly occupied with workers rushing to prepare more unfinished rooms for the holiday season.

The rooms look decent at first sight, but it is clearly a facade once you settle in.
- The drink corner was dusty all 4 nights of our stay - they clearly did not bother to at least give the glass shelf a wipe.
- There are holes where things should be all around the room, even behind the bed. I discovered this after they did not put the bed back properly after cleaning the room.
- The bathroom was not well-equipped. Coming from Bangkok after staying in a 4-star hotel, we were appalled to find that there are no shower caps, toothbrushes, hair dryer, the list goes on. We managed to get toothbrushes after inquiring with the hotel service, not too sure about the other amenities.
- The bathrooms were also still under renovation. It was obvious that the room wasn't completed yet as 2 rooms had no shower door which meant that water sprayed out of the shower every time it was used. Drains had a tendency to be clogged after a short shower creating a wading pool in the shower.
- Amenities were not replenished daily. We would shower twice a day and this meant the body soap will be used up quickly. We had to ask for them from the hotel service. Toothbrushes, etc were not replenished either.

The outlook of the hotel wasn't up to standards either. While it is understood that some inconvenience and unslightliness was to be expected as they were undergoing renovations, there are a lot of unpleasant experiences.
- The 'front entrance' was merely a corridor leading to the makeshift lobby, and the walk to the main shift lobby was filled with musky smells from yesteryear's memories.
- The lobby staff were not too pleasant when we asked to be given rooms in building B (the building undergoing renovation).
- Only one WiFi login is given per room. I could only use the WiFi with my laptop and for a tech-savvy user this is a HUGE drawback. No WhatsApp on phone while checking emails on laptop.

Summary: the hotel definitely isn't worth +-$80 with taxes per night, as the main purpose of a hotel is to provide a comfortable second home for one on vacation, and this hotel clearly doesn't live up to it. While the service from the staff was above average, the room quality just wasn't up to par. This hotel can not be compared to other 3/4-starred hotels around (Centara, Imperial Mae Ping) which offer better rooms and all although they are both already dated. No facilities too, which makes it fare even worse. If presented with an option, pick it over this hotel. Will not be coming back even after the renovation is complete although the staff do work very hard to compensate for the shortcomings.

We booked 3 rooms for a stay of 4 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing. If the room lacks any amenities, ask them for it. Make sure to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Calvin C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback. We were very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for some unhappy aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests.
As a testament of our strive for perfection, we have instantly taken necessary steps to ensure that this will not happen again by reviewing our preventive maintenance program and staff couching.

The next time that you visit Chiang Mai, I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect

Our sincere apologies once again and look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you once again.

With kind regards,
Vinai Chitarasanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We walked in and booked our deluxe room with special deals which can beat all the online travelling agents' offer. Huge room and huge bathroom were a bonus. Warm greetings from staff enlightened our holiday memories. This hotel will be rebranded as Movenpic group hotel after renovation. When the refurbishment completes, I definitely will give this rating to 5 stars.

Room Tip: Spend more for a better and bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wongkamcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A hotel with excellent staffs. Was brought to the room by the front office manager and was suprised that the lights ,aircon was on before our arrival for our comfort . My family travelled yearly and was never encountered this before. Really appreciate the effort and esp to Mr Chon. Mr Chon even make an effort to remember the names of us - five ppl and ensured we have the time schedule when we took the shuttle bus to shopping centre. The family suite was super spacious and brightly lit. Front counter staff even help us to make reservation at a resturant . As for breakfast , the variety is limited but the quality is good for my family. Well, this hotel is defintely my choice if I travelled to Chiangmai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Property: Suriwongse Hotel
Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing