We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel only excels because of location”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #42 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel only excels because of location”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were given an 'upgrade' to a deluxe room from a superior room which we declined right after seeing the rooms we were 'upgraded' to. Sure it was bigger, but the air conditioning vents were filled with dust and the room was very dark. Corridor to the room was also poorly lit. The rooms are in building C - avoid them at all costs. Room keys were in the form of a traditional key and had no other security features. No dead-bolts available.

We took our superior rooms in building B - the rooms and corridor was much better, but still it was not a pleasant experience. There was only one lift in the building and it was constantly occupied with workers rushing to prepare more unfinished rooms for the holiday season.

The rooms look decent at first sight, but it is clearly a facade once you settle in.
- The drink corner was dusty all 4 nights of our stay - they clearly did not bother to at least give the glass shelf a wipe.
- There are holes where things should be all around the room, even behind the bed. I discovered this after they did not put the bed back properly after cleaning the room.
- The bathroom was not well-equipped. Coming from Bangkok after staying in a 4-star hotel, we were appalled to find that there are no shower caps, toothbrushes, hair dryer, the list goes on. We managed to get toothbrushes after inquiring with the hotel service, not too sure about the other amenities.
- The bathrooms were also still under renovation. It was obvious that the room wasn't completed yet as 2 rooms had no shower door which meant that water sprayed out of the shower every time it was used. Drains had a tendency to be clogged after a short shower creating a wading pool in the shower.
- Amenities were not replenished daily. We would shower twice a day and this meant the body soap will be used up quickly. We had to ask for them from the hotel service. Toothbrushes, etc were not replenished either.

The outlook of the hotel wasn't up to standards either. While it is understood that some inconvenience and unslightliness was to be expected as they were undergoing renovations, there are a lot of unpleasant experiences.
- The 'front entrance' was merely a corridor leading to the makeshift lobby, and the walk to the main shift lobby was filled with musky smells from yesteryear's memories.
- The lobby staff were not too pleasant when we asked to be given rooms in building B (the building undergoing renovation).
- Only one WiFi login is given per room. I could only use the WiFi with my laptop and for a tech-savvy user this is a HUGE drawback. No WhatsApp on phone while checking emails on laptop.

Summary: the hotel definitely isn't worth +-$80 with taxes per night, as the main purpose of a hotel is to provide a comfortable second home for one on vacation, and this hotel clearly doesn't live up to it. While the service from the staff was above average, the room quality just wasn't up to par. This hotel can not be compared to other 3/4-starred hotels around (Centara, Imperial Mae Ping) which offer better rooms and all although they are both already dated. No facilities too, which makes it fare even worse. If presented with an option, pick it over this hotel. Will not be coming back even after the renovation is complete although the staff do work very hard to compensate for the shortcomings.

We booked 3 rooms for a stay of 4 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing. If the room lacks any amenities, ask them for it. Make sure to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Calvin C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback. We were very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for some unhappy aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests.
As a testament of our strive for perfection, we have instantly taken necessary steps to ensure that this will not happen again by reviewing our preventive maintenance program and staff couching.

The next time that you visit Chiang Mai, I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect

Our sincere apologies once again and look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you once again.

With kind regards,
Vinai Chitarasanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    535
    208
    71
    40
See reviews for
263
366
147
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We walked in and booked our deluxe room with special deals which can beat all the online travelling agents' offer. Huge room and huge bathroom were a bonus. Warm greetings from staff enlightened our holiday memories. This hotel will be rebranded as Movenpic group hotel after renovation. When the refurbishment completes, I definitely will give this rating to 5 stars.

Room Tip: Spend more for a better and bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongkamcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A hotel with excellent staffs. Was brought to the room by the front office manager and was suprised that the lights ,aircon was on before our arrival for our comfort . My family travelled yearly and was never encountered this before. Really appreciate the effort and esp to Mr Chon. Mr Chon even make an effort to remember the names of us - five ppl and ensured we have the time schedule when we took the shuttle bus to shopping centre. The family suite was super spacious and brightly lit. Front counter staff even help us to make reservation at a resturant . As for breakfast , the variety is limited but the quality is good for my family. Well, this hotel is defintely my choice if I travelled to Chiangmai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Cons:
Arranged for hotel transfer but din come. However it allowed us to take a taxi from airport to the hotel for just 120baht.
Stayed there for 5 nights and had a short circuit in the room in the last night. Room had no electricity. But front desk quickly send a technician which fixed the problem.
Far from weekend market :(

Pro:
Location good. Night bazzar was super near and walking distance to Anusan market.
Had cheap laundry nearby which charged 20baht/kilo.
Breakfast was good. 5 days there and had different food everyday!
Room could put 3 beds and had a sofa bed
Last day we had a v early flight, hotel helped us arranged a taxi and prepared box breakfast for the whole family as buffet was not opened yet.

Overall very nice experience but was abit pricey. :) would come back again next time we visit Chiang mai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAKAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed in nearly all the hotels in the main street of Chiangmai over the years and this one has the most brilliant staff of of them all, from the Manager Chon at the front desk,the Catering Manager at breakfast and all the staff in the hotel. The surroundings in the outside bar are most pleasant with good menus and pricing. Rooms are very spacious and clean, I will be sure to stay here again on my next visit to Chiangmai.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithNeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,788 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is would not likely be a hotel of first choice for many people, were it not for the fabulous location -- just steps from the Night Bazaar and lots of good restaurants. The hotel itself is quite old, but has been undergoing a lengthy renovation that will hopefully bring it closer to the 21st century. Staff try hard to overcome the constraints of an old building and facilities; friendly and helpful. Food (including breakfast buffet) is good and plentiful. Rooms are generally OK. Prices are excellent for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our Holiday in Chiangmai lasted 5 nights and thanks to Mr Chon and staff we had a wonderful time.I would recommend this hotel because of its location which is close to the night Bazaar, Buerger King etc. An excellent complimentary shuttle service, great ,beautiful and modern rooms, clean and spacious. It had a moderate spread of breakfast buffet but very tasty . I must mention that Mr Chon the assistant manager deserves all the credit for being an excellent host and someone reliable and very polite.
Dr. Daniel and family , Malaysia

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated and refurbished new rooms even if you need to pay a little etc and select a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#104 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Property: Suriwongse Hotel
Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing