We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul and Cheryl”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #38 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paul and Cheryl”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our arrival and all the formal book-in requirements were handled very professionally by Mr Chon and staff and we were made to feel most welcome from day one. Nothing was too much trouble, house staff were very friendly, rooms excellent and always very clean. Would be nice to see an upgrade of the TV sevices and a flat screen for better viewing!! Breakfast menu, service and choice were outstanding and we still talk to friends about how we miss being spoilt in the mornings. Mr Chon and the Tourist Services staff ensured all bases were covered and we really enjoyed our day trips and return to the Hotel.We look forward to a return trip and a stay at the Suriwongse.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms and enjoy your stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    542
    209
    71
    40
See reviews for
272
368
150
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We've booked the suite for 2000 bht. The hotel location is perfect (in the middle of the night market, though not that noisy).

Great breakfast, nice staff.

Not a 5star hotel but good value for money ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liorlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good location, next to the night bazaar. Rooms very clean. staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant being refurbished, but relocated on fourth floor, food and band still very good value for money. Breakfast buffet very good choice, caters for all nationalities. I would also recommend the bistro, good range of food snacks etc. I would stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geroo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel renovation does not impact (no noise)other than entrance is not from a main street.Lobby is not grand but is more than adequate and has a nice understated style of a boutique hotel.Staff are excellent and you are warmly treated (and remembered) throughout your stay.Deluxe rooms are very big and comfortable and bathroom is well appointed.But suprisingly very little storage space...too much focus on style rather than practicalities of the travellers' needs.The hotel is well located.No swimming pool as yet and car park a little difficult to access

Room Tip: WIFI in some back rooms not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew49KhonKaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival room that we booked was not available, could upgrade at another 500bht, after an all night trip took the upgrade which made a mockery of the cheap price we booked at, if I could of cancelled (prepaid) easily we would of just walked out and gone elsewhere. Front office staff not that helpfull (except Chon who whilst still not being able to help an upgrade was very nice about it.) Only stayed 3 nights, apart from the initial upset everything else was fine.
Conclusion, we go to Chiang Mai 3 or 4 times a year , wont go back, at the price we paid there are better hotels, though the location was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hi we travelled to Chiang Mai ,Thailand in early June 2012 with our 4 children under 14yrs and we stayed at the newly renovated deluxe rooms which were of adequate size.with 2 single beds in each of our two rooms and an an extra bed .The hotel itself is simple but its location is fantastic just opposite the evening market and next to the Le Meridien ,within 10min of the international airport.
Their Reservation manager Ms Renu was very helpful in arranging our accommodation and transfers and put us in contact with and equally helpful tour agent, Ms Somjit who is onsite.
Their morning breakfast buffet is a simple but refreshing spread. At night there is a very affable band which plays music from the 60's and good for light relaxation.
The kids had a great time with the tour we took over the 3 days we stayed there.Food was always good and clean,the Thai people oh so... polite and trafiic actually stops for you to craos the road anywhere mind you .Its been our best family vacation in Asia easily and we hope to go again.PS Don't be shy to bargain and get yourself some tailor made clothers,dresses ,suits cheap and with good cutting.
The hotel was good,only downer was their bathrooms which were tiny felt like ?3'X 3'.
I highly recommend this place to budget conscious travelers .

Room Tip: Get the rooms that have been refurbished ,.The re isn't anything of aview but you need to expl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACPKLMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I selected this hotel because it was recommended in the Lonely Planet as a top end hotel. What a surprise when we found that the hotel was under construction, very old and most of the public areas are ugly and unattended. The service is what I call acceptable but the key system is the old fashion style -a real key hanging in a piece of wood- that the hotel would charge a ridicule amount to replace it. All together the bed sheets were old, unclean, the rug on the floor VERY dirty and the walls full of humidity with mold presented. Chiang Mai it is worth it, and we'll visit this lovely place again, but defenetly we are not staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maricel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Maricel D,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulties and inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

Even though we always strive to ensure our valued guests experience the best stay possible with us during their travels, unfortunately we fell short of our goals this time.

As a testament of our strive for perfection, we have instantly taken necessary steps to ensure that this will not happen again by reviewing our preventive maintenance program and staff couching.

We would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that after our renovations and rebranding to a Moevenpick Hotels and Resorts hotel in June, we are definite that you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us during your next visit.

Our sincere apologies once again and look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#111 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Property: Suriwongse Hotel
Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing