We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great room also great breakfast”
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
Ranked #34 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel has a perfect service.The room of this hotel has a high quality. Except the shampoo is not satisfying. This hotel has a great location. It is located just in the night bazaar. Which most impress me is that it is quiet to stay in the room although it is noisy outside(the night bazaar). I really love this hotel,everything in this perfect is nearly perfect!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have spent more than five times in this hotel. Every time i was happy, all the staff are so nice and helpfull. i recomand this hotel for everyone who stay in Chiang Mai. Very friendly staff, very good location and the room are very comfortable.

Room Tip: I recomand particulary the orchid deluxe room with king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierrych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is located at the night market of Chiang Mai. Actually they are renovating some rooms which was no problem for us because we didn`t feel anyhow disturbed. We traveled as a larger family (3 rooms) Kids were happy about free wifi and I could do some office activities with the great support of the reception. Hotel employees were extraordinary friendly and helped at any time.
Breakfast is realy great (european, american, asian style). Here we could easily recognize that the hotel is changing now to a Moevenpick hotel.
Over all the hotel is a good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is currently being re-vamped as has been re-branded as a Movenpick Hotel. Our room was large - as it was a corner room - but the carpets are tired and well worn! Main entrance was not open due to revamp, so used side entrance which was adequate.

The pool is currently non-functional, green and the area around the pool currently being used for storage during the revamp!

Breakfasts are great and as was the service in the dining area (4th floor). Reception staff are fair, and the manager tries, but still got a lot to learn.

For a central hotel, a fair option - especially if you are keen on the night markets which are right on your door step! There are however a number of hotels in the area that are worth considering.

Without the pool area being functional I probably would not consider this hotel again, but sure once the revamp is completed would be worth a re-look!

Room Tip: If planning to go South (Phuket), finish your shopping in Chiang Mai as the prices are about 50% of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ropet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It was wonderful hotel and very good service it was so quiet . It hAs good reception and it has wonderful seen and the breakfast is good

Room Tip: Close the night bazzar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is brilliantly located in the heart of the night shopping district.

For USD$40 per night, this was extremely good value. The rooms were spacious, brand new, it was clean, breakfast was included, and the service was excellent.

Would have been even better if wifi was included. Instead here it was charged by the hour.

Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

When I booked the Suriwongse, I was aware that the hotel was undergoing renovation, and that it is soon to be a Moevenpick Hotel. The room I booked allegedly had all the frills, including a flat-screen TV. When I arrived, however, the Front Desk clerk embarked on a hard-sell mission, telling me that the room I had booked was equipped with two single beds (we were a couple traveling) and offering an "upgrade," which in itself was priced at twice the price of the room I booked. The clerk was equipped with an i-Pad to display the advantages of the upgrade.

I was seriously put off by his sales pitch, and decided to stick with the room I had booked.

Surprise! Not only did I find a King size bed, but the room was not a room at all, but a fairly gigantic suite. A bit run down, yes, but very spacious and very comfortable. And no twin beds, but a King instead. OK, no flat screen TVs; the accommodations were very much not yet renovated.

So I'm very ambivalent about my Suriwongse experience. Great location, no doubt. Loved the spaciousness of my unexpected suite. But I seriously resented the hard-sell upgrade push I was subjected to at check-in. The employees were all wearing Moevenpick polo shirts. But if that's the kind of treatment the Moevenpick affiliation brings, I would say go elsewhere. Chiang Mai has so many wonderful hotels; why stay in one where you get bullied on check-in?

And although I've always had the greatest respect for the Moevenpick brand, this experience mad me lose all faith. Be aware!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Favolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#68 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 392 in Chiang Mai
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $65 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suriwongse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing