We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit to the past!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wiang Kum Kam

Wiang Kum Kam
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.70*
and up
Private Half-Day Chiang Mai Local Life Style Including Wiang Kum Kam
Ranked #53 of 248 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
riyadh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A visit to the past!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

After breakfast at our hotel started our day by getting into Tuk Tuk 2mins from Thapae gate to Wiang Kum Kam. It was nice cloudy morning and enjoyed our 15-20mins drive to Wiang Kum Kam ,its a rural area of Chiang mai with on going restoration work of rediscovered city of temples.At its main area you have a choice of horse carriage for 300THB or tram for 500THB. well we hopped in a horse carriage and were on our way to see the temple ruins.Our carriage driver-guide had poor English but we managed with a pamphlet and plaques written in English at every temple were enough to give some idea about Lanna history.
The main temple of the town is Wat Chedi Liam, which is still occupied by monk and you can see people offering their routine worships.
It is quite and nice for those interested in history or have enough time on hands.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank farah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    64
    31
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Forgotten Royal City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We paid a driver to take us here and then you pay a guide 300THB to take you around the sites of 6 temples in a horse and carriage. The temples had been buried for years after severe flooding in the area and rediscovered many years later. It was a very pleasant way to spend an hour or so.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are interested to study the history of Chiang Mai, you might want to visit this place. They have interesting history. But there is no protection from the elements of nature when you are at different sites. You have to go prepared.

Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Not much to see really.. A suburb with a few ruins!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We did this by a mountain bike tour with a write up which made us expect a peaceful jungle experience. Which it is not! It is actually suburb of Chiang Mai, albeit leafy, so some of the time you are riding on two lane roads with traffic. There are about 7 ruined wats open, mostly only walls standing. Of interest perhaps to archaeologists but for the amateur not much to see or explore. Whole trip took less than two hours.
Much less interesting or pleasant compared to the bike tour of the ancient city of Sukhothai which we did previously (and well recommended).
Not worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The chiang mai old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

the Old town of chiang mai the must visit you can even take the boat trip to here there are village with chiang mai urban commune do not worried about the food there are many carry resturants around about 30 baht...must visit..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiang Kum Kam also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wiang Kum Kam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing