We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful World !”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Wonderful World !”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is a Gem. Located in the center of Chiang Mai it is really like no other thing I had seen before! Simply it is like a hidden wonderful world by itself ! It has the very elegant and unique Thai design. The rooms are spacious and spotless clean and very comfortable with a great view to the huge tamarind tree.. it was pure blissfulness. Gardens and pool amazing. Breakfast very delicious and with a variety of choices.
Simply one the best places i had been to in my entire life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JeremyJones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    361
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
300
843
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Girlfriend and I loved this hotel. Room, service, food, pool....all excellent. The staff took care of us like very friendy proffesionals...bookings for excursions and an extra 2 nights all handled nicely. Requested taxis all arrived on time. My only complaint was the wifi connection (I had to carry laptop across the street) but the staff tried for quite a while to make the connection better. No big deal, Girlfriend got wifi with no problem . Will always stay here next time in Chiang Mai (3rd visit).

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyb510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. It's so peaceful and the staff are so nice and so friendly. The hotel has a tremendous ambiance and is so Thai in nature. It is really close to many attractions. The rooms are traditional in nature but have every comfort. The only slight criticism we can make is that the candlelit restaurant is just a bit too dark. The food was great but we couldn't really see it. However if we return to Chiangmai Mai we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmymacDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a beautiful hotel. Although basic it is set in beautiful settings away from the busy city. Once you walk down the entrance you would not know that you were in the city. The rooms were basic but spacious and had everything you needed, you even had free wifi in the room which was a bonus. The pool setting was lovely and everything was very relaxing. We had a meal at the hotel restaurant one afternoon which was lovely and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The hotel is set in a good location and there are plenty of restaurants, temples and bars within walking distance and also the night market which is worth a visit. Staff were very attentive and friendly and upon arrival we got a free 15 minute massage which was well needed after the flight.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

At the outset I'd like to emphasise that nothing in this review is meant as a true criticism of Tamarind Village. Rather its intended to help people decide whether or not this is in fact the right hotel for them. Overall there is very little that I would truly criticise Tamarind for - however in the end we felt this was not a great 'fit' for us.

We stayed at Tamarind Village for 10 nights in February 2014 including over the Flower Festival. Transfers and daily breakfast were included.

THE ROOM
We had a Lanna Deluxe Room which was just over reception. While there was some noise from the live music in the restaurant it was not enough to ever impact us negatively. In fact, I quite liked sitting on my balcony listening. The room was nicely appointed, the bed was very comfortable, the accents in the bathroom were lovely. There is plenty of storage (two large closets) although our suitcases did not fit comfortably in them.

I would have preferred a harder pillow, but that is the only major complaint with the room itself. Unfortunately we could not get an early check in, but that is always a bonus and we entertained ourselves until our room was ready (on time).

THE GOOD
Transfers were smooth - we were picked up as promised by a very polite driver and the trip to the hotel was quick.

Given the length of our stay we were offered a variety of small discounts on the restaurant, spa and gift store. While not necessary (and to be honest we did not really use them) we really appreciated the gesture.

The breakfast was extensive and delicious with everything tasting fresh. A small cooking station was available for hot meals (including omelettes, pancakes, french toast etc) made to order. The bircher muesli was some of the best I have ever eaten.

One day our Cooking Class forgot to pick us up. Reception was very helpful telephoning them and organising for our driver to drop us to the market where the class already was. No charge associated (for us at least).

The location cannot be beaten. Right on the main road in the middle of the old city, getting around is a pinch. Thae Pae gate is a few minutes walk to the east and the west moat about the same the other way. Plenty of eating, shopping, spas and money changes within moments. A great little laundry is to the left if you exit the hotel from the side rather than main exit.

The pool and dining area is lovely. It was let down for me somewhat by people chain smoking though. We used the pool twice, both in the afternoon. Its only about 1.5 meters deep at the most and was nice and warm.

THE NOT SO GOOD
We found out later that a friend obtained a much better rate by booking through a travel agent. We paid a fair bit more (i.e. about 2,500THB a night( by booking direct which I was surprised at for Thailand. So perhaps get your agent to check the rates they can get. We also found that you can get accommodation for a lot cheaper in Chiang Mai (although I would not say this was overly expensive at all).

There are a lot of bugs in and around the hotel. I am a mosquito magnet and had to wear repellent all the time, even in bed! I don't know if much can be done about them though.

The tea and coffee at breakfast were a bit hit and miss. One day it was very weak, another very strong. I'd like to see a decent coffee option included for this price point.

On one day housekeeping left the door to our room unlocked. Fortunately nothing further occurred from this.

The food and spa are VERY expensive compared to options immediately outside the hotel. For example, gin and tonics were about the same price as in Australia. As a result of these high prices we did not eat at the restaurant or use the spa facilities at all. I expect a hotel to charge more than someone on the street, however these prices were so much more I refused to pay.

FINALLY
Although I cannot fault Tamarind except for the above minor points we probably would not return. We simply felt the hotel was less warm and friendly than we had hoped for. A lot of the other visitors at the time appeared to be on organised tours. We were hoping for more of a guest house/boutique experience but overall felt the hotel was a little bit more pretentious than we had hoped. To be clear that is not a bad thing, if you are looking for a well located, character filled hotel where staff are polite but not 'in your face' this is fabulous. We personally would have liked to have connected with staff and other guests a little more.

All in all we would probably go to a smaller guesthouse if we ever return to Chiang Mai - but I would still recommend Tamarind Village as it is a very good hotel. Just not quite what I wanted!

Room Tip: I'd pay the extra for the Lanna Deluxe Room as it was very enjoyable sitting on our balcony watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PugHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Enter the Tamarind resort in Chian Mai and you will be immediately trapped into a magic spell that creates the felling to be completely apart of the dynamic, vibrant soul of the old city. Traditional, rustic, clean, absorbed in a wild green luxurious tropical vegetation, with the kindest and prompt service you can find at this price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon and we greatly enjoyed it. Check in was a breeze and the room was fantastic (albeit slightly on the smaller side). Take the temple tour with the hotel guide. She'll take you to the local market too- this was by far the best part of the stay.

We booked the Simply Lanna package which included 2 90 min massages, temple tour, airport transfer, and dinner for 2 (set menu). The massages were the best we had in Thailand. The dinner was subpar although the staff really tries to go out of their way to accommodate. Drinks were on the high end as well here. Breakfast was very good.

The staff recommends the Sunday market- which is right in front of huge hotel- on closed down streets. There's way too many people at this event and it's all the same stuff (mostly trinkets). I would avoid.

Be careful with the taxi drivers. They'll want to take you to the silk factory, the silver place and the gem store. They get paid for each drop off. We did buy some things at the temp store though.

I highly recommend this hotel. The only thing I would suggest is the hotel should make more lounge chairs available by the pool. There were always not enough.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,071 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing