We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel- a tranquil and lovely spot in the center of Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel- a tranquil and lovely spot in the center of Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We rented several rooms for several nights for our wedding guests. The service was warm and excellent. The rooms are beautiful- full of rich woods, textiles, lovely old photos, gentle lighting. The gardens are really special- well managed but not overly manicured. The huge old trees give plenty of shade and amazing white orchids are everywhere. Breakfast around the pool was very nice. The Spa is very nice but frankly it is overpriced given the many other excellent Spas and massage places in Chiang Mai.This is a quiet hotel- not a place for drunkenness or parties- but perfect for a romantic getaway or a special vacation with friends. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeteranTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Veteran Traveler,

Thank you very much for your nice review of your recent stay at Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are glad your wedding guests enjoyed their time with us and it is very nice to know you appreciated the small details which make Tamarind Village such a special place: the gardens and flowers and the design features in the rooms. Thank you especially for your kind compliments on our staff which are most appreciated.

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    352
    62
    24
    10
See reviews for
292
818
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two children, 5 and 3 years. It is a beautiful hotel with attentive and welcoming staff. We stayed in a Lanna Deluxe in the back of the resort and found it to have enough space for our family of four. It is ample room for a couple. The rooms are dark but for us that was conducive to a restful sleep. The pool is beautiful and the grounds are tranquil. It is well located and quiet. The hotel is geared toward couples and the walls are thin so keep this in mind when travelling with little people. The staff were extremely welcoming to our family and readily engaged our children with a cheerful sawadee kap every morning. There are also fun little activities in the afternoon which we found enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frizzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Frizzy Bee,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the setting, our staff and the afternoon activities. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again on a future visit to Chiang Mai.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and fell in love with Tamarind Village, only to revisit it and fell in love all over again. Great service, food and spa treatments, this time we did the village walk on the Sunday morning which was great. Thanks to every staff member that were there to make our time special again, and the flowers at dinner on our last night topped off our perfect stay.Last time we stayed in a suite, but this time we had the Lanna deluxe which was fine, great bathroom, people have complained about room size and darkness, but we found that this was no issue for us. We only used our room to sleep in, we layed around the pool, and the old city has so much to explore that we were out and about a lot, as we were there to enjoy Yee Peng.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Brisbane Holiday,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for returning to visit us for a second time in two years. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we had the chance to celebrate the lovely Yi Peng festival with you both. Hope to be able to have the chance to welcome you for a third visit in the not-too-distant future!

Until then, take good care.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

After a week in Hanoi, we wanted a more relaxed pace and there's no doubt the Tamarind offers a fantastic escape from the outside world.
The staff were incredibly helpful, even offering to dry out my wife's shoes after a sudden downpour we got caught in! They hold daily activities for the guests and any available staff come and join in too, all to a really nice, fun atmosphere.
The bad point for us was the noise factor; we were woken early one day by some sweeping outside and the plumbing is quite noisy, as it was in the adjacent room too. Usually this would be a major problem to me as I'm a light sleeper, but the rest of the hotel was so good, it pretty much negated the noise issue. The addition of the world's most confused rooster down the road didn't help things as it clearly couldn't tell the time!
We stayed there (15th November - 21st November) over the festivities, so there was a load of fireworks going off regularly anyway that would've been noisy in any hotel!
Location is brilliant, we walked everywhere and only got the occasional tuktuk back after a long day which would only cost about £1.50.
Free WiFi in all areas of the hotel was a great bonus too.
Breakfast is really nice, we didn't actually get to eat in the hotel later in the day as we were out and about & there's an abundance of places to eat all around Chiang Mai.
The laundry charges were the cheapest I've ever known for a hotel, so it's worth bearing that in mind when you're packing!
In summary, this place does have it's negatives for light sleepers like me, but the positives highly outweigh those and our stay was truly memorable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you for your nice review of Tamarind Village. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with other Travellers of Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you had a memorable stay with us and that you really enjoyed the location, the breakfast and the attentive and helpful service of our staff.

Apologies if noise from the festival and the neighbour's rooster disturbed you during your stay but we are happy to know you found that overall the experience of staying with us was an excellent one. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had mixed feelings about writing this review because to be fair tamarind is a nice hotel from the outside, the grounds are beautiful, it is wonderfully calm and serene in the busy town centre, location is great, the food in the restaurant was ok but the restaurant service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and remembered us by name. They also play live jazz music at dinner on some nights which is a wonderful touch that would entice us to eat at the hotel, it was a lovely atmosphere but there are definitely areas needing improvement.

What I most disliked about the hotel was our room, we had one if the nicer 'Lana' rooms so I didn't experience the problem with a small sized room that most on here complain about, the problem was that the room was incredibly dark so dark, lights would need to be turned on from first thing in the morning until bedtime, now I know rustic is the theme but coming from a dark rainy country the very last thing I wanted in Thailand is to be in a dark dimly lit room when it's 30 degrees and bright and sunny outside. The worse thing is there was no getting around the darkness each window was sealed with tightly wrapped blinds and windows which opened inwards knocking over items behind the window when you would try to open them. We were also based on the ground floor which meant people were constantly walking past the window so we couldn't open the blinds for loss of privacy. Being on the ground floor meant we were often awoken by the gardeners in the morning (the walking path is directly beside the rooms on the ground floor) The dark rooms may be ok for some but I personally couldn't stand being in the room it felt like staying in a cave. If your staying in a room that affords no natural light at the very least some additional lighting should be available for those who don't prefer darkness. There were also very few plug sockets in the room we were only able to use 1 and the 2 in the bathroom.

Another issue we had was in regard to housekeeping, my husband took ill with a nosebleed one night which resulted in droplets on the pillow and duvet we rolled up the duvet and left it on the chair in the morning as we left early for an excursion, imagine our horror to discover that the same duvet was put back on the bed and the pillowcase had not been changed, that is entirely unacceptable in my opinion, we tried to call and explain to the front desk who were completely lost in translation and bought us a fleece throw instead. This hotel also has no semblance of any type of concierge service we wanted to book a local restaurant for dinner and asked the front desk if this was possible, their response was to tell us to dial 9 and the number.

This is a good hotel to use as a base when you don't want to spend too much time in your room but as honeymooners we were looking for something a bit more, our holiday was to relax and unwind so a nice room to come back to was paramount and unfortunately we expected a bit more

Room Tip: lanna rooms are larger but the ground floor rooms can get a a lot of noise from people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2londontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear 2LondonTravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this very much. It is too bad that Tamarind Village was not exactly what you were looking for in a hotel experience on your honeymoon. The room style is inspired by traditional northern Thai architecture and has its own unique look and feel. While many guests really love this, it may not be for everyone. Your comments on housekeeping will be shared with the team so that we can improve in this area. We all sincerely hope that the rest of your trip in Thailand was enjoyable and special.

Wishing you all the best,

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Tamarind Village for 3 nights in November 2013. What an amazing place!! It proved the perfect change of pace which was needed following a busy 3 nights in Bangkok. As soon as you turn onto the impressing drive way you can literally feel all your worries and stress lift away. We both had high hopes for the Tamarind Village and we were not disappointed. Located slap bang in the middle of Chiang Mai old town makes exploring this wonder city very easy. The staff at the hotel are typical of the thai people. Friendly, courteous and respectful. The hotel itself is just stunning with the centre piece being a huge Tamarind tree which happened to be right outside room. The rooms are beautiful and we found were bigger than expected. Traditional Thai decor throughout, I particularly liked the wash hand basins!! It is difficult to describe the sense of tranquility and calm that this place gives you as soon as you step through the door. It has a nice swimming pool and breakfast was very tasty and had a great choice to select from. Chiang Mai itself is wonderful. We particularly enjoying just wandering about and taking in the sights, exploring the many temples that are dotted about and chilling out in one of the coffee shops watching the world go by. On our first night we headed east across the city and enjoyed a meal in one off the restaurants on the Ping river while watching a number of Thai people letting off lanterns over the river. Just perfect!! Another thing we very much enjoyed, and I am not much of a shopper, was the night markets. They go on for what feels like miles and we very much enjoyed scoping out what was on offer and entering into bartering matches with the jovial local tradesmen and women who were not as pushy as some markets I have experienced throughout the world. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel and would most definitely stay here again if I found myself in the fantastic Chiang Mai.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jonny5Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Jonny5Leicester,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village Chiang Mai. We were very glad to know you enjoyed your three night stay with us this November and that you found the hotel setting tranquil and relaxing. Thank you as well for mentioning our friendly and courteous staff. We are happy you had a good visit to Chiang Mai and that we could be a part of that. Hope to welcome you back again one day in the near future!

Wishing you well.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place for all sorts of travelers. We came without children, but it would be perfect for families with young children,as well. Best if they can swim or at a minimum understand how to be around swimming pools safely. The people here are very friendly. The rooms are quite comfortable and beautifully appointed in a simple and traditional style.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wadephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Wadephillips,

Thank you very much for your nice review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found our hotel both perfect for families and couples and that you enjoyed the rooms and thought they were comfortable and appreciated their traditional style. Thank you as well for your nice compliments on our friendly staff.

Wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing