We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in the heart of Chiang Mai”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #17 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the fact you feel a million miles away from the city however step outside and you are in the heart of Chiang Mai. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and it is great to just wonder round.

Rooms very clean but slightly on the small side. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is brilliant. Great quality and lots of choice.

The pool area in the evening is very pleasing on the eye though beware of the mosquitoes if sitting by the pool in the evening!

Spa is expensive compared to outside the hotel but that is really to be expected and is the only negative I can think of.

Located within the old city walls, you are in the heart of Chiang Mai with so much to see and do.

This hotel is worthy of its ratings and I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Would certainly stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in April 2012 and we loved it! You are away from the hustle of this charming town, and yet, you step outside the village you are just a short walk or tuk-tuk ride away from where its happening.
The buildings are nicely embedded into the tropic scenery, the rooms are OK in size and designed in local customs (I could have lived without a TV in the room though).
We ate in the village most of the evenings, as we were too exhausted from relaxing to go any place else. Food was good, very good most of the times, service always friendly and helpful.
Pool area can become a little crowded at times, but not annoyingly densely packed.
We found it the perfect little retreat to explore Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iguacu317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've loved and enjoyed Tamarind Village's sister hotel in Krabi - Rayavadee over the years so when it's time to visit Chiang Mai, the accommodation decision wasn't a hard one at all.

Other than a temple or 2 around every corner, the old town main streets don't look much much different from anywhere in Thailand or Bali: busy and dusty traffic, narrow and crumbling pedestrian ways, tailor shops, massage shops and money changers, impossibly intertwined power cables. Suddenly in the centre of all this a subtle plate signs "Tamarind Village", next to it a bamboo illustrated deep path leads to a meditating wooden gate. You are in the Village.

The resort is boutique-y with well aged monastery looking buildings, it is restored in style that preserves the history yet all modern comfort is included. There is no flattering extravagance, only well-thought-of story-filled antiques. The ground isn't spacious, just filled with well-taken-care-of greenery so you feel secluded even when the rooms are almost dorm-like. Each room features a little terrace or balcony with cushioned seats, when the sun gets shattered by twisting branches of the old tamarind tree then hit the whispering white washed walls it's hard not to forget about the hustling world you come from.

We stayed in the Spa Suite for 4 days, doing nothing but wandering a couple of temples at quiet hours, having spa treatments and lying on the terrace daybed at dusk listening to the monks chanting. There were a couple of glitches regarding reservation but once we got here they sorted things out for us promptly, almost everything is effortless and there is always a smile on the staff's face.

It's worth mentioning that the bed is very comfortable.

It seems to be what Chiang Mai is all about: lush, historical, humble, and spiritual.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PukakiBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms were small.... we could only have 1 suitcase open at a time. I asked for a quiet room overlooking the beautiful 100 year old Tamarind tree..... Our room was opposite the reception and rather noisy and far from private. I'm sure however, there were other rooms around the resort that were better. If you want a view of the tree then expect a little noise.

The first night we hardly got any sleep as there was a loud ongoing thumping noise (we think from the room downstairs). The following few days there were noisy drills and tools from workers repairing an air conditioning unit in the room next door and lawn mowers going so for us this place was far from relaxing. Disappointing really considering it was our honeymoon.

It appeared the staff were not very informed about some things. We asked one girl about massage other than the resort and she was very vague. Also, we asked a female staff member about seeing the long neck women and which was the best tribe to visit for silver tribal jewellery. We were told The Karen Tribe. So we hired a scooter and rode approximately 20kms out of town to find the minimal jewellery was cheap and awful.

The coffee at breakfast was so bitter you could hardly drink it.

On a good note, the staff were very polite and the pool looked nice, even though we didn't use it. The location was great too!

Room Tip: Not overlooking the courtyard if you want privacy and ask for a larger room than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late February/early March 2013 and had a wonderful time. As soon as you enter the Tamarind Village, you feel as though you've escaped the city and arrived in a tranquil oasis. The village is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and clean. We loved the pool area and the breakfast buffet was great. We didn't dine at the restaurant for other meals as we found some fantastic, cheaper restaurants (as well as street food) outside the resort. The location is great- there are a number of temples to visit within walking distance. One night we took a short tuk tuk ride to the night bazaar. Definitely try to stay here over a weekend so that you can go to the Sunday Night Market- it is literally right outside of the hotel and it is amazing. We didn't take advantage of the spa, as there were a number of other cheaper options right down the street. The hotel staff were very nice and accommodating- sometimes there was a slight language barrier, but that was understandable. The only issue we had was on our first night there was a dog barking quite loudly outside our room. The staff moved us to another room on the other side of the resort the next day. Overall we really enjoyed staying here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susansolomon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can't praise this gorgeous little gem of a hotel enough!! By far the most lovely place I have ever stayed. I was looking forward to staying there before I arrived based on previous reviews and photos and Tamarind Village managed to surpass even my expectations. Wonderful, friendly and polite staff, beautiful grounds and rustic-luxury decor in the rooms, convenient location and the most delicious breakfast selection I've ever had at a hotel. The sticky rice is a must-have and the sausages and bacon were delicious, as was the muesli. There was a really wide and delicious choice of juices and teas as well. The toiletries provided (jasmine body wash and lotion and ginger shampoo and conditioner) were of a good quality and smelled really nice, and I am fussy about my products! The shower was the most incredibly powerful shower I have experienced. Another nice touch that I really appreciated was the plentiful and free local fruit in our room every day, as they included rose apples, my absolute favourite :-). We were also given a voucher for a 10-minute welcome massage on arrival which was much appreciated - the decor of the spa was beautiful as well. The service was really excellent, e.g. staff spontaneously offering you insect repellent while having a drink by the pool in the evenings - I even really liked the bug spray they had as it was made from natural oils and seemed to work better than our toxic chemical deet. The staff also set out and lit candles all over the hotel every night which looks just stunning. They also do daily activities in the courtyard - I did the jamine flower garland making one afternoon and really enjoyed it. It's also worth mentioning that wifi is free across the hotel.

The hotel was only a short drive from the airport and right across the road is a little complex with a cafe, restaurants, a massage and beauty parlour etc. The hotel is also a good walking distance from a lot of attractions - we were lucky enough to be there on a Sunday when the walking street market takes place right on the door step, which is great fun to explore, and we had the cheapest most delicious food that night at the market. A tip I have is to visit Mundo Tours just round the corner from the hotel to help organise any tours or exursions you want. They also offer a killer sports massage! Kid our tour guide, together with our lovely hotel, both absolutely made our trip to Chiang Mai

Everything at Tamarind Village was perfect and I can't begin to understand the small handful of people who had anything but positive comments to make on this hotel - if you are visiting Chiang Mai this is a no-brainer. Stay there! You will not be disappointed.

I did notice another reviewer mention that they were unhappy with the help they were given with their airline online check in at reception - it could be that these comments have already been taken on board as when we asked for help with our online check in and they were very helpful and did it for us on their own computers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 on our first trip to Thailand, after a couple days in Bangkok. This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Walking distance to everything. The hotel is walled off and feels like you are escaping from the city around you, even though you are only a few steps away. The rooms are small and the swinging doors into the bathroom don't provide much in the way of privacy. The pool area is beautiful.

The breakfast buffet was lovely, served in the restaurant poolside. It offered a nice variety of choices and the staff was very accomodating and helpful.

We love to walk, so this was a perfect location. There were lots of massage options and restaurants nearby. It was a bit of a walk to the night market, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $150 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing