We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in Old City Center”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #14 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in Old City Center”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Tamarind Village is a restful property in the center of bustling Chiang Mail. The service, grounds, accommodations, spa, food and atmosphere are excellent. An ancient tamarind tree grows in the center of the property and attractive two story buildings surround it.

A beautiful dark tile pool is somewhat awkwardly located between the reception area and restaurant but this is a minor detail.

A gift shop sells high-end local art, jewelry and other souvenirs.

The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. Wifi is reliable and fast, however TV stations are limited. Room service is available.

A good selection of spa treatments are available, even on short notice. The spa staff are professional and accommodating. It should be noted that while the spa staff are taught to inquire as to the guest's comfort related to room temperature and music volume, they may not actually understand the guest's response. When I responded to the masseuse that there wasn't any music playing she looked blankly at me for several minutes until I mimed the situation to her and she understood, hurrying out of the room to turn on the music. While this was a non-issue for me, it could be difficult if a guest had medical issues relevant to massage that needed clear understanding.

I recommend Tamarind Village and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite is spacious with a lovely terrace. Large indoor soaking tub and private outdoor shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    361
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
296
839
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed the perfect location, charming setting and super-polite and friendly staff! would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone!
breakfast also very good and nice pool to refresh after a busy day.
in front of the hotel there are several eating possibilities or a tuk tuk will take you in 5 minutes to the daily night-market, which we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcobaleno1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I haven't stayed at the Tamarind, as I live in Chiang Mai; but i have eaten at the restaurant on a number of occasions. At dinner there last night with my wife and friend, I decided that I must write a little something for them.

The kitchen is a mix of traditional Thai cuisine and 'their own take' of certain dishes. This make some of the dishes very interesting and unique. My wife arrange a surprise birthday party their for me at the end of last year, it was a pre-selected set-menu and everyone was very impressed.

The staff are very polite and professional, the setting is beautiful and the ambiance is perfect. Being a resident of Chiang Mai I can comment on its location as a hotel and I must agree with other reviews that it is very well located indeed.

I recommend thee 'Fried Tom Yum Goong" (Pan friend Tom Yum Prawns) house special and the 'Bamee Goong Deung' (Prawn Curry with egg noodles).

Well done Tamarind

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilmarlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Loved the location, staff were friendly, buffet average. We were not able to take advantage of free 15 minute welcome massage. Swinging doors separate the sleeping area from the bathroom. My husband and I found the need to say 'clear' each time we approached these doors - similar to a restaurant kitchen door - but without the benefit of a window. There was no way to keep the door ajar. Lovely gift shop. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamariscottaLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very great find as within the old city, but secluded and beautifully designed rooms and gardens. Breakfast is lovely and there is a very wide range of food on offer for other meals. Staff are wonderful. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maclaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Tamarind Village was so wonderful. My boyfriend and I went on a Thai excursion which lead us to this hotel. Being from the states we were staying in American hotels for convenience but I must say that this hotel was FABULOUS! It is definitely in the center of town and close to everything. The charm of the hotel is one that is undescribable..from the staff to the rooms, to the absolutely amazing restaurant and pool we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. At first we were up to stay at the Le Meriden but this definitely was a much better choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alondeia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

If your budget can afford a small splurge, look no further than this stunning oasis in the heart of town. The food was also sensational and the ambience unparalleled. We stayed for four nights after a more cost-conscious trip through northern Thailand and Burma so required some luxury, calm and pampering. And we got that in spades.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPicture53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing