We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish we had in Chiang Mai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lert Ros

Lert Ros
Ranked #36 of 2,025 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best fish we had in Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

There was only us when we arrived on Tuesday for late lunch. The place wasn't too hard to find. We ordered a large grilled fish, 2 salad, a grilled beef and a grilled pork wrapped in banana leaves. The fish was so nice that we ordered a second one. Other than the annoying flies the lunch was awesome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    116
    31
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went in search of Lert Ros, due to all the TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed!!
The Red Tilapia was excellent and probably one of the best cooked fish we've ever had! Nothing, even the fancy resorts in Phuket we went to aftwards could come close to it.
We also had the garlic pickled pork as a starter, which was really good! It tasted a lot like garlic salami if you have to compare it to something.
It is extremely affordable!!
Make sure you look at one of the images on this site that gives clear directions to the shop. It's much easier than trying to find it on Google Maps.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we approached the restaurant the gentleman cooking the fish out front gave us a warm Thai welcome. We had the papaya salad, grilled fish and beef. All were amazing in flavour!

Most wait staff had pretty good English ability.

This is not a pretty restaurant, but if you want a very tasty feed while in Chiang Mai, this place is highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Located in old town and it opposite at VIENG MANTRA hotel! Not difficult to find! The grilled fish is good! They have 3 sizes to choose!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thailandfanscandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preyanuch , เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Lert Ros, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again
Welcome :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner @ Lert Ros”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews from here, i went hunting for this place on foot from Service Apartment that i have stayed around Tha Pae Soi 3. Not very far from where i stayed. The place is not well furnish n looks rather rundown. But the service was fast n friendly. The grilled Tilapia is nice. Rather moist n didnt have the weird smell or taste like the usual fresh water fishes. As for the grilled pork, it is not the type of nicely grilled n charred BBQ style that we expected. Its more of a lightly grill n cook type. Goods well with their chilli (not the super hot chilli though)

Helpful?
1 Thank Dez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preyanuch , เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Lert Ros, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for you review.
We hope to se you agin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lert Ros also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Lert Ros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing