We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality steak and burgers”
Review of The White Plate Cafe - CLOSED

The White Plate Cafe
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: - Opening hours: Tue - Sun 1pm-7pm - Please check our facebook page to find opening hour updates - Gourmet burgers designed by a chef from New Zealand - Indoor & Outdoor seatings - Please call us to get directions to the restaurant
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality steak and burgers”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I was told about this place by a couple of expats in CM and that the owner was from New Zealand

Being a kiwi myself I hoped that I could get a burger with beetroot in it (something we do back home). What an amazing burger!!

The owner makes sure you get quality meat and bun, and makes all the sauces that complete this himself. His wife speaks English and it is a great place to visit and has to be the best burger I have had in Chiang Mai to date

A little off the beaten track but easily accessible.

Helpful?
Thank AndrewDobson293917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A "Gem" of a Cafe in JJ Market”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had lunch with a friend and we shared the hamburger and steak sandwich. Both were outstanding. Steak some of the best I have eaten in Chiang Mai! The "old fashion" home made French fries were a treat (don't expect the fast food style of fries). The owners were very attentive and really made you feel welcome. Will go back again and again....... Another plus is "JJ" Market's large parking lot.

Open daily, 11.30 a.m. _ 8 p.m.
JJ Market, 45 Atsadathorn Road

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krabbyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service! Quality food on the menu from top to bottom”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

One of the best new restaurants in Chiang Mai. The design, atmosphere, service, friendly staff and of course the food, everything is top notch. There's a noticeable attention to detail and quality in everything they do and it shows in their food.

The burgers are a real nice treat as it's hard to find a decent burger in chiang mai. They have a great variety in the burgers they serve and everyone is going to be able to find something they like. Even the side dishes are prepared very well. Their french fries are some, if not the best in the city and the pumpkin mash that comes with the steak and chicken is a very interesting and tasty surprise.

can't say enough about this place, if you don't mange to stop by here while you are in chiang mai you are missing out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“We were blown away!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

WOW, one of the best burgers I ever eaten. The location is a little bit hidden, but the search was it worth! I read the comments on TripAdvisor and we were not dissapointed at all. Quality food was perfect and the cappuchino (illy) was also from high quality. If you are in Chiang Mai you have to visit this!!

Helpful?
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best beef burgers in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A visit to Kamthieng Plant Market, just before noon, offered the perfect opportunity to seek out White Plate and try the pure NZ beef burgers we've heard so much about.

Despite numerous visits to TescoLotus shopping centre and KPM we never noticed JJ Market opposite the western road exit - it has to be the most innocuous shopping precinct ever built.

White Plate did not disappoint. Fabulous beef burgers par none! @150bt the mango burger was excellent value - pure beef with fresh salad ingredients and a nice sauce, lightly spiced .. not overpowering. No extra sauce or seasoning required. The bun was fresh light bread with sesame atop a medium crust .... perfection baking.

Tip: Visitors to Chiang Mai hankering after a quality snack or meal might start with an early visit to the plant market across the road and 50m east. Duck across the road to White Plate and later pay a visit to Central Festival Mall (new), just a 5 minute tuk tuk ride across the busy Super Highway to the north.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaptainrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Plate Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing