We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy + Cheap!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr KAI Restaurant

Mr KAI Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 2,044 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Yummy + Cheap!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The first time I came here was November 2013. My friend and I passed by on our way to Wat Phra Singh and noticed how busy it was. We ate a feast and it was only about 300 THB.
This time, I came to Chiang Mai with my boyfriend and knew I had to come back. Thankfully it wasn't too busy as it was around 4PM. We both loved the meal. Got the spicy vermicelli, tom yum soup, and stir fried morning glory and everything was bursting with flavours and so delicious. Food is cheap, portions are perfect. We also got a coconut and papaya shake, all for a little over 200 THB. After the meal, you get a free small banana to eat. :)

Helpful?
Thank HungryLilTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    171
    38
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I felt obliged to write this review after sampling some of the best food I've ever tasted anywhere in Thailand.Firstly getting a seat at Mr Kai's is no easy task as it's always busy!!!Secondly his smoothies area bsolutely delicious which he makes in front of you at his outside juice bar.

I stayed in Chiang Mai for 10 days and every day had at least one meal here.I tried everything from Papaya salad to curries and found every meal to be a delight and some of the cheapest meals I've experienced in Thailand.An absolute gem of a find and I can't wait to revisit Mr Kai's later this year for a gastro feast and a cold Singha.

Kia Kaha Mark(NZ)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I could not get a table.... constantly busy and full... a great sign.
Eventually was asked if i would like to join a table of fellow brits and glad i did. Nice meal with nice peole and exchanging travelling stories was a nice way to spend an hour.
Service was good... food excellant and prices even better.
Fruit shakes and smoothies went down well.

Went back the next day and enjoyed lunch. My turn to offer a place at the table to a chinese family. Again pleasant conversation and great food.

Nice atmospere in central Chiang mai. Recommended for budget travellers but also for good local food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A favourite of ours in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We found this just walking about and were attracted by the location and variety of guests - both local and tourist.
It served excellent tai food and juices, had a nice busy atmosphere and wasn't too intimidating. We ended up going about 3 times and it maintained it's standards. You can watch the food being prepared or sit and watch the street bustle go by. An excellent example of simple things done well. Well recommended and worth a wait - sometimes there's a small queue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LankySiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and amazing juices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Mr Kai and his staff were so friendly and nice, the food was fresh and delicious. Service was great, portions a good size and the food cheap. The best part were the fresh juices Mr. Kai would wizz up in the blender.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StefOred007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr KAI Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Mr KAI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing