We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, quick and tasty!”
Review of Mr KAI Restaurant

Mr KAI Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 2,072 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, quick and tasty!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had our cheapest meal in Thailand here.....two main meals and two drinks for about a fiver! The dishes weren't huge but the portion was good and the food tasty fresh and flavoursome. The service was great, lots of smiles and checking we were happy. I probably wouldn't go to Mr KAI's for an evening meal as it's plastic chairs, quite cramped etc but I would definitely recommend you go for lunch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jade664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    176
    43
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First and last time”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was there only because of the write up on TA, but very disappointing. Waiter takes order, but fails to deliver, asking three times to get at least the water we ordered and the food was just average, one can find better in other establishments, but for the price ok, good for backpackers. The whole restaurant is nothing but a tin shed with Mosquitoes galore, I dont know how anyone can sit in there during the day, one would be cooked alive. I was there mid August were the weather is reasonable cool, never again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RBS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good and easy Thai!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Licated on the main road, it is a Good Thai restaurant, easy for tourists with pictures and food description. The owner is a very nice and kind man. Recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food is tasty and inexpensive, like much of the street food in Chiang Mai. As you can read between the lines of some of the negative reviews don't go in expecting fine service and table linens. This is classic Thai street food. I particularly enjoyed the spicy seafood dish which was like a Thai ceviche -- amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zuttoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For BACKPACKERS ONLY”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I don't know how this place got such a good rating! Went for dinner after reading the reviews on TA, with couple of friends and we were all disappointed. It's a hangout for backpackers, food nothing special, except that its cheap. We had to keep asking for food we had ordered that never arrived and not just once but 3 times, while fighting with mosquitoes to stay off our food!! Won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisterwriters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr KAI Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Mr KAI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing