We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty!”

Black Elephant Garden Bistro
Ranked #507 of 2,056 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The garden area out the back is lovely, although a few too many Mosquitos to sit out there in the evening. Food was delicious, especially the different curries we tried. The banana samosas were good too. Well priced, friendly staff an the beer was nice and cold.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    28
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Exellent place to eat”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ate here a couple of time and were never disappointed.
Service was friendly, prompt and polite
Unisex toilets were clean.
Tranquil atmosphere was perfect, as one could see that some thought had been put into to the lay out for what room they had, quite a lovely setting.

Food was really great, all four of us enjoyed our meals here, though you must make sure you tell them how spicy you want your meals!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprised how good the food was”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I popped in here for a quick bite to eat before the night market. I ordered vegetable spring rolls and a chicken and cashew nut dish in sauce. I was quite surprised at how good they were. The spring rolls were really fresh and crispy and the chicken dish was perfect. I say surprised as I have had a few meals down Thapae Road which have been not been good and I was expecting the Black Elephant Bistro to be the same. Luckily it wasn't and I was very impressed with my dinner and would definitely come here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo_From_Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place...good vegetarian selections. I'd rate it higher but the tranquil atmosphere was often interrupted by very loud staff yellung to each other close to excellent but not quite.

Helpful?
Thank JimboNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice setting and excellent food”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The garden setting is very nice and the food is excellent. We all 4 had the Masseman Curry on recommendation from the owner who is a very friendly Canadian and it it turned out to be one of the best meals we had so far on this trip. The serving staff is not great but that did not take anything away from a very enjoyable meal at a very reasonable price. Will definitely go back there to try the Penang Curry and the coffee (coffee machine not working when we were there).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Elephant Garden Bistro also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Black Elephant Garden Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing