We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and modern but noisy hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roseate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roseate Hotel
Ranked #65 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and modern but noisy hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and after the first night we had to ask for another room as there was a lot of car noise coming from the street at all times, even during the night. We were in room 302, no windows by the way, which was kind of strange, but light was ok and we were there to (try to) sleep.

Then we got another room, 114, at the ground floor but in the contiguous building, away from the main road, it was near the restaurant and the kitchen, so there was still some noise but not at all hours. The problem in both cases is that in the bathroom, instead of windows, they have an open window with a kind of grating that enables the noise enter freely. In this second room we hear the staff throwing out the garbage as the exit of the kitchen should be near...

So, appart from this, breakfast was ok, nothing special, and rooms were clean and modern. The mattress was soft and comfy and the size of the bed was very big.
Nice touch is that you were given 2 bottles of watter for free every day.

All in all, I'd rather look for another hotel, not facing the main road if possible as you can get everywhere by taxi for a few baths.

Room Tip: If possible don't get a room in the building facing the main road as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISABEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    136
    58
    16
    6
See reviews for
32
119
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

the tripple room we booked was supposed to have view and separated sitting and resting area as described on booking.com, but the real room we got has no windows not even talk about the view! no seprated resting area of course. the room is on fourth floor but no elevator to the forth floor.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuangk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the first half of our Chiang Mai holiday. We were very impressed with the standard of the hotel given that we got it at quite a discounted rate. The rooms were clean and neat with modern amenities and located within the Old City. Close enough to walk to restaurants and temples within the Old City but staying just on the outer so you're not in the hustle and bustle of the Main Street. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the lovely lady at the tour desk. The only downside to the room was it had a window with outside balcony however there was no door to allow outside access. The bed was extremely comfy, one of the best sleeps I've had in Thailand. Breakfast was included daily with quite a lot of variety however I would recommend arriving earlier rather than later to assure your food is hot. Overall we were very happy with Roseate and would definitely recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a room here for 3 nights. Hotel is very modern and appears like it is brand new or has just been completely redecorated. You felt you were staying somewhere a bit special, although the room rates were very reasonable at around £30 per night. Staff were very welcoming, there is a desk in the lobby where you can book trips, and a seating area outside the front of the hotel where you can have a drink and watch the world go by. My room was spacious and clean, nice big walk in shower and extremely comfortable soft bed - a real bonus as many hotels in Thailand have very hard beds. My room didn't have any windows which was a bit odd at first, but the lighting was quite good and I soon got used to it. Would have preferred some natural light though. Breakfast was ok but not brilliant. We found a lovely restaurant about 10 minute walk away called The Glasshouse. The menu was excellent and included quite a few "western" choices which pleased me! Back to the Roseate, would highly recommend this place for a comfortable and reasonably priced stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good quality hotel with very friendly staff. New hotel (beginning 2013) and therefore good and nicely decorated bedrooms. Bathroom also very nice and luxurious. The beds are soft, which we found is a rarity in Thailand and we loved it. Internet is OK but don't expect to stream movies. Breakfast is very good. Free parking space at hotel. Roseate is situated right at the side of old town and many nice things can be reached by foot.

We loved our 3 night stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice clean well presented hotel in a convenient location for an excellent price. Large spacious rooms with extremely comfortable beds - would say that this was the best mattress I have ever had in a hotel - and a good size flat screen television. Restaurant was not up to much - there are far better places to go for excellent food at really cheap prices in the old town. Try one of the small local eateries in the old town which serve fabulous food at really cheap prices. Breakfast was average - one criticism was that the breakfast is a buffet and it took too long to refill certain stations particularly when busy. I was surprised by this as there were enough staff on duty. The hotel was situated in a quiet area convenient to get tuk tuks to the old town. I would definitely stay again purely for the rooms which were very good indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week, and it was in a good location, convenient for flagging down tuk-tuks and the larger red bus type, and taxis. You are on the edge of the old city, so everything there is easy to walk to. Our room was clean, with comfortable beds, the bathroom was fine (the shower wasn't powerful but otherwise worked fine). We had breakfast at the hotel, which is ok, Thai food and some cereals, toast, French toast and pancakes, although we did skip it one morning in favour of one of the lovely cafes in the old city. We didn't eat there in the evening - there is no need when there are so many fantastic little places in the old city, not to mention the food markets where you can pick up amazing food for very little money. Wi-fi was slow at first but seemed to improve later in the week. I would definitely stay there again for the cleanliness, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and convenient location.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking a football practice court, my sister had one overlooking a pretty garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#41 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#45 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#72 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#111 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseate Hotel

Property: Roseate Hotel
Address: 24/1, 88 Sriphum Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roseate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing