We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but hostile cleaning staff.”
Review of The Xym Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Xym Hotel
Ranked #497 of 969 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Xym is a new boutique style hotel with nicely presented clean and modern rooms and tastefully designed lobby and common spaces. Location is good if you want to be near airport plaza but quite far from the central moat. You will need to get a tuk tuk to get to the moat. Sound isolation between rooms is not great and noise coming from neighbouring bathrooms is so easily audibly it sounds like it comes from your own bathroom.

Front desk staff were pleasant and friendly, unfortunately the same could not be said of the cleaning staff. The two senior maids in particular are clearly hostile to foreigners. Their nasty attitude really brought down the tone and made what would have been a nice stay far less pleasant. Minus 3 stars for the two senior maids.

The "bank service fee" charged for the monthly booking rates is a questionable charge and feels like a rip off.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gee_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having booked in advance, we tried to cancel within their cancellation terms but were told that we could not get any money back. Among the many different reasons given was that their cancellation policy on their websirte was not their responsibility and was written some time ago. When we pointed out the their published policy they became agressive and rude. We had already been made to pay in full in advance. Like others i would question thier ethics.

For the few nights we did stay, the car park was very small and we often had to park on the road, the pool is much smaller than it apears in their pictures and the shower pressure was wery low. Otherwise the room is is OK, but there are other places in chiang Mai that offer much better service and are closer to the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank M a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a booking for this apartment for several weeks. Because of bad luck, I missed my early bus from Bangkok to Chiang Mai, thus for I couldn't make it in time for the loosely agreed Check-in date. The next morning I was at the Reception 2 hours before they opened, and got told that they already gave the room away, assuming I wouldn't come anyway. They never tried to contact me about this, and beforehand also never let me know that this could happen.
Also, if they really waited the whole day for my arrival, as they proclaimed, how come the room was gone even before the reception opened?
So, there I stood, all of a sudden homeless and stranded in Chiang Mai, confronted with the situation that I had to find a 2-months-apartment on the spot and very last minute! During high season! Did they offer any help? No! All they did was blaming me for coming late and not calling them! Okay, maybe I should have called them, but a booking is a booking, and of course I would have paid the extra day I came late. For them it was easy of course, other tenants would come, or better yet, already were in the room. But to me it's obvious they don't care one bit about the individual customer.
I'm quite positive that their facilities and rooms are good, that's why I wanted to stay there originally. But I never had to face a situation like this, simply because of greed and a lack of communication.
Anyway, as a suggestion to the manager, should he read this: take booking-deposits from your customers, that way everybody can feel a bit more secure about the confirmation of the booking, and you don't have to give rooms away on a simple assumption!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Der_Schorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at The Xym before starting Thai Massage training at The Old Medicine Hospital Thai Massage School Shivagakomarpaj which is just around the corner. Room rates are great and competitive for what you get. Rooms are very clean and modern, I stayed in a Studio complete with flat screen tv, refrigerator, and microwave.

Quick and easy tuk-tuk or red truck taxi to the center of the old walled city of Chiang Mai. Their rates for longer stays 1 week to 1 month are very good. Will definitely stay here again when visiting Chiang Mai and taking courses at the Thai Massage School Shivagakomarpaj.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kameii_Tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: เหมาะกับพัก เพื่อต่อสนามบิน หรือจะเดินทางออกนอกเมือง หรือ พักระหว่างทำงานนอกตัวเมืองเชียงใหม่ เช่น...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ntawnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rinb1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#385 of 825 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Xym Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Xym Hotel

Address: 222/1 Wualai Rd., Haiya | Opposite to Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 969 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $25 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Xym Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Xym Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing