We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”
Review of Rustic Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rustic Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

we stayed in this amazing guest house for 6 days in Feb as part of our 6 week trip to Thailand and Cambodia. I have to say of all the places we stayed on our travels, Rustic was by far the best!
The room we had was clean and extremely comfortable with a lovely balcony. The only slight criticism was that the bathroom was quite small but nonetheless adequate.
What makes the Rustic so special is the amazing staff, from Nick the owner to Nan, Noc and the other lovely girl at reception. Their welcome was so genuine and sincere, they could not do enough to help us, from advising on restaurants to arranging trips for us. They made us feel like we were staying at a home from home. They were all extremely concerned that we were having a good time and always enquired on where we had been and what we had done. so kind and caring, we will never forget it.
Breakfast was superb, great choice and quality. The kitchen was at our disposal all the time to make complimentary coffee/tea and enjoy their lovely cookies! a fridge is available to keep our cold drinks, fruit etc. such a bonus.
The location is just perfect, right in the centre of Warroot Market and a short walk or tuc tuc to the city centre. lots of lovely shops, food and fruit stalls close to the guest house.
Chiang Mai is a wonderful city with so much to do and was the highlight of our trip.
we will certainly return to Chiang Mai and especially to the Rustic.
Thank you all for making our visit so special, see you again.

Room Tip: choose a balcony room at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Out of all the places we stayed on out journey, Rustic Guest house easily the friendliest and cleanest. Nick and his staff took really good care of everything we needed and made out trip to Chiang Mai absolutely amazing. If ur going to stay in the city, Rustic is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed at the rustic house with my wife while in chiang mai.... Amazing location close to everything. Rustic is very clean, well designed and bug free. Staff was amazing and friendly, threw a great party for their guests (happy anniversary!!!). Was lots of fun. Highly recommend it to all!!

Dario

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This guesthouse is absolutely wonderful. Location is great, near the Warorot market - a little side road off of the main road but within walking distance of everything you’d like to do. It’s not overly big so you get a very comfortable and welcoming feeling, as well as a lot of attentive service. The guesthouse and rooms are very clean and modern, with free bottles of water as you need them. They offer a homemade breakfast each morning (free of charge!), you can choose between a western style breakfast or a traditional Thai breakfast. We went with the traditional thai breakfast each morning…it was so good and we never got tired of it!

Like other people have mentioned here, the staff is just lovely. All the girls at reception are so sweet and would do anything they can to help you. On our third day we realized we lost our camera so we asked reception if they could call the café we were at the night before. She did everything she could to help us and spoke to their staff, and luckily enough for us the camera turned up! I don’t think we would have gotten it back if it wasn’t for her help. And Nick, the owner, is probably the nicest person we have come across during our time in Thailand. Anytime we were leaving he would ask where we were going, give suggestions on restaurants and sights or routes to take, help us get a tuk-tuk, and tell us how much a tuk-tuk back should be (so we wouldn’t get ripped off). He is a young guy, and his attention to detail and commitment to the customer is fantastic. Better than most hotels.

All in all, I fully recommend the Rustic Guesthouse and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaM77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is really a very good hostel. Nick is a perfect host, the girls do their work as a host also perfect.
The room was very clean, the bed was good.
I can advise everyone to stay here!
Thanks door the good service.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank 3811pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good and super friendly staff (all) and owner. Great interior design with Lanna style. Located near Old City and near to night bazaar.

Breakfast is nice and coffee, cookies and fruits are free at any hour. Their services is surely above expectation.

Day tour package and car rental services can be get here with good price.
Maps are FOC as well.
Staff will guide you places to visit by using maps and Google map as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I would definately recommend to anyone staying in Chiang Mai.

VERY friendly and helpful staff. Told me a lot about the city and what you can do and how to get there while I was waiting for me room. Supported with motorbike rent and small tips on some nice place away from traditional tourist routes.

I stayed for 2 nights and felt as I was visiting my old friends. Rooms are nice and clean, bed is very comfortable. Traveled alone so stayed in one of smaler rooms, that still was big enough for 2.

Someone may say it's far from center, but it's quite at night, you have old market with great thai food choices during the day and you can easily walk to the center in 10 minutes while enjoying Chiang Mai.

Thank you!!! When I come back to your beautiful city, I stay only with you!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

thank you for stay with us and hope you have a lovely time in Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 395 in Chiang Mai
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 972 in Chiang Mai
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#8 of 972 in Chiang Mai
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 826 in Chiang Mai
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arch39 Art & Craft Hotel
Arch39 Art & Craft Hotel
#14 of 972 in Chiang Mai
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Guesthouse

Address: 2/15 Ratchawong Road | Chang Moi Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 972 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $20 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rustic Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic guest house is a small guest house with 8 bedrooms. The guest house is renovated from traditional Thai shop house to contemporary Thai Lanna architecture home. Each bedroom is decorated with various retro style furnitures and wooden furnishing. The Guest house is located in Kad Luang market which the well known market among the local Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rustic Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing