We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff!”
Review of Rustic Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rustic Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

As other reviewers have already pointed out, the best thing about the Rustic are the staff - Nick the owner and the manager Tak are happy, informative and make great hosts.

We arrived very early in the morning, and hardly had to wait before Nick pulled up on a scooter and let us in. Luckily another couple were leaving that morning - they were kind enough to quickly tidy the room and allow us an early check in. We were also given a map, and a whole lot of options for things to do and places to eat that evening.

The location of the hotel is fantastic - it's on a quiet one-way alley, which opens out onto colourful warorot market, which runs from early morning through to late night. It's only a 10min, straight forward walk to Old City.
Be aware though that as the guesthouse is still young, many taxi drivers don't know the location. The alley way can also get blocked up (if a truck is unloading goods) which can prevent other vehicles getting up the street.

The rooms themselves are small, simple and charming, and the beds comfortable. There is an in-room safe, and a TV on the wall with a small selection of english and international channels.

The breakfasts were fantastic - the best any accommodation provided on our entire trip. The selection is fairly small, (with limited western options, if that's your style) but the food is wholesome and filling, and doesn't cut corners on flavour. There's complimentary tea, coffee and cookies in the small eating area.

Wifi was strong and consistent.

There's only two things that prevent this guesthouse getting five stars - the really unpleasant smell in the bathroom. Given that other guests have been writing about the same problem, it was obviously a plumbing issue that they were having at the time. We were on the top floor, and it was very noticeable and, given the nature of the bathroom doors, unable to block out of the bedroom area.

The second was that it was hard (in our room, I can't speak for others) to stop the aircon blowing directly onto the bed (and your face) at night. Even at different angles, the airflow is very strong, and dries out the room quickly. Just unpleasant for us, but also something to be aware of for asthmatic guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
thank you for feedback. we are solve the sewage problem. and for the air condition, there is a button for no swing the fan on the remote control. Nice to have you here at rustic and see you again next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    62
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
126
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a little guesthouse with a lot of charm. Its design is refined with a lovely rustic style. However, its biggest asset is without a doubt the staff that is always welcoming and helpful. If you need any advice on sightseeing, tours or restaurant, don’t hesitate to ask. In fact, you don’t even need to ask as they usually explain before even asking. And the ladies were so sweet !

It is located in a strange commercial alley, but its location is convenient. It is very close to the Warorot day market, not so far from the night market, and at an acceptable walking distance from the old city. Considering that Chiang Mai is relatively large and not really a pedestrian city, it would be difficult to find “the” perfect location.

The room is spacious and tastefully decorated with rustic furniture. I would personally add a cloth hanger on the wall for convenience. Everything was spotless clean except the bathroom that was (only) clean. The bathroom is small and overweight people would definitely have some difficulty in the shower. There was a strong unpleasant drain smell in the bathroom during our entire stay.

Included breakfast was not at my taste, but it is a matter of personal preferences. Anyway, it is a nice touch to offer breakfast and there are plenty of food kiosks at the Warorot market just few steps away.

Remember that this is a guesthouse … surely a very nice one, but still a budget accommodation. If you are looking for an impersonal full service hotel, please select another type of accommodation as there are plenty in the city. If you are ready to sacrifice a little bit of comfort to meet genuine nice people, go ahead without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
hi kevin

thank you for your response, it is nice to have you here at Rustic. we are now solving the sewage problem . hope you are back home safe and see you again next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here back in August (sorry for the late review!). We had a fantastic time in Chiang Mai and loved our stay in Rustic. The staff made us feel so welcome and helped us plan a lot of our adventures. A special shout out to Tak who was the loveliest hostess we met in all our travels in Asia! She helped us organise moped hire, foot massages and day trips in and around Chiang Mai. She also recommended a fantastic noodle restaurant where we had delicious Kao Soi noodles, definitely ask for the address! Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable and breakfast was great! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nick and his staff at the Rustic Guesthouse made our stay in Chiang Mai a memorable one by providing excellent service and helping us to plan our stay.

The rooms were clean, large and comfortable; and the breakfast was delicious.

I would definitely stay there again if I return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The room I lived in there named Buppa which means flower. The room is big and clean and lightful with rustic style furniture, everything is perfect. I love the room so much. The owner and staff there is very nice and helpful. The location of the GH is also good, next to the Warorot market and 7-8min to Tape gate by walking. Next time I go to ChiangMai will choose Rustic Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I chose this place because I could walk almost anywhere from it. If I'd choose again, I'd stay inside the moat at a cheaper place, though. The staff helped me figure out my excursions (cooking class, elephant camp). It was worth it for that reason. Also had a great omelette for breakfast. Only huge complaint is that there was a consistently bad smell coming from the pipes in my bathroom. Otherwise the decor was nice. Shower was a bit cramped too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daestrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
this is nick from Rustic . Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimini
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived in this "rustic" guesthouse plenty of expectations due to the very positive reviews in tripadvisor and we left with the bitter feeling that this guesthouse is definetely overrated.
The staff is really nice and they do their best to make you feel at home, but when we had our small room at the top floor, we already understood that it wouldn't have been a nice staying.
It was a bit dirty,some hair around, smelly bathroom and when we asked for explanations they assured that they would have cleaned it even better in the afternoon.
The result was that cleaning lady was somehow offended and irritated; the same lady served us the breakfast (very very poor one) the day after without any smile and without any single word.
The most annoying thing is the very disturbing noise that come from the set of air conditioner machines that are just outside the room and that activate and disactivate very frequently and create a noise impossible to stand.
I believe that a normal structure shouldn't rent such a room so please be careful and avoid the top floor rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mytheprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
sorry for disappoint you in your stay at Rustic. we will improve our service. Hope you enjoy your time in Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Guesthouse

Property: Rustic Guesthouse
Address: 2/15 Ratchawong Road | Chang Moi Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 826 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rustic Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic guest house is a small guest house with 8 bedrooms. The guest house is renovated from traditional Thai shop house to contemporary Thai Lanna architecture home. Each bedroom is decorated with various retro style furnitures and wooden furnishing. The Guest house is located in Kad Luang market which the well known market among the local Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rustic Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing