We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love, love the interior”
Review of Thamel Coffee

Thamel Coffee
Ranked #286 of 2,700 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 10, 2017

a little bit tricky how to find this place,
and the stairs upstairs is inside a chaotic shop with tons of stuffs.
but when you are up, the atmosphere and decoration is so eye catching, with nepali - thai style with bright colours, mix match patterns, embroidery, painting, beautiful glass lamps.

the price a little bit expensive, but the drinks is good.
perfect just to chill down after busying around the warorot market. too bad they close so soon,
but the worst thing is they dont have toilet in the house, so you have to visit the other's branch of the downstair shop and go there

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denimBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 94 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

Very cool coffee shop above a great clothing store in China town, Chiang Mai
Relaxed, intimate setting.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank davehE9883FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

This was such a fun place to find. My partner said it was like platform 9 3/4 from Harry Potter. Invisible to most. The only way in is to go into the bowels of an overflowing clothes and trinket shop and to keep your eyes peeled for a tiny staircase going up. You emerge into a colorful Nepalese influenced space that feels like Aladdin’s cave. By then I was so enchanted I wouldn’t have even minded if the coffee was average but it was good, strong, quality expresso coffee. Loved it so much, we went back the next day. Didn’t eat there, but menu looked good.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank UrsulaB582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Located one floor up - Nepalese watering hole - coconut lime lassi so refreshing! Great place to hang out & take a break.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank JayTee369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

After trundling around Waroros and the Hmong market all morning, my husband and I headed into Thamel Coffee. For me, it was like stepping into a treasure trove. Rajasthani mirrored fabric, a gorgeous mural covering an entire wall of the cafe, numerous Buddha and Ganesha statues and paintings adorn the place and give you plenty to look at while waiting for your order. Service was slow but friendly, and we were in no rush. Food and drinks were good and we didn't feel rushed as we enjoyed our lunch. Be sure to have a look through the shop before or after your time at Thamel!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank piratecavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thamel Coffee also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thamel Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing