We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 1:30 PM, 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Review Highlights
Must do- Cultural immersion and Hospitality

This experience with Pailin was one we'll never forget! We were picked up at our hotel by our... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2022
Emily R
Such a fun & delicious experience!

What a fantastic experience in a beautiful setting! We loved our cooking class which was fun & easy... read more

Reviewed January 2, 2022
NYexplorer2000
via mobile
Read all 809 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from $37.90
More Info
from $25.11
More Info
from $44.37
More Info
from $27.90
More Info
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveler rating
794
13
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
794
13
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 809 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Thanks Bang Bang, Yam and team for your great cooking class.
The food we cooked was really nice and we learnt some new tricks. Hopefully we can replicate it when we get home.
The beautiful teak house and gardens is what mostly sets this experience apart from the others in Chiang Mai.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Kimberley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

I was in Chiang Mai for 2 weeks, took 5 cooking classes … three(3) from Pantawan Cooking…liked them the best. Here is why… The School…you are in a woody section in a facility build for cooking…very large overhead mirror, individual open air cooking stations…all in wood. When you get there you are given a cold drink and two ice cold towels…you know this is going to be first class. The class...the class is limited to 8 students…very big plus. Andy did the demo talking us through the process and answering all our questions in perfect English (good English very important) After the dish was done everyone was given a small plate to taste the dish…some schools do not do this. Then you went to your cooking station where everything was pre-cut and measured out and you started cooking under the watchful eye of your instructor who helped and made sure you followed the recipe. We always did four(4) recipes which we ate at the end of the class…yes they were all hot…great planning on the school…here is the killer…you could buy a cold beer to go with the meal…get Singha!! Other Notes…they will pick you up and will take you to a market and walk and talk you through it…great experience…super friendly people…super clean facility…great staff. You do not “pound” your own curry paste but everyone gets a turn on pounding on one community curry paste. One More… yes they are a bit more expensive…$5-$10 more but well worth it…
Written by “Klaus the Cook”

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank lv_klaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Everything was well organised and clean!  The cooking school overlooked really pretty gardens and all tansport was arranged, even to the market where the fresh ingredients were bought! We learnt how to cook a few authentic Thai dishes that I would definitely cook again at home and the class was small so you could ask questions and get all the help you needed. I would definitely do it again, if I was in Chiang Mai longer I would have taken another class!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Elina465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

After falling in love with Thai food, my boyfriend and I were extremely excited to learn how to cook the amazing food and this class did not disappoint. From start to finish, the staff were attentive, friendly yet professional. The trip to the market was a great perk to the class, as it gave you an insight into the ingredients we were going to use and we also got to try some typical Thai foods, my favourite being the Chiang Mai sausage. The class was brilliant and the staff were so helpful, cleaning up after every recipe and replacing the equipment. By the end of the class we had learnt how to cook 4 different things and they all tasted amazing!!! We surprised ourselves by cooking things we wouldn't normally choose in a restaurant and loved every single one. I would 100% recommend Pantawan Cooking School to anyone as they are really accommodating and produce excellent standard of Thai food. It is also set in a beautiful bungalow with a view of the gardens, this isn't necessarily important but it just added to the fantastic experience we had at Pantawan.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

We were picked up from our hotel on time in a nice van. Then we went on a tour of the fascinating food market were the guides were very helpful and informative. When we got to the school it was beautiful and our chef showed us how to make every dish. It was easy even for bad cooks as they clean up and prepare everything for you. It was great!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank clacket75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews