We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite place to stay”
Review of Tree Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tree Residence
Ranked #235 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“My new favorite place to stay”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Tree Residence. I found the location, service and value for the money to be great. The location is just a few minutes walk from the old city. The entrance to the old city has a market every morning and is filled with street food vendors at night. The employees were very helpful and even called and made arrangements for day trips for me as I don't speak Thai. I am returning to Chiang Mai next week and I already have plans to return to the guesthouse. The wifi worked well the entire time and my room was just as advertised- clean and comfortable. If you have a higher budget I saw some of the deluxe rooms and they are very nice also. I was in a basic room and was happy with everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlaguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a standard room at 450 bht/night. The room is clean and quite spacious for the price. It has well functioning air c and tv. Location is convenient. One downside to note: the hotel was very noisy in the afternoons and evenings, with groups of teenagers drinking and laughing in front of their rooms. There are indeed signs "be quiet" but they don't seem to respect them and the staff don't make sure these are respected either. Walls are thin. Staff is ok. Recommended for short stays and little time spent at the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean but walls are very thin so expect to hear everything what next room is up to, you can even understand words. I found many mosquitos in the room as well. Stuff is friendly but doesn't understand english very well. Nice garden.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sancs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here on few occasions in November and December. The double standard rooms were good size, clean, with good aircon, TV with English channels (the only other thing to mention about the TVs is they are mounted a bit too high for comfort) and two free bottles of water. Free coffee/ tea provided at the reception. Rooms were cleaned upon request. There was a little garden at the front where you could relax too. Wifi was good at most times, however experiencing slow patches consistently in the evenings.

The place was generally quiet, however they allowed motorbikes to park right outside the front rooms so it could get a bit noisy in the mornings when staff came in. It was also quite popular with Asian tourists who are not the most quiet of people.

The location is very good, quiet, 5 mins walk to Chiang Mai gate, right beside the Saturday walking street. There is a 7/11 around the corner and you can also take a sonthaew from the top of the road that will bring you to the Airport Plaza in less than 10 mins (20B).

Staff were very nice, little English spoken so not too useful with information but always smiling and happy to accommodate requests.

Good value for money (450B per nigh at the end of low season).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The room was very good and very clean. Nice staff and not far away from the middle of the town. Only Bad thing: in the bathroom smelled a little bit and the window looked to the floor. I can suggest it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank chagunih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

No soap, no toilet rolls, no coffee making facilities, lots of flies in the bathroom, no cleaning of rooms, no bed making, down a dingy rat ridden back street and the room smelt awful. Yes it's near the walking street night market, a bonus there. I rented three deluxe rooms for the family and to be frank, they were just about okay...ish. They aren't worth 750 baht a night, if we had been in Udon we would have moved the next day but we ended up here for three awful nights. I honestly don't understand how some people have given this place 5 stars, I can only assume either they don't travel much or they were back packing campers having a rare treat of a warm shower. In a word, AWFUL.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and the room was really nice and clen. Very good quality for price. We had a large bed, a nice shower and a refregirator. The only thing is that you may want to check the location before to book as we were a bit far from the night market (east of the city wall) where a lot of tourists restaurants etc... where located so we had to take a taki or tuc tuc everynight.
A part from that the Staff was lovely and really helpful, I would recommand this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelleJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Residence

Property: Tree Residence
Address: 10/1 Soi 1 Wua-lai Rd. T.Haiya A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tree Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing