We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tree Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tree Residence
Ranked #215 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Tree Residence for 3 nights and had a lovely experience. The place is quite new and the room was beautiful and clean. It was in a great location just outside the walls to the old city and in the perfect spot for the Saturday Walking Market. Mosquito's were everywhere and do find themselves in the rooms as they open to the outside so come prepared. There is also a lovely little cafe across the road called Sweets which have amazing coffee and frozen smoothies. Definitely worth stopping in on your way to breakfast or after a long day exploring. Staff were lovely although there was a some language difficulties. I'm sure this will improve as the place becomes more popular. Overall value for money was fabulous.

Also definitely recommend Chiang Mai Thai Farm Cooking School for an all day cooking class. The set up was very professional and the people were delightful. And the food was delicious!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jordan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 night and we absolutely loved it, the price is amazing value and it's much less than what rundown hotels charge in the old city. The room is spacious, very clean and thr bathroom is very nice. This hotel should definetly be 3 stars or more. The location is a little bit far from the action but we actually walked almost everyday to the night market and it wasn't that bad, if you're tired you can always hire a tuk tuk for 60-80 baht. Make sure you visit on a sunday because the sunday market is literally just outside the hotel with lots of food and shopping options. There's also a seven eleven just 200 meters from the hotel so you can buy your water and snacks from there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiadJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed for a week in this recently opened hotel and it could not have been more charming. Hidden in a quiet street with pretty rooms, mine came with aircondition and a nice comfy bed with a real duvet (not just a bed sheet and a blanket). The price was great.
The staff was just lovely, so kind and trying to assist in anything they could.
It's nex to the Saturday night market on Satudays so that's great, you can just walk out of your room literally into the quiet side street of the market. It never gets loud though.
It's near the South Gate, so the inner city is in walking distance, and if you are looking for breakfast there is always some cafe nearby.
Truly a wonderful stay for me - I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: if you like natural light ask them for a room that doesn't have a window into the 'open corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaLe798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night and everything was fine. Clean bathroom, hot shower, clean sheets, no bugs or anything. Very friendly people. Bars and restaurants only ten minutes walk away and a 7Eleven round the corner. Safe area, also at night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
#39 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#180 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Residence

Property: Tree Residence
Address: 10/1 Soi 1 Wua-lai Rd. T.Haiya A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tree Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing