We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Delights.....”

Yin Yang Food Corner
Ranked #1,032 of 2,072 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, International, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Open From:12.00pm -22.00pm(TUESDAY-SUNDAY) CLOSED ON MONDAYS."NO ADDED MSG" We prepare our food with passion to ensure customers could enjoy great taste. Note: We are a small set up & not a posh restaurant as see in our shop front image. :)
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Asian Delights.....”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

noting too fancy abt the set up as well as how the dishes are presented but the taste was superb.

was there on the 1st May 2013 and we ordered several dishes like salted egg prawns, vegetarian noodles, vegetables (for vegetarian), curry chicken, black pepper pork, tofu......

very friendly people and she even helped us with the vegetarian dishes cos one of my travelling companion is a vegetarian.

the curry chicken was FANTASTIC.... taste so much like those back at home though it looks slightly different..... it was reali spicy.

another dishes I would recommend is the black pepper pork, it was real good too.

not forgetting their HOME MADE chilli..... very much like home with a tinge of sweetness. And of course it is spicy.

U will nid more than one bowl of rice to go with these dishes and chilli.

Their home made ginger drink was great too.

Pay them a visit if u are craving for comfort food like those in Singapore and Malaysia.

Worth the visit........

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank groovy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place to eat”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Jason and his wife are a wonderful couple. Very friendly. Absolutely love the homemade ginger drink they have on the menu. I didn't know what to choose from the menu and Jason recommended the house special - pork noodles - which was lovely.

Definitely recommend the Food Corner - it is a little haven where English is spoken and the people are interested in you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“'Ying Yang Food Corner' a little corner of food heaven.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

'Ying Yang Food Corner' is a little corner of food heaven. Having stayed in Chiang Mai for about a month the choice of Thai and Asian cuisine can become a little overwhelming. What is harder still is to ensure your food is not laden with harmful chemicals such as MSG and other addictive colorants - especially if there is a language barrier.

Ying yang is located near Canal rd on a little neighbourhood backstreet near the Ibis hotel. And though not much to look at initially, you are immediately greeted with a warm smile, a friendly face, someone who can speak English and will happily offer advice about local attractions and tourism events. But, the highlight has to be the food. Slow cooked pork broth is complimentary and your order is cooked fresh, using local ingredients and natural cooking processes. My favourite has to be the 'sweet and sour chicken' and the 'roasted pork' with arguably the best noodles in Chiang Mai. In the last month I have not only taken my family but, close friends to dinner there and all have commented on the excellent quality of the food.

For me 'Ying Yang Food Corner' is good value for money because they seem to not take any shortcuts with their food. Good quality ingredients and slower cooking methods insure that the owners don't have to use chemicals like MSG to create flavour which unfortunately has become a recent trend in Thailand. So if you, like me, like to find little gems that are off the beaten track, offer good quality food and you like to try something a little different - 'Ying Yang Food Corner' is worth a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTina_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

If your looking for something besides thai food in Chiang Mai,this is a really nice little place just off Huay Kaew Road on the way to Doi Sothep.
The food here is really tasty. Jason, his wife and team work really well together to make you feel at home and passionately cook you a scrumptious Singaporian Chinese style cuisine.
They have a set menu and a normal menu. I would say do the set menu. Then again you are your own best judge.
The pork Char Sieu, the sweet and sour chicken or pork, the most flavourful broth that comes with every meal are just some of the goodies. Today I tried a spicy dish, the fried dried chilli and onion with chicken, which was just fantastic.
I will definitely make more visits to this little gem just waiting to be discovered by more food enthusiasts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaJimmyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sim J, Guest Relations Manager at Yin Yang Food Corner, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your precious time to write us this review. Our team are truly glad that you enjoyed our dishes here. We looked forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mai Dee - Not Good”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We eat lunch out daily in Chiang Mai and this place is the worst I have ever found - The soup is awful the Curry the worst I ever had in Thailand. 3 guests we all agree to not return. Not good value for money...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmrichsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sim J, Guest Relations Manager at Yin Yang Food Corner, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback about our food. We truly regret that you did not enjoy our dishes in our restaurant. Our team would appreciate if you to write to us in more detail so that we could identify why our food was awful.

1) Our soup broth is slowly brewed more than 12hours with pork bones, yellow onions, soyabeans,carrot and white raddish which brings up the natural flavoring from the ingredients which doesn't come with "MSG" flavors.

2) Our curry dishes are homemade Asian style curry which is thick and rich in flavor which many of our regular customers including foreigners told us that the taste is similar to what they had in western countries which you don't often get the taste here. That's why we maintain this in our menu which is our best selling dish here.( We will strike it off the menu if the majority of customers doesn't like it but they are always back for the same dish.)
In Thailand, Thai curry has great flavors but what we have here is totally different. It's asian curry (Quite similar with indian flavors) that suits international customers. The ingredients consists of curry powder,tumeric powder,coriander powder,onions and lemon grass and many more. (No Artificial MSG Flavors)

Therefore,we truly appreciate your constructive feedback for us to improve if it's necessary as we value you as a customer. We will always do our best to ensure our coustomers enjoys our food. Thank you and hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yin Yang Food Corner also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Yin Yang Food Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing