We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
sala lanna Chiang Mai
Ranked #69 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This little boutique hotel is just ideally located for anyone! If you want to go out to have a drink, there is the famous Riverside bar, Good View and Sip nearby. But still you are able to sleep well inside the hotel, there is no noise entering the rooms.
Both restaurants (Italian and Thai) are very good and affordable! I most of all like to enjoy the rocking chairs they have in the Thai restaurant, combine that with my favorite pomelo salad and all goes well! The breakfast is served at the Thai restaurant until 5PM every day, thats just great, this way i feel no pressure to be on time very day! You can choose a set or choose à la carte and i can tell you they have a great selection.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped with everything you might need. The bed feels like it is a BOX SPRING, my back felt very thankful.
The staff is very helpful and sleeks good English, especially at the lobby desk!

A deffined must try hotel!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a bit larger!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for sala lanna Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

We only stayed one night but we enjoyed the Sala Lanna. The rooms weren't huge but well designed and the generous covered balcony meant we spent most of our time there very happy. The staff were lovely and helpful, and the design of the hotel is taking in as much of the small location as possible. We were there at the tail end of a festival and from the lovely rooftop bar had a great view of the floats and lanterns.

The Italian restaurant was ok, good, but coming from a place with lots of very good Italian perhaps not quite up to cost price.

Perhaps the best tip I can give on this hotel is that the masseuse they bring in is good and very good value!

The beds were very comfy and the whole place was very quiet although it was pretty full when we stayed. Do stay in a room on level 1 though as you get a river view and can see all the action on the other side of the river.

Yes the hotel is still being developed and built but it is not shabby as other reviewers have said. We enjoyed our time there

Room Tip: Level one to get a river view and all the light and air the balcony brings.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location beside The Ping River.
However there is not much else to recommend this hostelry: the staff were superb though.
The hotel is cramped in a constricted piece of land near the river but this could be managed well except for the very poor maintainance which is very apparent. The wooden aspects are in need of urgent care and the roof-top bar / pool area a disgrace.
For the cost this hotel is poor value for money compared to much better hotels in the area with more amenities and much more ambience.

Room Tip: Suggest of thinking of staying elsewhere except if you visit during the Loi Kathrong period and then...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CAUK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A new addition (April, 2013) to the Ping River scene in Chiangmai and a welcome one is the Sala Lanna. The Italian restaurant is part of a hotel of the same name, and they also have a Thai restaurant (separate review). First of all, the place is that simple spare aesthetic that is showing up everywhere in Thailand…concrete floors, marble bar, black and white everywhere with pops of color, rectilinear everything until you get to these tall queen-like stools at one of the tall tables outside…! Very lovely décor.
The river setting is beautiful so the 4 of us decided to eat outside. There were only 4 tables that were actually on the riverfront, so they married 2 tables in the riverside bar area for us. Only small problem was that there is NO light except candles in this area, so they provided little clip-on flashlights so we could see the menu to order!
First impressions great – greeted by the Italian chef and a very nice young lady who made the table work. Took our drinks and bruschetta order and it arrived promptly. The bruschetta was 3 different types; one with spinach and feta cheese, one with tomato and parmesan, and one with mushroom and melted cheese…all perfect with cocktails. AND the wine is actually reasonably priced, unlike many Thai establishments where an OK bottle of California cab or chard will set you back $60++.
We ordered the salad of the day (which consisted of wood fired peppers, rocket, a slab of fresh cow milk cheese that had been grilled, and radicchio), mushroom risotto, the gnocchi with squid, and the chicken ravioli…(sold out of the black truffle ravioli-boo hoo!). All were generous portions and each prepared to perfection. The service was attentive with well trained staff (looked like the chef was managing both the front of the house and the kitchen and doing it well). NO complaints…we were too full for dessert, but they all sounded very good. Bill came to $100 for 4 with 2 cocktails, 2 beers and 2 wines…how is that possible?!

Room Tip: This review is for their Italian restaurant which I didn't find as a separate listing
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

i been there last month, it was very nice hotel ever, all staff were great and helpful, room was nice with great concept and high quality room, good value for 5 star hotel, we can take the ping river view side by side at restaurant, it very beautiful view, i love mocktail there so healthy.

Room Tip: there are 16 room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kesinee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As I promised to rate this hotel after I checked out . Tonight I have a little bit of time to share ours quality time at Sala Lanna Chiang Mai. I love the location which is easy to access to the town ,close to the Warorot market, night market, near the temple and church. A fews step walk to famous pub& restaurant, chic bedroom, sexy bathroom but still privacy, big comfy bed, friendly service and nice options for breakfast.you don't have to worried to get up early because you gonna missed breakfast don't worry they serve all day breakfast. A fantastic resort which is you can affordable.
ขอบคุณคุณพนักงานทุกท่านที่ดูเเลเเละต้อนรับเราเป็นอย่างดี ในฐานะอดีตคนโรงเเรมประทับใจในศาลาลานนาคะ
ตั้งเเต่คุณ รปภ, หน้าฟร้อนท์,ห้องอาหาร คุณเเม่บ้านที่ทำห้องให้สะอาด

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCGIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just spent a week at this wonderful hotel, booked on-line and exceeded my expectations. All staff were excellent and could not do enough for us (Nim and Pae beyond the call of duty), thank you all. Perfect location right on the Ping River, just opposite the old city which was extremely easy to either walk or tuk tuk to. All rooms well decorated, the 3rd floor river view with balcony was a joy as was the 1st floor (without a river view) but larger and looking onto a pond. Very well laid out rooms and very quiet with wonderfully comfy beds. Breakfast sitting at the restaurant by the river was a relaxing experience. with the option of going into the air-conditioned restaurant if too warm. Would stay again if ever back in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: If you want beauty and massage treatments a great small salon close by spotless, friendly and econom...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette
1.9 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#60 of 387 in Chiang Mai
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#65 of 387 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 387 in Chiang Mai
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to sala lanna Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about sala lanna Chiang Mai

Address: 49 Charoenrat Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $78 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — sala lanna Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sala lanna Chiang Mai consists of sixteen stylish boutique guest rooms, most with river views, including a luxurious riverfront two bedroom pool villa suite, highlighted by its own private swimming pool and river deck. sumptuous dining is assured at Chiang Mai's most engaging Italian venue, italia. intimate and indulgent service, a signature of sala boutique, will ensure a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your sala lanna Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing