We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
What an experience

This is a non commercial center that takes care of elderly elephants. You get changed into work... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2018
deedee1951
,
Chappaqua, New York
via mobile
Wonderful experience

We had a fantastic morning visiting this park. The staff were great and we walked with, fed and... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2018
Cheryl K
,
Buderim, Australia
Read all 67 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from $32.00
More Info
from $66.78
More Info
from $31.38
More Info
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
45
7
5
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
7
5
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews their lives an amazing experience elephants fed scrubbing clothes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 67 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2016

We opted for the Elephant interaction, jungle trek and bamboo river ride tour. Picked up from our Hotel in a jeep to join a group totalling 12 people and greeted by our guide Joy ( who really is a joy to spend time with) her genuine love and care for the elephants is obvious and wonderful to see. Joy is informative, her English is great, our group consisted of German, Belgium, Mexican and Dutch - everyone could understand her perfectly. Check out FB for pics.
We enjoyed every single moment of this tour which encourages understanding of elephants and allows you to get up and personal whilst feeling very safe. Absolutely NO riding of elephants, but feed, bathe with them. Lunch is included followed by a trek through the jungle which requires a little physical fitness but not much and is mainly on paths, the final part of the day is a relaxing and beautiful ride on a bamboo raft - it was magical.
This tour Company should be much higher up in the rankings than it is.
I have done this before at the more expensive nature park which was good but if you seek a smaller more intimate experience with elephants choose this tour - it cant be faulted in any way.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank 190KarnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

I was privileged to yesterday spend the day with Elephants with Elephant day care. The trip was amazing from start to finish and our guide Joy was simply fabulous. She was funny and friendly and of course very keen to share her knowledge and love for the Elephants. I never thought I would ever get up so close to one and indeed i did with a family of four. After initially meeting them and feeding them you then have a mud bath with them followed by a refreshing dip in the river. We did the day trip which then included lunch and a trekk/ waterfall and then the bamboo raft. The whole day was totally brilliant and would highly recommend as a must do whilst in Chang Mai. Please please do not book to ride an elephant this experience is the way to do it and if you are lucky enough to do it with this company you will also come back have experienced something almost spiritual

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016

If you want memories that you will treasure forever, visit Care for Elephants. I spent the whole day with four of these magnificent creatures, and my only regret is that I was unable to spend more time with them.
Watching the dexterity that they have with their trunks on TV is nothing compared to having one take sugar cane from your hand. But (and here's a little warning) DON'T BE STINGY WITH THE TREATS - the elephant(s) will bring their trunk back wanting more if you don't give them enough, or the piece you give them isn't big enough!
A fantastic experience and one I will certainly come back to if I visit Thailand again

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank matthew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

Booked this as I wanted to do jungle trek as well as meet elephants without riding them (please please don't ride the elephants!) & this tour was perfect. Booked through Travel Hub situated by Thapee Gate in chiang mai, right near Starbucks. Was picked up from hotel at 8am, group of 8 of us plus our leader for the day. Drove up to mountains where we began our 2 hour trek. It was incredible. A real hike clambering up & over rocks through the jungle up to a beautiful waterfall. I would say you need to be reasonably fit. Lunch was good then on to the elephants. We had 3 elephants to feed and adore! Plenty of time allowed with them. Made up their sticky rice medicine balls whilst our leader talked & taught us about the elephants. Then into the river with them for their wash down! Was absolutely amazing. A memory forever! Next we went white water rafting & laughed constantly. The guys in charge were hilarious. Be prepared to get soaked! Returned to hotel around 6pm exhausted smiles of such an amazing day. Everything I'd hoped for & more

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

Booked online. Confirmation email doesn't come immediately, so you need to watch out for that. Took about 1 hour. After you get the email, you have 2 hours to click the confirmation link and pay with PayPal/credit card. Otherwise, you can visit his office in Chaing Mai; just Google map search it. Had a great time with Eddy and his team. Pick up from hotel was prompt (8:45am). Went to banana market and bought 3 bags of bananas for 40 baht per bag to feed elephant later (optional and recommended you get at least 2). Comfortable van ride for about 1 hour out to the country. Changed clothes to shirt and pants Eddy provided; good some you will get wet. Eddy took us up to see 2 elephants where we immediately got up close and personal. Fed them the bananas. Then we each got to practice getting on the elephant by climbing up their leg and rode in a circle. Eddy explained how the elephants got there and what he does to protect them. Then we had a good Thai lunch. After lunch, we walked along the road to meet up with the rest of the elephants. We loaded up 2 people per elephant bare back from the platform. I recommend sitting in the back position if you have weak thighs. We then did a 30-40 min loop around the hilly area. Then we rode down to the river and the elephants walked through the river. Depending on your handler, the elephant may lay down in the water and you will get wet, very wet (in Eddy clothes). Then you get to scrub them in the river and get showered with water from an elephants trunk. Back to the van and back to Chaing Mai. Definitely worth the experience to be up close and personal with elephants to ride and feed them. Felt safe the whole time. Eddy speaks good English and explains everything. It was cold and rainy the day we went, so I recommend your own pants and jacket for the trip there and back. Also, sandals that strap to your feet won't fall off while you ride. I rode bare foot and enjoyed that. Eddy has a nephew that takes photos along the way you can buy for 200 baht. He takes photos of angles you can't while you ride. If you have a water proof camera, that is the only way to go. The bathrooms don't have toilet paper, so bring that just in case. Thanks Eddy!

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews