We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, good cafe”
Review of Nakara Jardin

Nakara Jardin
Ranked #3 of 96 Dessert in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in a French style shady garden on the Ping River, Nakara Jardin Patisserie & Bistro is a peaceful spot to relax and enjoy great food during the day. Trained at Le Cordon Bleu, Chef Pomme creates delicious French style desserts, and offers culinary delights á la Carte. Crafted coffees and a wide range of imported teas round out an enjoyable break at affordable prices. Open daily 11:00 to 19:00 hrs., closed Wednesday.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, good cafe”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to Nakara Jardin for afternoon tea. The entry is extremely narrowand hard to negotiate but led to an elegant home set in lovely gardens overlooking the Ping River. The restaurant was almost full but we found a table overlooking the river but unshaded.

We ordered the high tea for 2 at 650 baht. We then discovered that we could both have only tea or coffee for 2 but not coffe for one and tea for the other. Hopelessly inflexible. We chose coffee. Tawan's flat white came within seconds but after 10 minutes there was no sign of anything else. After a complaint and 2 or 3 minutes wait 2 black coffees turned up. It seems that not only was our order stuffed up but someone else missed out also. The waiter offered me both black coffees and apologised.

After a further wait the high tea turned up. Set on a 3 tiered stand it comprised 2 small toasted ham sandwiches, one prawn skewer with 2 small prawns, a small dish with 2 small pieces of duck, tomatoes and dressing, 3 minuscule salmon puffs, 1 very small pastry stack with a bit of fruit and custard, 2 tiny tartlets and 2 tiny scones with jam and butter. All were beautifully made and delicious but in miserable portions compared to every other high tea I have ever had. We were charged 25 baht extra for water which was also somewhat penny pinching.

The waiter again apologised for the poor service when he brought the bill which was good.

Leaving aside the service issue which was probably a one off in view of the profuse apology it is a little hard to understand the cuisine miserable attitude as slightly larger portions would surely cost no more given the labour intensive efforts required to prepare such delicate miniature servings.

Maybe the meals are better. I hope so because this is a great looking cafe in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Lynch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Nakara Jardin, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for coming by and try our afternoon tea.
During your visit, it was the busiest time of the year for restaurants in Chiang Mai, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. As we serve tea by pot and coffee by cup, we are sorry that we cannot provide a mix of tea and coffee for the afternoon tea set. Also, Our afternoon tea is considered to be a light meal that typically eaten after lunch and before dinner which is the reason we tried to have as many variety of food as possible while serving in a good portion.
Again, we are thankful for your visit and comments.
Bon appétit,
Chef Pomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    60
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful setting”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I went here with my husband and two children. The setting is good with children as they can go in the garden area and are not restricted to sitting at the table. We had a club sandwich which my husband really enjoyed, I had the crab, chilli and lime angel hair pasta, not a huge serving at 170 baht, but it was enough for me and very nice. The desserts were great, we shared 3 pieces of cheesecake and they were all good, about 110 baht per piece. The staff were efficient and friendly. It was more than we normally spend on a meal here, but I'd rad the reviews and wanted to try it nd it as worth it, verge relaxing and beautiful garden and restaurant area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing setting ”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Colonial style riverside and amazing food, could spend a full afternoon here with friends. Try the white truffle spaghetti, simply delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Brazuca00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“From eleven till seven a place for GOURMETS.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A friend's exhibition brought us to "Nakara Jardin" at the Ping River, close to the nightbazaar.
A lovely and quiet ambience for a tea, coffee and a delicious lunches. Soups, salades, pastas and sandwiches. Every item which passed our table looked marvelous, so we tasted 2 different pastas.
1 with Green mussels and 1 with white truffels in the creamy sauce. The smell only was already mouthwatering and the taste as prommissed by the smell. A white mousse piece of homemade pastry, made the lunch a tastfull intermezzo of the day. Cees and Theo

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food in a colonial setting”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A little like stepping back in time to the 1920s, this restaurant on the river is definitely recommended.

Service is good and the food high quality. We found it slightly surreal being surrounded by hordes of 50-something Thai women with ipads and plastic surgery everywhere - slightly like 'Housewives of Chiang Mai Province' :)

Overall, a good place in a nice setting. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakara Jardin also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Nakara Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing