We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was like a dream!”
other travelers have booked this property
Main Building with Two Pool Villas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Building with Two Pool Villas
View from Street View from the Park across the River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Main Building with Two Pool Villas
View from Street
View from the Park across the River
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom II
Master Bedroom en suite bathroom
Pool Villa Bedroom
Pool Villa
Serving 'Makam' Table
10-Seat Dining Set
Entertainment Area
Separated Cooking Area
Outdoor Daybed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zuri T
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was like a dream!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We searched very carefully for a perfect spot for our annual family vacation. My small family coming from the US and my extended family from Bangkok chose Chiang Mai to be our vacation destination this year. The cost of renting this beautiful house with several hang out spots for our family was very much comparable to what we would have spent on a 4 hotel rooms. The kitchen was HUGE and was perfect for a larger family dinner/gathering. There is a private pool that is clean and comfortable (and it's a salt water pool!). The pool side area was also great for chilling. there is also a beautiful gazebo next to the river near the pool that is just perfect for yoga and lounging. There is another 4 season room with living space between the main living room and the pool.
Needless to say, this house was everything like it was pictured and described plus more! We couldn't have been happier with how everything turned out. The decoration was unique and luxurious. One can tell that the owner put a lot of thoughts and effort into making the place cozy and uniquely Thai. There are 2 housekeepers and an on site manager who bent over backwards and provided superb service. The housekeepers made breakfast for us every morning (we purchased the grocery). While one might think having the crew on site could be an intrusion, they did a marvelous job of being there only when you need them. The bedding was also most comfortable. The attention to details by the staff made you feel you are kings and queens. The facilities were impeccably clean and well kept from the moment we arrived.
There were 11 of us (3 kids) and we were so comfortable in this big house. The backyard/pool area was so private it was my most favorite spot. We felt like we lived in a dream the whole time we were there. The experience was truly wonderful and we couldn't wait to go back there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to details of staff and the house is beautiful and impeccable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beiing
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austria
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SaleenXTR...
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Private Paradise 20 Minutes Out Of Chiang Mai”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Except for its distance from the centre of Chiang Mai this house is everything you would want for a quiet, personalised service, retreat.

WHAT WAS WONDERFUL:
• Large modern, impressive Thai house.
• Open plan, river front home providing 4 bedrooms, 4 ensuites and an additional bathroom of the large lounge room.
• Two bedrooms have queen/king size beds and two have two single beds in each
• Large Private pool which is just covered with sun all day.
• Plenty of room with your own private sun lounges around the pool with again plenty of sun.
• Separate air-conditioning in all bedrooms and in the lounge room and dinning/kitchen.
• The open plan kitchen, dining room, lounge room, study and open staircase are all adjoining providing a fantastic open feeling.
• The driver, gardener and pool cleaner, Poh pronounced Bo as in Box
• Housekeeper and cook, Karen who is remarkable pleasant; extremely nice
• WiFi generally very good
• A PC was available with printer
• Very clean
• Ground floor TV included English channels including movies. While it wasn’t a concern to us, the TV’s in all the bedrooms rooms only have Thai channels
• Large Refrigerator and fully equipped kitchen
• Several coffee machines including an espresso machine which was absolutely necessary being so far from a coffee shop
• Screened veranda where I could work on my laptop (with good WiFi) overlooking the pool and Ping River. Very relaxing.
• Separate timber deck/pergola, with cushions and benches on the bank of the Ping River. A great pace to relax and read.
• Wonderfully decorated and equipped; in fact quite beautiful. The kitchen bench, a hollowed tree truck, is quite spectacular.
• Each day the rooms were serviced and the house and pool cleaned.

WHAT WAS GOOD
• River frontage is always calming even if the Ping River is particular dirty looking, very brown.
• Had we bought food Karen would have cooked for us but I gather we would have had to pay for her labour per meal. However the making of breakfast with the food we had bought was prepared at no cost.
• Push bikes were available and we would have loved to have taken them out and explored the area which is relatively flat with low volume traffic. Unfortunately my work commitments via internet got in the way of such entertainment/exercise and forced me to limit my activities to the large, clean pool.
• In order to be river frontage the house is on a main road but has been very cleverly designed to have the ensuits in the main house on the road side bedroom from road noise and providing a good night’s sleep.
WHAT WE DIDN’T LIKE
• The distance from the centre of Chiang Mai some THB 400 each way being located about 20 minutes on the southern side of Chiang Mai.
• There is no ladder or steps into the pool. We managed OK but I can imagine for some older folk it could be very difficult to get out.
• While it is just par for the course I have to mention the rock hard beds. One day someone in Thailand will discover soft, yet firm, beds. Although perhaps the Thai massage industry thrives due to these rock hard beds!
• You are really tied to use Poh as there isn’t an easy way to explain to a taxi driver where the house is. It is in fact quite simple but, you need a formal address and map printed in Thai. The answer is using Poh, which is fine but took a bit of getting use to as we hate to think someone is just waiting around for us. Mind you, Poh is very friendly and capable.

SUMMARY
This is a fantastic river front large, tasteful, modern home with plenty of space. The house is lovingly looked after and cleaned, fantastic clean large pool in a sundrenched rear yard, 20 minutes by car south of Chiang Mai.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Modern beautiful home with huge clean pool in a sun drenched yard
Liked least: Distance from Chiang Mai; a 20 minute drive
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jereem
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“better than a resort any day!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Imagine staying in a fancy vacation home of a native Thai. If you want to feel at home, as if you were invited to stay at someones house and be treated as family, then Paya Villa is the perfect place for you. It is located just south of Chiang Mai city near some great shopping villages on the river. The house is gorgeous, teak flooring, furniture and ceiling throughout. Nicely decorated, just as you would with your own vacation home. It has all the utilities you want. Poh the propety manager is a kind and polite gentleman who will arrange everything for you. The cook is sweet and amazing. We ate every dinner at the Villa, because the food was soooo good! She prepares traditional Thai food that is the best you will get. Also, she happily accomadated our special dietary needs. We had a drivers in a very nice mini bus every day, who would take us anywhere. The staff and Villa made our vacation in Chiang Mai one of the best we have had! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff
Liked least: It would be nice to have a few children's toys.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatsoeva
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was hard to say goodbye...”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

I traveled with 7 friends to Chiang Mai for 5 days and we are so thankful to have found this mansion! It's got 2 en-suite rooms in the main unit, and 2 bungalows at the back. All the rooms are very clean and spacious. Dining room was huge and it was perfect for our large group dinners! Two of which were prepared by the very helpful and friendly maids. We used the kitchen to cook our own breakfasts everyday. The bar table made with one single gigantic log is my favorite part of the house! It's so unique and a great spot for my friends to re-group after we return from a day of sightseeing. Whatever you need, all you need is to tell Poh! He's very sweet and friendly and took really good care of us during our stay. I won't stop telling my friends and family about this wonderful vacation home. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size of the villa. Tasteful decoration and very well maintained.
Liked least: Location is a bit far from main attractions, but charted transport worked well for us.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$400
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing