We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Thai and Italian, good price but a little slow.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Learning Restaurant

Secret Learning Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 2,026 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: SLOW FOOD - I am a Italian cooker which love to cook and i decide to cook for few people so i can be concentrate on every single dish . Here you can find basically Spaghetti , 7 recipes which one is call Secret Tasty which is a special spaghetti al pesto. I enjoy to prepare very rich ( taste ) lasagna, one is the classic meat and a vegetarian with spinach and ricotta. i have also one dessert prepare by me, the famous Tiramisu'. Small menu' which i like to serve every single dishes. SImone,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, Thai and Italian, good price but a little slow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was really really good and the price was good too. I had thai food there once and i tried the pasta too. It was all very good. It took a while to get our food but the owner obviously cares about making everything right. I really like this place and I will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LRodRecords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    72
    14
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Best pasta in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

By far the best pasta I have had in Thailand. Also the Italian cappuchino is so good!
The restaurant to go in Chiang Mai!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in Chiang Mai !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

At first glance what might appear to be a standard hostel/café , on entering you discover one of those treasured, hidden finds that becomes a highlight of your trip and leaves you with many happy memories. Simone is a delight ... such a friendly, funny character and cooks the best pasta with love from Italy :) His sweet wife Pui produces amazing natural Thai food including a regional special flavoursome soup packed with fresh local veggies and delicious, mouth-watering herbs and spices you'll be guessing for days what secret ingredients are in there .... After sampling some real Italian wine (oh how i miss thee!) and some fresh Italian salami, we didn't want to leave and promised to come back the next day ... There is way more to this little gem than meets the eye , i almost don't want to share the secret !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoë J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must eat at Secret Learning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not only does the restaurant at Secret Learning provide amazing food, but amazing company as well. Italian-Thai owners Simone and Pui are awesome and Pui makes some of the best food we ate while traveling around Thailand. I would have stayed in Chiang Mai longer if I could just to be able to eat some more meals here. Simply made, fresh, delicious food that is reasonably priced in a welcoming atmosphere in beautiful Chiang Mai...what more could you ask for?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alycatsxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious Thai and Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The gracious hosts Simone and Pui are an Italian-Thai couple and there food is equally fresh and authentic. Delicious, unpretentious and good value. They even get the good imported Parmesan and olive oil to do the Italian food right. And Pui makes the best Thai food in town, vegetarian friendly as well and rivaling well established places like Blue Diamond for quality and value. They have dorms for rent upstairs as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmartirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Learning Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Secret Learning Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing