We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary excellent services, under price with Clean, Modern and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Canal Boutique house
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed there for two nights after 2 nights @3 sis(next to Wat Chedi Luang), glad to move to this tiny hip hotel. We were warmly welcome by a nice lady since viewing the only available room, till the last day we left. Room are clean, modern, big tv, good wifi, cool aircond, spacious bathroom with shower and place for luggages storage. All information were given with good heart but not money making. We booked a elephant tour and rent a car thru a company there which is also another germ there. A modern coffee shop at the building were also a great plus. Sure I will go back again but suggested to get a room at the back becos if facing front, the noise is horrible without much sound proof. Overall, we have a very happy stay there n meet great staff.

Room Tip: if u need quiet room n location, not too recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel, while very nice aesthetically, is in a loud (street noise) location but they do hand you earplugs when you check in... The thing we missed here was that there was no central hang out area for travelers to meet and chat at night. It was a walk (or sangthaew/red truck ride of 20 baht per person) to get most places we wanted to go within the old city. No real restaurants or bars nearby (except jazz club). We stayed at Funky Monkey our first few nights in Chiang Mai and location there was perfect with everything a short walk away and they had a place to sit out front to talk to other travelers about the days adventures. So being in this location at Le Canal (near north gate) we felt more isolated. We stayed in honeymoon suite which was very pretty and modern but next time would stay closer to all the action (hopefully with a bit less street noise).

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

New hotel, great location from hotel, old town and street food stalls. Bed comfy and aircon works well.

The rooms are small. Our bathroom wasn't clean. The windows don't work properly and therefore noise is an issue. It's a shame as proper window units would prevent most of the noise. We were on the 3rd floor at the back and would agree with others that the football pitch at the back is very noisy and they play till after midnight.

We had washing done which was more expensive than others and my husbands white tshirts were stained with a weird yellow discolouration. I'd possibly recommend taking laundry elsewhere.

Overall it's ok. We ended up moving to a much cheaper hotel in the night bazzare which was half the price, 3 times the size and much quieter.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Orangesherrberrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great deal for a hotel located on the edge of the Old City within walking distance of all the major old city attractions. The owner of the hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There was a small mistake with our booking when we arrived but the staff made arrangements to make up for it. Clean rooms at a reasonable price. There is a decent amount of street noise but we still managed to sleep fine. Maybe bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This review was written in my head at 4am our first night after my wife yelled how she hadn't slept at all. We vowed never to write a bad review but in light of the situation I felt compelled to.
After leaving Palace Place which was a terrible experience, we came to Le Canal in hopes of some good rest. Wrong. They first put us in room 1 which faces the main road. The first red flag was when the attendant asked us if it was too loud. Seeing that we had already booked two nights on Agoda and it was the last room I didn't feel as though we had a choice. We accepted mainly because we were just too tired to try our luck somewhere else(due to the Chinese new year everywhere was sold out).
This is where the first star comes in, the bed was comfortable.
But after listening to what felt like cars, bikes and tuk tuks in our room I went downstairs and asked with heavy sarcasm if there was a room with a waterfall in it. I was promptly offered another room towards the back and given two sets of ear plugs. Second red flag. We said ok because anything was better than room 1. After dinner we returned to realize that the back room offered was smaller and closer to the football field which was used until midnight and the traffic noise was still an issue. I felt very bad for my wife who already wasn't feeling well and now couldn't sleep. At some point pure exhaustion took over and we slept off and on until the first of many guests started closing the doors.
As a contractor by trade, I couldn't understand why a brand new hotel was so poorly insulated. Every shut door racked our room and increased the size of the knot in my stomach. To add fuel to the fire there were two families that insisted on communicating at a level just below yelling on our floor first thing in the morning.
Another issue was we gave our laundry to the front desk at noon the first day and were told it would be ready in the morning. When I went to retrieve it the attendant said it wouldn't be ready till the afternoon and they charged us 230 baht for the same amount that our last hotel charged 80. This was the icing on the cake.
It just reconfirmed that you get what you pay for. Oh, but wait, we paid 1450 baht a night so that isn't true. More than any other hotel on our month long trip.
Needless to say we were very disappointed with our stay.

p.s. the second star was for the caramel macchiato the next door coffee shop served. the best I've had

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The owner of the hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located inside the old city very close from the North gate. However, there is a main road with a lot of traffic in front of the hotel. It was then quite noisy in the room.

The rooms are nice but have very small windows. They are nicely decorated (modern style) and have all amenities of a 3*-4* hotel. AC is efficient. Flat TV, fridge etc in the room.
Bathroom is nice.

There is a coffee shop located next to the lobby which offers good coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolas414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

It takes 10 minutes in a taxi from the airport. This bouthiques hotel has small room with the northern style decoration , 3 storey. There is 2 shops at G floor One shop sell coffee and bakery. Another shop sell the interesting souvenir. This premise is near canal surround the city.

Stayed: December 2556
Thank Lallll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Baan Ratchiangsaen
Baan Ratchiangsaen
#45 of 932 in Chiang Mai
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#2 of 932 in Chiang Mai
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Good Morning Chiang Mai Tropical Inn
1.4 mi away
Oxotel Hostel
Oxotel Hostel
#55 of 932 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arch39 Art & Craft Hotel
Arch39 Art & Craft Hotel
#13 of 932 in Chiang Mai
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Canal Boutique house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Canal Boutique house

Address: 91 Sriphoom Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 932 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $32 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Canal Boutique house 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small hotel is located in north gate of Chiangmai's old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Canal Boutique house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing