We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax and see the city”
Review of Nine House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nine House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the pricier rooms, as the 'standard' ones were all booked. The room is spacious and clean, and the A/C very quiet. The mattress was hard and not very comfy. A couple of the towels were quite stained - a soak in bleach would be good. The breakfast was nice and staff very friendly. We'd definitely stay again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 172 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 3 weeks in Chiang Mai over the Loi Krathong/Yi Peng festivals (sky lanterns, floating lights). We stuck to the city centre and surrounds and still ran out of time.A highlight of our trip was our stay in Ninehouse. We couldnt hope to meet with kinder or more sensitive hosts. On our first day, we overslept due to jetlag and came downstairs at 11:30am, of course not expecting to get breakfast served to us. To our astonishment, Kun Nok said she was going to give us breakfast anyway! And it was a superbly healthy breakfast, with so much choice, that one could easily make any breakfast of choice with a subset. We are already planning our next trip to Chiang Mai and it will be at Ninehouse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimsovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, paid 550 a night for a standard room. Room was very clean, breakfast was good, I was told they were fully booked but was very quiet, the location is good in the old city, The owner even gave me a free ride to the airport when I left. Only little thing was the bed was pretty hard, but no different than most other places. I'd be very surprised if you weren't satisfied with your stay here!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martintravelnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location is not that good. We always found ourselves taking taxis to the area with more activity, whereas you can get other hotels closer to the action.
The Bed is not too comfortable, a bit hard for my taste.
The shower has a very low current, and is kind of small.
The Breakfast is odd, with unsatisfying coffee.

The hosts try, they really do, and they are very nice and accommodating, and I really appreciate the effort, but no cigar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My stay here was very nice. The owners are very friendly and will tell nice places to go to. The location is also good, 5 min walk to sunday market and restaurants. Opposite the guesthouse is a laundryshop where you can rent motorbikes, a internetshop. Also a little bar/restaurant, although i didn't go there it looked nice. The room was very spacious and super clean. Bed very comfortable and breakfast included wich was delicious.

Room Tip: I had room on ground floor and was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nine house is small and quiet,have only 9 rooms but nice house for me and my family really. It's Very clean,Very nice breakfast and Very good service from nine house. There is also convenient transportation available to all tourist spots. The International airport, railway station and bus depot are all within 15 minutes ride, as is the Night Bazaar, the famous shopping center. Food is available from different restaurants nearby (Thai, Japanese, northern Thai). There is a large department store within walking distance. Inside the department store there is a post office.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicelady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at Nine House where we received a warm welcome from the lovely family and their friendly dogs. Loved the huge breakfast, which had eggs, toast, fresh fruit and best of all, a different Thai delight daily. Room great size, clean, well furnished and had a little balcony. Decent shower (though ours didn't drain well). Quiet location in old town close to excellent organic café Birds Nest. Only issue we had was noisy guests one night-maybe more soundproofing or signs asking people to show consideration for others might prevent this. All in all, a very enjoyable, relaxing stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#88 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rustic Guesthouse
Rustic Guesthouse
#16 of 933 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#5 of 933 in Chiang Mai
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#7 of 933 in Chiang Mai
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine House

Address: 6 Singharat soi 3 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine House is situated in a quite location of the old city. There is no traffic at night. The rooms on the top floor all offer an exclusive view on the nearby Doi Suthep and Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing