We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to leave!”
Review of Nine House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nine House
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hard to leave!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well... we booked for 4 nights but at the end we stayed for 10 nights! That speaks for itself! :-) It was so hard to leave this supernice guesthouse! Mr. Tin and his lovely wife made our stay perfect! Mr. Tin knows for every question a well-thought-out answer and speaks very good english! Even better than ours! :-D They prepare for you every morning a delicious, hearty breakfast and look after you all the time. If you look for a quiet, spotless clean and a almost new guesthouse with a very personal (local!) touch than you should stay here! It's also very convenient located in the oldtown, we could walk to everything and during the night it was very quiet to get a good sleep! We would any time stay here again and can highly recommend it!! We already miss the breakfast...Thank you for everything Mr. Tin and Family! We will be back! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    33
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
85
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Phenomenal guesthouse. I sifted through the Chiang Mai guesthouse list pretty thoroughly because I know Chiang Mai and most of Thailand has become pretty saturated with Westerners and the place has changed to accommodate that development. I usually enjoy a more "local" experience so I did extra research to find this place and took a small gamble as it's only been open less than a year. Tin (I hope I am spelling his name right) and his family are great and you'd think they've been in the business for decades. Everything is spotless, rooms are cleaned spooky fast, and the breakfast is excellent and too large for me and I'm no light eater. This place is significantly underpriced if you ask me and once word gets out, the price is bound to go up because it's going to fill up every night. My room is excellent, quiet, comfortable, and spacious with an excellent dresser to store plenty of clothes. Location is both in the heart of Chiang Mai but also down a small road to give it a peaceful, remote feel.

I struck gold here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dljonesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We couldn't agree more with all the excellent reviews of this guesthouse! We really enjoyed our stay at Nine House for many reasons. First, the owners are phenomenal! They helped us on several occasions to plan out some of the details of our trip. Secondly, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Third, the breakfast is seemingly neverending and delicious! Great value, great owners, and great experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liled99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Honestly we had moved hostels twice before we got here in Chiang Mai. It was an amazing service from the start shown up to our room and showed how to work everything on arrival. Beautiful room with a balcony with a beautiful view! Clean beds and bathroom just a lovely lovely hostel.
A family run place and the family are so helpful.. Helped us print stuff off when we needed help. Lovely morning breakfast free with stay everyday. Just couldn't praise it more. A short Tuk Tuk ride from town and opposite a lovely cafe called birdsnest and bike hire its was our little slice of heaven and we loved it. Stay here! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemytot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here on two different occasions, before and after doing the Mae Hong Son loop for ten days. It is a very nice place, stayed in two different rooms, a twin and a double standard room, would recommend the standard room since it is a bigger room then the twin.

It is very clean, with fast wifi, including a breakfast and a tv (mostly thai channels). Much has been said about the nice owners, and this is true, he even took me to the airport at 6 in the morning (for the same price as a taxi).

The doors and walls are a bit thin making it a bit noisy, but it is not really a problem. One other very good thing is the option to do laundry right across the street and the very very good birds nest restaurant. Ate their twice and it was awesome.

I would come back here, on a previous trip i stayed in CM Blue House, which is also ranked high, but Nine house is way better and better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Well, up to now there are 21 excellent reviews to this guesthouse and mine will be the same as this rating is well deserved! This is a place, where the owner, Mr. Tin, and his team is doing just everything to make you feel good. The house itself is modern, light-flooded and very clean. The bathroom is big and comfortable with even a proper place to shower, inclusive shower-curtain - a luxury I never experienced in Thailand up to now. Everything is functioning well: hot shower, ac, television, etc. and nothing is broken. The rooms are made up every day, shampoo, soap, drinking water are provided. Every room has a little balcony with a rack to put wet things on. WiFi is good and free, the nights are quiet and the breakfast large and diversified. The price is fair and a great value. The entrance door is electrically locked, so no one could enter who hasn't got a key. The location is excellent, as well. I had very relaxing four nights here and warmly recommend the place - I just loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A small guesthouse with clean and well maintained rooms and super service. Nine house is a bit hidden away in the North West part of the Old City. Quiet area, but everything you need is within walking distance.
If you want to find something or wonder where to go next ask the always helpful landlord for advice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomsdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden Walking Street Hostel
Eden Walking Street Hostel
#26 of 863 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 863 in Chiang Mai
89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rustic Guesthouse
Rustic Guesthouse
#15 of 863 in Chiang Mai
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gord Nuea Boutique House
Gord Nuea Boutique House
#30 of 863 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
i Lanna House
i Lanna House
#18 of 863 in Chiang Mai
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 863 in Chiang Mai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine House

Property: Nine House
Address: 6 Singharat soi 3 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 863 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine House is situated in a quite location of the old city. There is no traffic at night. The rooms on the top floor all offer an exclusive view on the nearby Doi Suthep and Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing