We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get treated royally.”
Review of Nine House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nine House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend of mine and I just like to pass this on again.
What a great place to stay. I had just had a very bad experience at Awana House in Chiang Mai and I would love for Mr Tin to show them how it is supposed to be done when guests come to your house. I had a lovely modern and bright room with a large desk ( that was very cool, as I have some work to do on the road.) 2 balconies and a typical Thai bathroom. It was clean and most of all it was quiet inside as well as outside. The location is great, I rented a bicycle across the street , there is a lovely cafe by the name of Birds Nest across the street. Everything is in walking distance. Mr Tin makes a great breakfast specially for you. I told him once that he doesn't need to clean the room for me as I had worked all day in it and the maid was not able to come in. His response was : " It is my duty to take care of you "
Do i need to say more ??? I will always go back there again. Thank You Mr Tin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crapfoodbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Nine House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nine house was our home away from home. We stayed during Songkran and initially planned only five days in Chiang Mai. We ended up staying almost two weeks. The location is great. The owner is very welcoming and friendly. He makes breakfast every morning for his guests. Lots of good food to keep you going throughout the morning. His family is also very friendly and helpful. They helped set up a wonderful cooking class for us.

The entire place and rooms are kept very clean. Rooms are cleaned daily. Towels and bottled water are provided daily as well. There is a little balcony from your room where you can dry your clothes. The rooms are tastefully decorated with new and modern furntiture. Nicer than my bedroom back home. A/C, flat screen TV (with channels in Thai and English).

If you are concerned about safety, all three floors have a security camera as does the front area. The main door also has an electronic swipe reader if you come in later in the night.

Great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItchyFeetPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was so happy to find a room available at the Nine House, it offers such great value for money. "Tin" the owner was so welcoming and took fabulous care of us. Thank you Tin for your marvelous breakfasts which kept us going all day and for planing our day trips with maps to all the best local sites. Overall staying here could not be better. i would highly recommend the Nine House to anyone visiting Chiang Mai. The location is ideal, and there are excellent restaurants and amenities in walking distance. The room was perfect, very spacious with a very comfortable bed and modern bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. The location is quiet and peaceful. Come and stay with 'Tin" and enjoy his wonderful hospitality in this lovely new boutique guest house.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, new, modern and comfortable. We enjoyed the large twin bed room on the grou...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good location. Clean and new rooms. The owner is nice and helps to organize transport etc. Breakfast is also nice compared to Thailand standard. I would stay again. Value for money is better than other guesthouses around.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This guest house is a wonderful place to relax.It The interior is very modern and zen like. The rooms are wonderful and very comfortable beds with real cotton comforters and soft pillows . AC and plenty of space for clothing ,every day water bottles and soap and shampoo plus a wonderful breakfast with coffee and tea all day and fresh fruits.(That was very impressive)
The owners do everything possible to make you feel good . Great neighborhood, across the street is a good restaurant the Birds nest and everything is in walking distance .Sweet place !

Room Tip: all rooms are quite
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agnes l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here at the recommendation of a friend who is a long term resident of Chang Mai. The guesthouse is very new, very clean, and very Zen in its sensibilities. The location is central, the soi is quiet, and many amenities on the street.

The included breakfast also was nice. I rented a bicycle (best way to get around), had dinner at the Empty Nest - all within 100 feet of Nine House.

Very easy access to airport via taxi.

I would particularly recommend nine House for women traveling alone. It is very safe and secure.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAO24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay which is reasonably priced and here we found excellent quality as well.
The owner made us feel at home and found information for us: maps, places to go to suit our interests, etc. We also had good breakfasts included in the price.
The room we had was spacious and clean and everything we needed was there. Air conditioning and everything we're new and in excellent working order.
Location of the room was in a quiet street in the northwest corner of Chiang Mai old city and therefore within easy reach of everything that is going on.
Across the street the neighbours were also very friendly and we had our laundry done by them, hired bikes cheaply from them and I had a haircut too!
We we're going to stay for two nights but ended up staying for four.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden Walking Street Hostel
Eden Walking Street Hostel
#23 of 882 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 882 in Chiang Mai
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gord Nuea Boutique House
Gord Nuea Boutique House
#28 of 882 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rustic Guesthouse
Rustic Guesthouse
#16 of 882 in Chiang Mai
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#20 of 882 in Chiang Mai
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine House

Address: 6 Singharat soi 3 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 882 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $18 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine House is situated in a quite location of the old city. There is no traffic at night. The rooms on the top floor all offer an exclusive view on the nearby Doi Suthep and Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing