We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on-minus pool.”
Review of G2 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
G2 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #82 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spot on-minus pool.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A great little boutiqe style hotel. Sure, there's no lift, but at worst it's 3 stories high, the concrete corridors are a little warm, but you don't spend a hell of a lot of time out there. The rooms are cool, bed & bathrooms good, internet, TV & AC all good, no need to hang out a “do not disturb” sign, you won't be bothered. Hand your key in as you leave, serviced when you return. A short walk through a friendly neighbourhood on the way to the touristy areas, get your laundry done, massage, iced coffee on the way, or jump in one of the ever present tuk-tuks or baht buses.
Breakfast is made to order, & relaxed. Fresh fruit to your room every afternoon.
Relax people, what do you expect for $45-$50?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kohuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
52
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I am so happy with the survives I received during my recent stay. The location is very good and centrally located to most of the atractions in chanmai.
The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly . we have thoroughly enjoied the stay and will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the G2 Boutique Hotel! This hotel is nice and modern and located in a quiet neighborhood about a 7 minute walk to downtown Chiang Mai and the Sunday Walking Market. The female manager was SUPER helpful and kind - we really appreciated her flexibility in arranging our breakfast for carry out before our elephant trek. The breakfast itself was good and filling: coffee, juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, and 1 piece of toast.

Only a few minuses to staying here - it was hard to contact the hotel directly by email or by their website (both of which we're hard to find). The hotel doesn't have a shuttle from the airport, but they will arrange a taxi for you on the return end, although ours never showed up for our 6 a.m. flight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were very pleased. The service was excellent and the staff extremely helpful. They assisted us in arranging transportation and tours, as well as gave us excellent suggestions on places to eat and go out in the evening. One of the staff even lent me her motorcycle helmet so I could ride around town for the afternoon!

The hotel is in a really cute and quiet neighborhood, but it's VERY close to bars and restaurants. We were able to walk everywhere. The rooms are very spacious and clean. You also get free breakfast (cooked to order) and fruit in your room. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Simple hotel in a simple neighborhood. Staff friendly. However, not very well versed in the client service. They also charge for everything. Extra bed sheet: we charge! Extra fruit (you only have half an apple and a mango at breakfast) we charge! extra toast, we charge (only one toast at breakfast)! Breakfast is minimal. Canned juice. Room AC was not working properly. Staff solution: close the door of your bathroom!!!
Overall, as stated by other, their are way better accomodation here for this price!!! will not come back.

Room Tip: Stay away from 204 and 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mélanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I arrived late and was given the key to a room on the 3rd floor - no lift. I went up the stylish concrete staircase, with pretty modern chandeliers and luggage in hand, found on entering the room I had the key for it was occupied. So shlepped back down stairs, luggage in hand, boy, those corridors are hot, to explain and got a new key and an apology - not really a good start.
The sealed concrete finish of the hotel is a bit overdone and the rooms don't feel that welcoming given the rather cheap furnishing, it's a shame because room size is good, bed comfortable, fridge, tv and aircon all work, but there is a sofa squeezed up against the bed and a lot of the decorative finishing is a bit lacking. The bathroom is also rather uninviting with concrete everything and a poor finish. Washbasin on a concrete slab with tap that is neither fixed properly and too close to the sink to be easily useable do not a boutique hotel make.
There's a nice view to Doi Sutep and across the roofs of the old city though and the location is not bad in a quiet, friendly neighbourhood in the south west corner of the old city. A short walk gets you to Wat Pra Sing or Wat Chedi Luang and head south and the Nong Buak Hat Park is close by as is Chiang Mai gate and markets and transport. There are also some good restaurants fairly close by.
The breakfast is good and freshly cooked by nice staff and the reception and entrance area is small and pleasant. It's not a bad choice but I think there are better options at this price point.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The room are very nice. The staff its awesome and the are always willing to help you. I have to say the breakfast its very very good and fresh. The location its perfect; very quiet but close to the old city and the most beautiful temples in Chiang Mai. You can go walking to this places or you can ask the staff to rent a motorcycle, very cheap and easy to drive in Chiang Mai. I hope you enjoy the stay at this very beautiful Boutique hotel as I did!!!!....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic01986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#78 of 383 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#96 of 383 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chankam Boutique Hotel
Chankam Boutique Hotel
#83 of 383 in Chiang Mai
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
At Pingnakorn Hotel Chiangmai
At Pingnakorn Hotel Chiangmai
#74 of 383 in Chiang Mai
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#43 of 383 in Chiang Mai
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#17 of 383 in Chiang Mai
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G2 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G2 Boutique Hotel

Property: G2 Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Soi 7 Ratchamanka Road Maung District, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — G2 Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your G2 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing