We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily on my "favorites" list”

Puccini Italian Restaurant
Ranked #620 of 2,058 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Easily on my "favorites" list”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I tried Puccini for the first time this December. I was unimpressed with the decor and empty restaurant (we arrived at 6 pm). However when the pizza arrived, we were all amazed at the taste and quality, and yes, we've been to all the famous pizzerias in Bangkok. The other pasta dishes were excellent and I will definitely return every time I go to Chiangmai. I recommend the pasta with olio crab sauce and ravioli with truffle sauce.

I will see you again for sure, Puccini!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PongTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Biggest surprise in Chiangmai!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went to try this restaurant as per a recommendation of my friend who is a local person. We were not sure about the restaurant when we walked in since the decoration is very simple and the place is a bit old. However, food was simply the best. There were 6 people in our group and we ordered different dishes so we could try as many dishes as possible. Every dish was fantastic. We couldn't believe this hidden gem. We eat out very often in many great places in Bangkok and outside of Thailand. Puccini is one of the best we dined in, a good match to those expensive places but with a fraction of price. Really really good value for money without any compromise in taste. Wine list is limited but there are good choices. We will definitely go back again every time we are in Chiangmai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Varaporn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“... altogether non-satisfying”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Puccini restaurant for the last time at the beginning of July after having been there before several times, sometimes with the family, sometimes with friends. Here is what our unbiased impressions are and our assessment is:

The food: very good due to an Italian chef that evening.

Service: very poor. Staff did not speak English nor Italian. Hard to order the dishes without someone who translated the menu from the menu languages English and Italian into Thai. Serving wrong plates to wrong tables. Hence permanent disquietness which you have to face in a food garden but, from my point of view, not in a restaurant.

Atmosphere: due to the incompetent service strepitous and thus non-satisfying.

Value of the food: okay (see above), but because of the lacking atmosphere not really appropriate.

We will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great pizza, the best so far in Thailand.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice italian restaurant, great pizza and pasta. Good house wine, good service, what more do you need.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch meal!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I had a lovely evening with very good food. Broccoli and Gorgonzola soup I will be trying at home, beef carpaccio very tasty. Both pizzas we recommend too...the Mexican and the chef special-though obviously this topping might change. A nice change from Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank GBM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini Italian Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Puccini Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing