We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep and a good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thana Hotel & Guesthouse
Ranked #552 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Thana before and after their jeep tour. Stayed the first night at the guesthouse- it was for free but was terrible! Dirty shower and toilet, the sink is out in the balcony, nothing in the room but a bed hard as wood. The hotel, on the other hand, was a good value for money. The room was clean, the bed felt comfy. Breakfest (not included) was cheap. Good WiFi signal. Laundry service is cheep, quick and came back with a great smell.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Moshe_and_Mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omri83, ผู้จัดการ at Thana Hotel & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for join with our trip. We are very sorry for inconvenience about our guesthouse. We will prove it to be better. Hopefully, we will have a chance to service you again

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the guesthouse on the last day after a 3 day not so good jeep tour.
The rooms are run down and need major renovations. The bathroom is dirty and you use the sink area to brush your teeth on the outside patio where everyone can see you.
This place offers nothing except lowered expectations, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuval-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night either side of a tracking tour. Did the job for what we needed but rooms could be a lot cleaner, swimming pool needs cleaned. Cockroaches in the room, walls were cover in damp and smelt. Only stayed there again because its was pouring down after our trek and we couldn't be bothered searching for somewhere else. Travel agents was fine though, cheapest price for the slow boat to laos.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhys566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice with a pool and very good value but the staff are very rude. The rooms smell a bit musty and damp but good budget prices. The travel agent Annabel is very friendly and eager to sell but when your tour turns out being terrible she does nothing about it and ignores you for the rest of your stay onwards. Do not book the jungle trek with this company. We didn't get to do the bamboo rafting and there was nothing substituted instead. Also the elephant riding was only 20 minutes not 1 hour and I got the feeling the elephants are treated badly as our elephant growled throughout. The tour guide was also useless and very little interaction with the locals in the tribal village. The big man who runs the restaurant in the hotel is also very rude and seems to think it's an effort to serve you. Like it's only his job. I was apalled when I was leaving and handing back my towel with the man behind reception yelling at me when I didn't have the receipt. I explained that my friend had it and would be down in a few minutes but continued to be rude and shoutd "I am eating" and basically to go away. Then why in the hell was he working behind reception. Is there not a staff canteen. Very rude and stressful way to end my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in July 2013 for one night.

This is a 2-3 stars hotel. Most guests are Israelies, Hebrew is heard more than Thai and English.
The front desk serves as a tourist agancy as well, marketing the companie's jeep tours as well as other tours in Chiang Mai area.
The hotel is perfect for the night before you go to Thana's jeep tour - the tours leave from the hotel backyard.
The rooms are big, with air condition. However, you'll have to climb two or three floors to the room - there is no elevator. You can walk to the night market - 15 minutes, or better take a tuktuk.
Breakfast is not included, you'll have to order it in the hotel restaurant separatly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shlomo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I will begin by saying that the rooms in Thana are fine, and the small pool is also fine, but the treatment we received here from the staff was utterly appalling. We have been travelling for a while and are no means fussy, or rude, but neither are we naive to thai scams. 'Annabel' is the thai woman who organises package trips at the hotel,and who will be sickly sweet to you until you say no, (just typical things like; you're so pretty, have you found sugadaddy? We go out party, let me take picture of you all-the list is typically endless.) we told her we wanted to look at the packages as we were considering an elephant trek, She showed us and we deliberated. Was a nice sunny day in rainy season so we wanted to tan by the pool. Next thing we know she is shouting & swearing at our friend about us saying she has never met such lazy people because we were relaxing, we're keeping her from going home, she could be asleep instead of trying to make us buy something, and that the manager was going to kick us out because they do not want boring people staying at their hotel, only fun customers apparently who buy all their packages. We were so shocked, we had only been sitting for a little while and were tired so didn't think relaxing for the first day in months was not our choice!! Never been so shocked. She was so rude and wanted to make us feel unsafe and scared to pressure us into buying. It made our stay very awkward and uncomfortable, not to mention the fact that that night a worker, out of nowhere, came over to our group and started yelling at us to get out of the 'chill' area as it was closed, even though it was early with people all around and we were being very quiet. Never been so shocked by such public rudeness! He then picked up our drinks and threw them across the floor, scared us a lot. The next day a random man came up to us and claimed we had had a variety of drinks throughout the day that we hadn't had when we had actually been out all day and tried to make us pay. Felt harassed, scared and unsafe. Such a shame from such manipulative people when really the actual hotel would have been nice otherwise. Bought a package from somewhere else and moved hotel so their loss!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This "hotel" has a swimming pool, but it is not clean and there is no sunbeds around the pool. The rooms are clean and got hot water in the shower, but there is no sink in the bathrooms/rooms. The AC works fine and the price wasn't that bad. Paid 200B per person.

The hotel restaurant was terrible! Good food, but the staff were lazy!!! They didn't give us out menus and we had to go find them to order or to ask for the bill. They were just laying on the couch smoking. We almost didn't give them our order, because we didn't want to disturbe their "nap" or break.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123backpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#119 of 392 in Chiang Mai
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandala House
Mandala House
#198 of 801 in Chiang Mai
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
931 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thana Hotel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thana Hotel & Guesthouse

Address: 27/8 Thaphae Road Soi4 T.Chang Klan A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #552 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $12 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thana Hotel & Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Thana Hotel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing